Hello.
How long since the 2 units is the 49?
That is not too low at the moment, food as a snack right now should see you fine without the karo
Offer a little snack and test again in about 20 minutes..
As to the whys..it is confusing I know, but there are reasons.
There is a cause and effect of too much insulin. Especially the faster acting vetsulin.
The cause-too much insulin- starts a steep drop,as you are seeing.
The effect is a hormonal response where the body senses it is dropping ;possibly to a hypo, and kicks out its own sugars to stop it.
This causes rebound to occur that shows often as high levels for a few days following the cycle that had the initial steep drop.
If you react to a higher preshot with a higher dose, you will eventually have a day where the peak really drops into worrying levels.
It is like a pendulum, the harder you swing a pendulum the faster it moves and the higher it goes at each end.
The higher the dose with vetsulin the harder it works and you end up as you are.
At 1 unit you had lower preshots and a gentler drop overall.
I personally would return to that 1 unit and hold it steady for at least 3-5 days. gather you info as you can and then once you see how low it is going at peak, and how long the insulin is lasting you can make decisions
A 0.5 unit increase often is too much at once. You can go 0.25 of an increase at a time.
The rollercoaster feels really crappy for your kitty with the higher preshots and drops.
The first goal is to get preshots around 300 and a peak around 100, then you can finetune the dose to bring the whole curve down but keep it shallow.
Does all that make sense?
There are also ways of using food as a snack in the first couple of hours following the shot to help slow the drop.
Have you had a read through of this user guide?
viewtopic.php?f=19&t=302
For now though, you will most likely see a high preshot following this, but if you keep giving 2 units, it will cause you more problems.
Things were starting to look good at 1 unit and if you have a preshot that is lower than usual, asking questions about possibly decreasing the dose again is a good idea.
You may even want to consider 180 and under as a do not shoot level, while you are sorting this all out.
Do you have any questions?
I know it is a lit to figure out in the early days and my vet also had me increase quickly, causing hypos with this insulin.
You are hometesting which is fantastic, so you can see the immediate results of what you are doing.