Is it time to up the dosage?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melissa and P

Active Member
Or am I getting ahead of myself?

Yesterday was my first consistent day of no fur shots. Since I've had so many, I was thinking I need to be a little more consistent before I change doses but his BG this morning was 483. It was 460 or so when the vet diagnosed him so of course, I'm a little worried. I can't think of a reason he'd be that high...I gave him some freeze dried chicken last night before bed as a treat but I usually only give him treats when I test. And I usually give freeze dried shrimp.

I know it's better high for a day than low for a moment so I'm trying not to worry too much. I just hate not knowing what's going on.

Numbers on SS.
 
He could have bounced overnight - gone down low and bounced back up. It would be my guess, because he was in better numbers even when he wasn't getting a full dose (fur shots)

It looks like you already gave one unit this am? I would try to get some numbers in the 5-7 hour range and then later, maybe 8-10 so we can really see how the insulin is working. If he stays higher all day, then it definitely would be a good idea to raise the dose tonight.
 
I wasn't home to get a midcycle, but I just tested at +10 and he was 379.

I'm going to try a curve tomorrow. Should we wait to see what those numbers are before raising the dose?
 
This is the safest way to do it. You could be missing an earlier or later nadir and if you are, raising the dose could take him too low. If he is flat, then raising is a good idea.
 
You got another red for a preshot? You know, Melissa, he got better numbers when he was getting fur shots. I am wondering if you need to reduce the dose rather than increase - maybe he needs less insulin, not more.
 
To test if less is more, try giving 0.5 units next shot time and do your curve.

The nadir is usually about 5 to 7 hours after the shot, so if you want, get +5, +6, and +7 to narrow down when the nadir happens.
 
I didn't check the board before I tested and shot this morning, so I still gave him 1 unit. ohmygod_smile

If all goes well, I'm planning to test every two hours post shot and the +5, +6, +7 to find the nadir. *crosses fingers*

That sounds probable Sue, I got a worrisome phone call last night while I was putting the numbers on the SS last night so I forgot to put that last night's shot was probably a fur shot. But his numbers are better this morning with less insulin. This is all so mindboggling. I'm so glad you guys know your stuff.
 
Does anyone have any ideas yet on whether or not I need to reduce the dose? I still have to do a PMPS test, but all the other numbers are up on his SS.
 
I'd try it for a few cycles, as long as he is eating well and you can do a ketone test maybe once daily. Maybe try .5 and see if the numbers improve. If it doesn't work, then you know you need to slowly increase.
 
Since he isn't getting a 50% drop with the 1 unit, does that mean the does is not enough. He also went to his low point pretty early.
 
Since he isn't getting a 50% drop with the 1 unit, does that mean the does is not enough. He also went to his low point pretty early.
 
I checked for ketones and it says there are trace amounts. How concerned should I be?

He's still eating really well. In fact, he's in the kitchen standing in front of the cabinet because he knows it's getting close to feeding time.

I'm going to be giving a test here in the next 15 minutes. I'll post on the SS before I give a shot.
 
Then I wouldn't reduce the dose. Not if any ketones are present. Water down the food to push fluids. Get another test tonight. If you get anything over a trace, go to the ER. I don't know about the dose. I still like the idea of reducing, but not with ketones present.

Has he ever had any ketones before?
 
This is the first time I've tested for ketones, so I don't know.

PMPS 377. I'm going to stick with 1 unit tonight. I'm going to do two more BG tests and try to get another ketone test tonight.
 
Well I'm not sleeping tonight.

I just had a breakdown on the kitchen floor. I think I did another fur shot. I don't get it. I see the needle is all the way in and I'm pretty sure I'm not poking through, got a good tent, and shot at the base. Could I be pressing the insulin out when I'm rub him down to check for wetness? Is that a stupid question? Could that even happen? I'm so scared about the ketones now. He hasn't drank much water today, he normally drinks more. I mixed some water in his food. I think I'm going to shave a spot of fur off so I can make sure I'm not poking through.
 
