FarmKitty
Member Since 2020
Hello! My cat, Dixie, has been on ProZinc since her diagnoses (6 months) and now the vial is only ¼ full so I have been considering switching to Lantus or Levemir.
Right now, she is on 0.25 units of ProZinc and her numbers seem to stay below the 140’s and she nadirs at around 80-90.
I am experienced in shooting low preshot values. I will also be able to shoot her at the same time each day and I am home all day to monitor her.
She has a recent hyperthyroidism and CKD diagnosis, so I will be sure to start her medications, switch her food, and give her some time to settle in before making a switch to a new insulin.
She sometimes drops half her BG levels from preshot to nadir, and I read that the Lantus is more of a gradual curve, so I am wondering if I could get her numbers lower overall on the Lantus.
Cost is not really an issue for me since I am in Canada.
My question is, would it be worthwhile to switch her to Lantus? Even though she is on such a low dose of ProZinc and doesn’t bounce at all? I am wondering if I can do better for her or if her numbers are the best I can get.
Also, will the Lantus syringes be able to handle low doses? I see that I can get syringes with half-unit markings, but the markings look a lot closer together than my ProZinc syringes!
I would appreciate any advice you have. I have done a forum search but most cats that I have seen make the switch have been on more units or were bouncy, so I wonder if I would have anything to gain.
Thank you!
Right now, she is on 0.25 units of ProZinc and her numbers seem to stay below the 140’s and she nadirs at around 80-90.
I am experienced in shooting low preshot values. I will also be able to shoot her at the same time each day and I am home all day to monitor her.
She has a recent hyperthyroidism and CKD diagnosis, so I will be sure to start her medications, switch her food, and give her some time to settle in before making a switch to a new insulin.
She sometimes drops half her BG levels from preshot to nadir, and I read that the Lantus is more of a gradual curve, so I am wondering if I could get her numbers lower overall on the Lantus.
Cost is not really an issue for me since I am in Canada.
My question is, would it be worthwhile to switch her to Lantus? Even though she is on such a low dose of ProZinc and doesn’t bounce at all? I am wondering if I can do better for her or if her numbers are the best I can get.
Also, will the Lantus syringes be able to handle low doses? I see that I can get syringes with half-unit markings, but the markings look a lot closer together than my ProZinc syringes!
I would appreciate any advice you have. I have done a forum search but most cats that I have seen make the switch have been on more units or were bouncy, so I wonder if I would have anything to gain.
Thank you!