? Is my cat controlled?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tosca

Member Since 2022
Hello,
Last time I wrote here I thought Tosca was close to remission. I was wrong. She is back in yellows before the shoot. I did a recent curve to understand more what is going on. Can I do something else to control her better?
 
I would recommend the TR dosing method, I am biased of course because it did wonders for my boy Hendrick.

I am curious why there are so many different dose amounts on your spreadsheet, often different dose in the evening than given in the morning, why is that? I've only been doing this six months but it was my understanding that with Lantus, consistency in dosing is super-important for getting a cat regulated. Maybe that is part of the problem? I'm no guru though let's see what the experts have to say.

Previous threads

Here

Here

and

Here
 
Last edited:
I'm going to tag a few members for you. I agree with Kyle you are shooting all different doses amounts on your SS , some you have skipped giving insulin. The dose is not based on the AMPS and PMPS doses, it's based on how low the cat is dropping. Lantus likes consistency
If you are not sure whether you shoot shoot or not post and ask for help
Something like ? AMPS # or if its the PMPS # Should I give insulin
@tiffmaxee

@Bron and Sheba (GA)

@Bandit's Mom

@Wendy&Neko
 
Hi Maria,
You have SLGS down as the dosing method but you are not actually following it.
Have a look at the two dosing methods, tight regulation and the SLGS method that are at the top of the Lantus page in a yellow stickie and see if you might like to try the TR.
As mentioned by the others, you need to be sticking to a dose for at least 7 days with SLGS or 3 days with TR. And the dose is based on the nadir or lowest point in the cycle.
I would recommend you start posting daily over onto the Lantus forum for daily guidance to try and get Tosca back into better BGs.
Following one of the two dosing methods closely is the key to regulation and if lucky remission.
 
It looks like you are dosing based upon preshot bg which is not how lantus is dosed. You test enough for TR and will likely get the bg controlled following it faster. Normal bg on a pet meter is 68-120. To be close to remission almost all bg tests need to be in that range. Please read the methods sticky and let us know what you decide. As Bron said posting daily on the LLB forum will get you the best dosing advice for depot insulins. I hope to see you there.
 
Thank you everybody for advice. Indeed I figured out my mistake was changing too much. I decided to actually follow the SLGS method. I will use the information from the yellow sticky as guidance. My question is, since I use a pet meter, the values are the same (no shot at below 8.3), or it should be less than that, like 6.3? I decided to keep 1.25U for 7 days, and measure the nadir here and there, at the end will make a curve. If the nadir goes lower than 5.6 (or 3.6?) I decrease, if higher than 5.6 (or 3.6?) I increase, but will ask for guidance on Lantus group. Did I get this right so far?
 
Great. Even with a pet meter you will reduce only if there’s a drop under 90. Please start posting on the LLB forum and continue to ask questions.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top