I'm going to try feeding the same food for a few days. I always feed him Friskies Special Diet, but I change flavors. I'm going to stick to one for a few days. I wonder if that could change anything.
 
Sometimes it is hard to tell the difference between normal and a trace, especially if this is your first test. I have heard of people peeing on a strip themselves to see what the normal looks like, then comparing it to what they think might be a trace, just to be sure.

As far as the fur shot goes, he has been doing okay with them. :-D He will probably surprise us again with good numbers.

Shaving a spot is a good idea. Are you feeling it wet after - is that what is making you think fur shot? It is possible that you just don't get the plunger all the way down and that there is a drop on the end as you pull it out. In that case, the majority of the insulin would be going in. It sounds like you are doing it right.
 
I just peed on a strip myself, and I'm pretty sure his was still a trace.

I guess it's possible I'm not pushing the plunger all the way down. I did notice I did it one night. Just the teensiest little drop was left on the end of the needle. I swear though, I feel like I could be pushing it out. I know that sounds so stupid, but I'll rub him, feel nothing, then rub him again juuust to be sure, and that's when I feel the wetness.
 
I was reading up on all things ketone and a possible cause can be an infection. I have noticed he has been sneezing every couple of days, and sometimes has a little crustiness in one of his eyes. Could this kind of infection cause the ketones?

I have given him lysine before and that usually clears it up. Is it okay to give him some?
 
Do you give the shot in the neck or above the front leg? Maybe you could try the alternative spot to see if it works better for you? I give the shot in the skin close to the front leg. I guess between the leg and the rbs. I just grab that extra skin IP and stick it in one side.
 
Do you give the shot in the neck or above the front leg? Maybe you could try the alternative spot to see if it works better for you? I give the shot in the skin close to the front leg. I guess between the leg and the rbs. I just grab that extra skin IP and stick it in one side.
 
Surprise! Better numbers this morning after the fur shot last night. (Even with giving him a little less than 1/4 can of food late last night so I could give him some lysine) I tested again for ketones last night and he was negative. So I gave 0.5 units (eyeballed) this morning in his scruff to see if it will work better for him. I wanted to get his numbers for the +4 today, since his low came so early yesterday, but I won't be home until the +5. But maybe shooting in the scruff will delay his low so he'll have it closer to a normal nadir.
 
My sweet darling girl actually did better on lower numbers. I was up to 3.5 and when I dropped, so did her numbers. Foe whatever reason...sometimes it works. Good luck!
 
Yes I did, Sue, after getting that negative for the ketones. Checked them again a few minutes ago, negative!

I don't know what happened this morning when I was calculating my hours, but I was able to be home for the +4. I'm still going to do +5, +6, and +7 to try to narrow down his nadir.

Thanks misty and Rachel! :-D

I forgot to mention this yesterday because I got so worried about the ketones and fur shots, but can we all give P a round of appaws for doing so awesome on his curve yesterday! I can't believe how fast he got used to getting tested. Such a load off my back.
 
I will start the round of appaws for P.

:RAHCAT

Should give one to bunni9 (Eddie) also. It was a pokey-poke Sunday for him too. :smile:
 
Okay, my head is officially spinning. P got half a unit last night, no fur shot, and he's in the 400s this morning. He's does better with no insulin at night. I know ECID but, how can this make sense?
 
It's hard to be sure, Melissa, as we don't have much data. Either it's not enough insulin or he dropped low overnight. So, we are just guessing. You could shoot higher or lower, depending on whether you can monitor today. Either 1.25 or .5 again. Which feels right to you?
 
I gave .5 this morning because I wasn't home to monitor. Also, I don't have proper needles to micro-dose. I'll have to wait until Thursday night, but I'm going to do a full night curve to see what's happening at night, if he's dropping.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top