Is it time to increase dose? Help please!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dallas boy

Member Since 2021
Dallas has been on 1.25 of Lantus for 11 days and I am wondering if it's time to increase his dose? Maybe to 1.5? I know his numbers have been a little higher these last couple days because of a skipped dose and a very low dose, so should we wait a little longer before increasing? I wish more was given at yesterday's AMPS, but unfortunatly I am away and my boyfriend was unsure on what to do at that moment. Next time he will wait 20-30 mins and test again to see if it's going up. Also, would tomorrow be a good time to do a curve? We haven't done one in a long time. Thanks again for all your help!
 
Since you recently saw a green nadir and subsequently shot a reduced dose you need to give it 10 cycles in 1.25 unless you need to reduce due to a bg under 90. Please consider starting to post on the lantus forum where those of us with experience are able to help and if possible post daily or at least as often as you can. Right now he’s high due to the green nadir, skipped dose and and reduced dose the other morning. If you post on LLB we will help you learn to shoot lower and lower numbers safely. The 185 was a shootable number as you want to learn to shoot slower and lower numbers to help get Dallas regulated. With SLGS you gradually move down from 200 to feeling comfortable shooting 150 and then lower. I would wait to do a curve until you have 6 days on 1.25.
 
Since you recently saw a green nadir and subsequently shot a reduced dose you need to give it 10 cycles in 1.25 unless you need to reduce due to a bg under 90. Please consider starting to post on the lantus forum where those of us with experience are able to help and if possible post daily or at least as often as you can. Right now he’s high due to the green nadir, skipped dose and and reduced dose the other morning. If you post on LLB we will help you learn to shoot lower and lower numbers safely. The 185 was a shootable number as you want to learn to shoot slower and lower numbers to help get Dallas regulated. With SLGS you gradually move down from 200 to feeling comfortable shooting 150 and then lower. I would wait to do a curve until you have 6 days on 1.25.
Ok, so stick to 1.25 for another 10 cycles. It's safe now to shoot full dose between 10-10.5 correct? From now on I'll post in the other Forum. Thank you!
 
Yes. And welcome to LLB. If you get a bg lower than 200 at amps or pmps, stall, DON’T FEED and retest in 20-30 minutes and post for dosing advice. There are many people on LLB that can then help you decide what to do.
 
Okay. Some clarification. You did a curve after a week on a dose with SKGSand based upon nadirs decide whether to increase. So no need to wait 10 cycles. My brain was thinking TR on that part and sorry about that. So do a curve on 7/29 or around ten and we can reevaluate. You could move much faster with TR if feeding all wet food which it looks like you are from your signature. Would you please add SLGS to your spreadsheet unless you decide to switch to TR. no pressure, lol.
 
Okay. Some clarification. You did a curve after a week on a dose with SKGSand based upon nadirs decide whether to increase. So no need to wait 10 cycles. My brain was thinking TR on that part and sorry about that. So do a curve on 7/29 or around ten and we can reevaluate. You could move much faster with TR if feeding all wet food which it looks like you are from your signature. Would you please add SLGS to your spreadsheet unless you decide to switch to TR. no pressure, lol.
I didn't do a curve and I am not sure what SKGS means lol. I'll ask my boyfriend to do a curve in two days (I'm away for work) and then I'll post again to see what I should do. I'm having a difficult time understanding all of this. I don't have the brain for it lol. I have to go read up on TR again. I don't really remember the differences between the two. SLGS should be on my Spreadsheet already :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top