Is it time to increase? Update 2/19 pm

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dragonfly229

Member Since 2012
I know I haven't trusted my numbers due to the meter getting wet, but they do seem to be very similar to before it happened. Due to schedule I haven't been home mid-cycle, I hope to get a check today around +7 or +8. I'm picking up a new meter today and a testing kit for both. If the old and new meters agree, and if the old meter tests ok, should I increase to 1.5? I am beginning to see Linus dropping weight again, starting to feel hip bones and back bones and that had really improved since first diagnosis.

I don't know if I will be home to get a full curve anytime soon, but will try to catch more odd times this weekend as I can.

Thanks!
 
Re: Is it time to increase?

Sue, are your numbers the time you give the shot? 1/2030 = one unit at 8:30? If so, you seem to be really varying the shot times. It is okay to switch it up by 30 minutes, but shooting early and late by an hour or more can really throw your numbers off. I seem to remember that you have a weird work schedule. Is there any way to set the schedule closer to 12/12? Can your son help you out?
 
Re: Is it time to increase?

I now have a new meter, this one is a Confirm so I can tell them apart :) Readings at +8 were 346 old and 323 new, so at least I've been in the ballpark and the spreadsheet numbers should be ok. Maybe they are high, that would be nice.

As far as schedule, I know what the optimum is, and I'm going to do my best to give him shots on time, and test before shots, but it isn't always perfect. If I'm late one night, I try to split the difference in the morning so I don't shoot too early. And if I know I need to leave earlier in the morning then I shoot a little earlier the night before. Here is how our schedule usually pans out:

AM: usually 0645 or so I feed Linus 1/2 can of Merrick and test (these are pm+10 numbers on ss)
0830 +/- (workdays, sometimes later on weekends), am shot and test again (usually lower after eating - go figure)
PM: first one home feeds Linus another 1/2 can (anywhere between 4pm and 6pm)
12 hours after am shot or as close as I can get it, pm shot and test (and more food if he's hungry and bowl is empty)
before bed feed 1 small can Sophistacat or another 1/2 can Merrick for overnight snacking

I have a pre-food number every morning and a post-food/pre-insulin number. That seems like good information. I really can't give his am shot at 0645 because it's more likely I won't be home for a pm shot at 1845. And he is very hungry, and will be underfoot and a PITA if I don't feed him. Also, from what I've read about ProZinc, I seems like it would be ok to give a shot early if his BG level is over 200, given that it doesn't seem to even start working for a few hours.

So in a nutshell - I'm trying to do the best I can, balancing my schedule, my family's schedule and my cat's schedule. I think it's better than what the vet would have me doing, just giving 2 shots a day in the blind. And the question still remains, should I increase based on what I have on our ss? He has really stabilized on 1u over the last 9 days, but into the 300's and occasional high 200's, and I would definitely like to see those numbers come down to 200's and 100's.

Thanks again, everyone.
 
Re: Is it time to increase?

It looks like you have room to increase but I would do it slowly. Maybe increase by .2u or .25u at a time.
 
Re: Is it time to increase?

That's one of the nice things about ProZinc...it's a bit forgiving if we can't keep the 12/12 schedule but aim for as close as we can. :smile:

Dosing will be easier to judge with a closer 12/12 schedule, though. I'm sure those with more experience will have suggestions. I tend to be a bit heavy handed with dosing. :shock:

Are you using u40 syringes? Or have you purchased some u100 syringes yet? The u100 syringes make it easier to give doses other than full or half units - but you must use the conversion chart when using u100 syringes.
 
Re: Is it time to increase?

The thing that jumped out at me was that he goes lower after the am feeding? This is usually a sign of the pancreas helping out. If that is the case, I think we want to be careful with dosing.

I understand your ss better now. I thought you were shooting pretty consistently 2 hours early in the am, but it sounds like you test, feed and then test and feed 2 hours later? That makes for a better consistency in the numbers.

I agree with Robin's .2 increase. Any mid cycle monitoring would be great.
 
Re: Is it time to increase? Update 2/19

Results!
Last night eyeballed 1.3 (I know, going for new syringes today), pm shot given at 9:00pm. This morning at 9:00am amps was 136 (old meter read 148). Neither Linus nor I got up at 7:00 for early feeding, so this is on an empty stomach.

So - options?

We plan to be out tonight between 5 and 9, I will be home until then, but without an am shot no way to get any kind of a curve. I'm thinking I'll check again after the food settles in (+1?), and see if I have a number I can shoot, back off the dose a little, and then plan to shoot again tonight when we get home. Or should I do something else?
 
Re: Is it time to increase? Update 2/19

I can't see him coming up fast enough to make it safe to shoot without really messing up your schedule.

You want to be sure you test, then feed. Any food given more than a few minutes before the test can raise the numbers. It varies with each cat, but the general rule is that food can influence the numbers for 2 hours. Then you are shooting a number that isn't "real" but can be food induced.

As I said earlier, you may be seeing some help from his pancreas. Your 1.3 was too high - the duration was too long and you didn't get a shootable amps. Remember, though, 24 hours without insulin will probably mean he "looks" high tonight, but most of that will be the time without a shot. I would reduce regardless of your pm number. Maybe a fat one unit. (meaning one unit and just a little bit more but not 1.2) He may need 1.2 eventually, but it is sorta scary to think how low he might have gone last night on 1.3. Sure glad you are testing, and glad you are getting U100 needles. Do you have the conversion chart printed out?

http://www.felinediabetes.com/insulin-conversions-printer.htm
 
Re: Is it time to increase? Update 2/19

Sue - thanks!

In the past, his nadir has been really late (+11) with a dose that is high or too high. That's why I'm thinking he may come up fairly quickly, and am hoping that he didn't drop really low last night. He seemed fine this morning.
 
Re: Is it time to increase? Update 2/19

Update from tonight - I went ahead with am shot (just over 1u) at 1100 this morning (+2 from food) because his BG came up to 341. I've been checking all day and numbers are very flat, if there was any kind of drop it was really short. +2 was 355, +5.5 was 330, +7.5 was 361 and +10.5 was 383. I had planned to back up pm shot to 1030pm, and then tomorrow am to 1000 to try to get him closer to back on schedule, I will definitely test and hold if there is any kind of a major drop at that point. I didn't get to Walmart today as I had hoped, will try to get different syringes soon.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top