Is it time for a small dose change?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Charlotte & Prop

Member Since 2011
Pelles numbers have really stabelised after giving 0,6 units for over a week. The amps and pmps are lower but he is not really getting much down during the cycle, wich is ok since his numbers are not to bad. But I think maybe it is time for a small dose change. Can you please look at the spreadsheed here below and let me hear what you think?



He is still eating a lot, but his mom tells me he is acting a lot better and have way more energi :)
 

Attachments

Oh, those are excellent numbers! And yes, I agree they can increase the dose slightly. They can do whichever is easier to measure - if adding another drop is easier that would be about .7U.

This is very good news for Pelle. I am glad to hear he is more active. That is what I like about Levemir, it helps them feel better as it stabilizes their blood glucose, even if the values are still in diabetic range.
 
Thanks vicky
Every drop is 0,2 units but that means a drop more Will be 0,8 Unit. They Can try with 3 1/2 drop wich Will be 0,7 units if that is the best.
 
Yes they are home for the rest of this week. I have suggested them to test at +6 and +8 in the day time and then test at +4 or +5 at night and then if his numbers looks low to stay up for a later test.
I have prepared them for some bouncing numbers, a least that was what happend when he went to 0,6 units. Today he is still in the yellow numbers at amps but heading towards the blue at +4.
148 at +6
 
That +6 is a good number.... did they get a +8? wondering if he dropped more. If he is lower at +8, ask them to get a +10 (the next time, I know it's the middle of the night there right now).
 
They didn't get a +8 but a + 9 and by then hus numbers were yellow. Pmps was pretty much the same ad amps and the + 4 number was only 30 points lower. So they have gone to bed now since it is almost midnight here. I will upload an updated spreadsheet in the morning.
Since he eats so much, i think the bloodsugar begin to rise after the meal he gets at +6. It is low carb, but i think the amount kills his surf.
 
Well, he has to eat more now until he is regulated and no longer "starving". In my experience with both of my boys, it can take months before their appetite slows down. Once that happens it will probably change his insulin needs. You just have to work the insulin around his appetite for now.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top