Is it time to raise the dosage?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Squalliesmom

Member Since 2015
Hi all. Just hoping someone with more experience could guide me, here. Squallie was looking pretty good for a while, but now it seems like his BG isn't dropping as low as it was before. I wondered if it was time for an increase in dosage? he is currently on 2 units of Vetsulin BID.

Thanks!
 
I am not too keen on vetsulin but I think you could do 2.5 safely. Why'd you go from 2.25 back to 2.0 (curious)? Looks like Squallie's nadir is around +5.
 
Squallie has been known to go quite low, to get carryover and also to bounce. If you are going to tweak the dose, Lucy, I'd suggest only going to 2.25 for now and see how that goes for at least 6 cycles, preferably 10 to let the dose settle (unless, of course, Squallie goes too low in which case you'd need to step back with the dose again).
 
Well, in true contrary kitty style (lol), Squallie has kind of made my question a moot one, at least for the time being. His PMPS was 169, and I'm afraid to give him even his usual 2 units, so I'm stalling for a bit to see if it goes up any more. Interesting to note that he now has absolutely NO ACCESS to any high carb foods; I'm thinking he may have been sneaking more than I thought, this past week or so.
 
Interesting to note that he now has absolutely NO ACCESS to any high carb foods; I'm thinking he may have been sneaking more than I thought, this past week or so.
Oh, our sneaky, sneaky kitties ...:p Bat-Bat actually tries to "vacuum" the kitchen floor if my "Other Quarter" has been eating/preparing food; she knows how many "tidbits" can end up on the floor whenever he's been there! (Certainly makes life interesting around here...;))
 
I would NOT give 2 units tonight, Lucy. That's the second-lowest pre-shot test you've had since you started home testing and Squallie runs low at night.

ETA:

It would be dangerous to give the 2IU.
 
Oh, our sneaky, sneaky kitties ...:p Bat-Bat actually tries to "vacuum" the kitchen floor if my "Other Quarter" has been eating/preparing food; she knows how many "tidbits" can end up on the floor whenever he's been there! (Certainly makes life interesting around here...;))
Lol! They're just too clever for their own - and our - good! But you have to admire the tenacity to find those high carb bits!
 
I would NOT give 2 units tonight, Lucy. That's the second-lowest pre-shot test you've had since you started home testing and Squallie runs low at night.

ETA:

It would be dangerous to give the 2IU.
I agree 100%! I'm going to test him again in a few minutes and see where his numbers are now, will post them here when I do.
 
Lol! They're just too clever for their own - and our - good! But you have to admire the tenacity to find those high carb bits!
I know! My life is so "cat-centric" now that only my cat-loving friends don't think I'm not completely insane. (Okay, Mogs, this is your cue for a good wisecrack!;))
 
I agree 100%! I'm going to test him again in a few minutes and see where his numbers are now, will post them here when I do.
okay, just tested him again, BG is 168. Definitely not going to give 2 units! Should I give him a lower dose, or just skip tonight altogether? By the time he eats dinner and is ready for his shot it's going to be about 1 1/2 hrs later than his usual shot time.
 
okay, just tested him again, BG is 168. Definitely not going to give 2 units! Should I give him a lower dose, or just skip tonight altogether? By the time he eats dinner and is ready for his shot it's going to be about 1 1/2 hrs later than his usual shot time.

If he were mine I'd skip, Lucy. If it were on a daytime cycle and you could monitor closely a very small token dose (0.5IU or less) might be a goer, but with numbers this low - and such a run of blues - if I were in the situation I would not give insulin tonight on safety grounds. Other members may have different suggestions.

This drop in numbers is somewhat akin to what one might see during a high-to-low-carb diet transition. I think the run of reds you got the other day may well have been as you thought; Squallie tucked into some contraband kibble. If that's the case then as it works out of his system extra caution is advisable. Today gave a really impressive run of blues - it appears that Squallie is still getting one impressive bang for his buck out of Vetsulin duration-wise. (So glad you never went to TID dosing. I always thought that was the wrong thing to do for Squallie.)


Mogs
.
 
If he were mine I'd skip, Lucy. If it were on a daytime cycle and you could monitor closely a very small token dose (0.5IU or less) might be a goer, but with numbers this low - and such a run of blues - if I were in the situation I would not give insulin tonight on safety grounds. Other members may have different suggestions.

This drop in numbers is somewhat akin to what one might see during a high-to-low-carb diet transition. I think the run of reds you got the other day may well have been as you thought; Squallie tucked into some contraband kibble. If that's the case then as it works out of his system extra caution is advisable. Today gave a really impressive run of blues - it appears that Squallie is still getting one impressive bang for his buck out of Vetsulin duration-wise. (So glad you never went to TID dosing. I always thought that was the wrong thing to do for Squallie.)


Mogs
.
I agree with you, on all counts. No shot tonight for The Bear, and he gets a night of no ear-poking, as well!
 
Ha!o_O Haven't had a really good, completely uninterrupted night's sleep since ... February 24th, this year:rolleyes:.:banghead::confused:
I find myself falling asleep at the computer in the middle of the day, and I haven't been able to stay awake to see the end of any of my favorite evening TV programming in at least a month, lol! My kids think I'm crazy but, really, I don't work anymore so my schedule is my own, and I'd do anything I could to help keep Squallie healthy and happy.
 
@Robin&BB - Luxury! Try beginning of June 2006... :(
Oh my! That's a really long time...
After looking over Squallie's spreadsheet tonight, Lucy, I must say you've done a terrific job of looking after your little fella, and you've gathered really valuable data. Do you ever sleep? :confused:

ETA:

Cross-post! ;)
.
Thank you very much, Mogs! And no, I don't even remember what a full night's sleep feels like. :coffee:
 
Hi Lucy,
It's nice to see Squallie in those beautiful blue numbers. :cool:
And he's getting nice duration at times. It may be that his pancreas is producing more insulin of it's own intermittently and is sometimes able to 'pick up the ball and run with it...'
Keeping everything crossed here that those numbers continue to improve. :cat:

Eliz
 
Hi Lucy,
It's nice to see Squallie in those beautiful blue numbers. :cool:
And he's getting nice duration at times. It may be that his pancreas is producing more insulin of it's own intermittently and is sometimes able to 'pick up the ball and run with it...'
Keeping everything crossed here that those numbers continue to improve. :cat:

Eliz
His BG was in the low 400s this AM, but 4 hrs later it's already down to 151. Here's hoping he stays low today but comes up enough for me to shoot tonight!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top