? Is it safe to go to bed?? Need advice please. 27 July TUCKER AMPS: 3.6(65)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Don't give more honey. Only give that if he drops below 2.9 and you could try some higher carb first before honey.
A couple of spoonfuls of FF is plenty for now. We don't want him too full in case you need to get him to eat later.
Keep testing.
 
Tucker is out of danger. Please update subject to reflect that, thanks.

Summary - update to times will be appreciated

AMPS = 3.6, no dose
+30 min = 2.8 / 3.0
+60 min = 2.3 / 2.9
+90 min = 2.1, ate can of FF, + teaspoon carb cat food
+100 min = 1.8 (32), Hypo, karo or honey given
+3 hrs = 2.9
+4 hrs = 3.3, out of danger, hypo is done

I won't be awake in 6 hours. I would advise a 5.25 dose as we planned if he is at a reasonable number - like 9.0 or above.

Leo gets cranky after a hypo too. Who wants a bunch of needle pokes in the ear? Not our kittehs! Glad to hear he is doing well. And you did great on Tucker's first hypo!:bighug:
 
He's back on TOP of the bed now, purring his head off.
You did an awesome job today Patty! :bighug::bighug: The first "low numbers" event is always the scariest. Keep track of what food you gave, when, and how much. That data will help you the next time you see a low number. Note that I didn't call it a hypo. It's a hypo if he shows hypo symptoms. Otherwise it's just low numbers. Cats not on insulin can register in the 40's, we just don't want cats on insulin to go that low.

A couple things I'd like to recap. First, his new dose should be 5.0 units. Over 5 units, we make changes by 0.5 units at a time, unless we are just tweaking the dose. Since you saw a number in the 30's, a 0.5 units dose is warranted. You may find later that 0.25 unit changes work for Tucker at this size dose, but safety first. Take the 0.5 unit decrease. See how he handles it. You are dealing with a larger depot too, though the skip should help. You can always go up to 5.25 units later if you need to.

If you stall too long, the numbers can drop due to lack of food. That could be what you saw this morning. After a while of stalling, it's best just to skip and go on with your day. But don't feed a lot of food at once. Smaller meals are best. If he keeps dropping, you want to have him a bit hungry so he'll keep eating.

Print off the Sticky Note on Handling Low Numbers. What would happen if the power went out? Or the board went down. Yup, been there, done that. You might also want to read a few posts of people who are also handling low numbers - see how they handled things. I did a lot of that before I first saw a low number with Neko. Which was lucky, cause the board was quiet and I had no help the first time.

Neko was also a later nadir cat. Once saw it as late as +13 on Lantus, +15 on Levemir. Takes a bit of getting used to. And getting used to shooting low numbers. Thankfully it also meant I was home around her nadir cause it was often at shot time. :woot:
 
This is nit picking but some of your numbers in the SS are not in the right place for today, but we can worry about that after the dust settles. the 3.3 (59) should be in the +4 column and the others before it. Can be sorted after though.

I agree with Wendy about reducing to 5 units. I have been thinking about the dose for the last couple of hours and was going to post and ask a couple of people for an opinion on reducing to 5 when I got back home.
 
Last edited:
Thank you for all of that information. I've read all of your posts while the kitties are here sleeping and snoring away. I'll reduce the dose and try 5 tonight. I've not given him any more honey, but he did a snack of some FF. I know the numbers on the SS are in the wrong place, but honestly during the event could not begin to remember how to post multiple tests in one box so figured I would ask how to do it later and then edit the SS. Should I be doing an hourly check today or more frequently? Thanks for all of the input, I do appreciate all of it!
 
Thank you for all of that information. I've read all of your posts while the kitties are here sleeping and snoring away. I'll reduce the dose and try 5 tonight. I've not given him any more honey, but he did a snack of some FF. I know the numbers on the SS are in the wrong place, but honestly during the event could not begin to remember how to post multiple tests in one box so figured I would ask how to do it later and then edit the SS. Should I be doing an hourly check today or more frequently? Thanks for all of the input, I do appreciate all of it!
Of course. When it is happening it is impossible to think of anything else.. let alone multitask! You did well to post the numbers and we were really happy to get them. The order can be fixed later.....just wasn't sure you were aware .....often people dont 'get' the before stall and after stall numbers when translating them into the SS.
Hope you've had time for a cup of tea/coffee with your feet up and a few deep breaths!!you have earned it!
 
If you can, I would print off this thread for future reference when you print off the 'handling low numbers' sticky.
It might be useful when you find yourself in a similar situation.
 
I wouldn't do an hourly blood test now. He is fine since he did not get a dose this AM. He will probably start rising from all the food he gobbled up.
 
Should I be doing an hourly check today or more frequently?
Once his numbers are trending up without a shot, put away the meter and let his ears be. For the moment, I'd test hourly until he's over 80. High carb food/karo/syrup can wear off a couple hours after it's given, and you can see numbers go back down again. So you want to be clear of that time frame.
 
1:20 pm so I suppose +19.5 since his last insulin and his BG was 7.8. He's curled up with his sister Daisy and he didn't even move when I took this last blood sample. Such a good boy! I'll leave him alone now and do a PMPS test. I am planning on decreasing his insulin to 5 units at that time, correct? Thank you to all of you who kept track of us today. Except for him being smart enough to hide to avoid an ear test, it didn't go too badly thanks to all of your eyes on us.
 
Last edited:
1:20 pm so I suppose +19.5 since his last insulin and his BG was 7.8. He's curled up with his sister Daisy and he didn't even move when I took this last blood sample. Such a good boy!
That is really good. Don't test any more now til PMPS......give his ears a break.
Will be interesting to see what he is at PMPS.
Good boy Tucker:cat:
 
I will be in slumber land at that point. An exciting day, but very well handled Patty. Tucker is such a lucky boy.
 
PMPS was 12, did a +5 test and it is 6.3. Is it safe to go to bed or should I keep testing him?
 
PMPS was 12, did a +5 test and it is 6.3. Is it safe to go to bed or should I keep testing him?
I think you will need to keep testing him. Can you set the alarm and wake up when it rings?
He could well drop right up to AMPS like he did yesterday, so I would keep checking until he starts to rise. It’s called a pyjama party. I had lots of them with Sheba.
I’m heading to sleep now but the US is waking up.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top