Is it safe to shoot ?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Nancy, looks like you got the password sorted out.
Sorry no one got to you sooner but I see you gave the three units.
Are you able to get a few tests I this cycle as that is one of the lowest preshot you have shot.
Are you giving snacks cycles?
 
Hi There , My Vet said to give 3 and I have to listen to her as she will be doing Bailies dental yes I tested twice so far https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1yk-jFlafVK3LPYKAl7C1Ej3q6KPPe5M4ryMiB6TOP5w/edit

Glad to see you posting here Nancy! We'll make sure we add the SLGS to your signature as soon as Kim can. Since your signature is done now, you don't need to post the link to your spreadsheet in your posts here. It's already in your signature.
upload_2023-11-30_12-43-21.png


Now that you're set up correctly on the board, you should probably start posting in the Lantus Forum. Everybody there uses Lantus or a similar depot insulin so you'll get the most experienced help from people who are most familiar with how Lantus works.

The Lantus forum has a specific way of posting, but once you get used to it, it's really nothing (and even if you do make a mistake, somebody will let you know and not hold it against you. We were all new once!)

Here's the information on posting in the Lantus/Basaglar/Levemir forum

If you have any questions on how to post, feel free to contact me (or Kim) privately on FB. You know our "numbers"!...LOL
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-11-30_12-43-21.png
    upload_2023-11-30_12-43-21.png
    41.2 KB · Views: 114
Last edited:
Hi Bailie is on three units I just tested him and he’s 11.9 do I go ahead and shoot?

Just FYI...Here's the info from the Start Low, Go Slow dosing method: (red highlights are mine)

How to handle a lower than normal preshot number:

Until you collect enough data to know how your cat will react, we suggest following the guidelines in the FDMB's FAQ Q4.4:
Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
  • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
  • Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options:
    • a.) give nothing
    • b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)
    • c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value
  • Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
  • In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketones in the urine.
  • Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve to see whether a change in dose or insulin is appropriate. In most cases, the target "peak" value should not be below 100 mg/dl (5.6 mmol/L), and for some cats it might be higher.
Keep in mind these are general guidelines, and they should be personalized to your own cat's response to insulin. If your experience is that your cat does not became hypoglycemic with a dose which is close to her usual, then personal experience should be your guide.

With experience, you may find that lowering these thresholds may work well for your cat. When you have reached that stage, the following guidelines are suggested for Lantus, Levemir, and Biosimilars users following the Start Low Go Slow approach:

If the preshot number is far below usual preshot numbers:
  • Do you need to stay on schedule? Then skip the shot.
  • Do you have some flexibility with your schedule? Then stalling to wait for the number to rise might be a good option. Don't feed, retest after 30-60 minutes, and decide if the number is shootable.
  • Repeat until the cat either reaches a number at which you are comfortable shooting, or enough time has passed that skipping the shot is necessary.
If the preshot number is near kitty's usual preshot numbers:

Look at your data to see what numbers you have shot in the past and decide what would be a safe, shootable number for your cat. Don't feed. Stall until kitty reaches the preshot number you've decided on and then shoot.
We usually don't suggest or recommend shooting a preshot number less than 90 mg/dL when following the SLGS Method. Remember that with SLGS, generally speaking, your goal is to achieve flat numbers that are greater than 90 mg/dL. However, let experience, data collected, knowledge of your cat, and availability to monitor help in making the best decisions for your cat.

If kitty is dropping faster or lower than you'd like, please see "Don't Panic! or How to Handle Low Numbers" and post for help or suggestions.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top