? Is it safe to go to bed?? Need advice please. 27 July TUCKER AMPS: 3.6(65)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tucker

Member Since 2018
Hi There, Just need someone to hold my hand so I don't mess this up today. Tucker's AMPS was 3.2 so I tested it again and it was 3.6. I'm stalling.
 
I'm back to my husband worrying his number is so low he is going to go into shock or a coma or something and wanting to give him some food, even if it is just low carb food. Tucker is wanting his post needle 'good boy' treat and I'm telling both of them they have to wait!
 
Tell him we are stalling to see if Tucker can come up on his own without food. Your first test has him going the right way...up...not down so that is good. Still just a bit low to shoot for you I think. If he feeds him, it will stuff things up again and we won't know where we are.
 
Ok, I'll do that. He is about to leave for the office so that will help. He's drawn up a needle for me and has the bowl of food ready for Tucker so I'll be in charge once he leaves.......but now Kurt is stalling!
 
Ok, I'll do that. He is about to leave for the office so that will help. He's drawn up a needle for me and has the bowl of food ready for Tucker so I'll be in charge once he leaves.......but now Kurt is stalling!
He just loves his Tucker so is worried. I get it...it's scary in the beginning shooting low.
 
One thing that confuses me? I thought the nadir is meant to be somewhere around mid way between shots (although it varies and it appears Tucker is a bit later then the average). So at midnight Tucker was around 8........why would he be lower 6 hours after that when the insulin we gave him at 6pm should be wearing off?
 
One thing that confuses me? I thought the nadir is meant to be somewhere around mid way between shots (although it varies and it appears Tucker is a bit later then the average). So at midnight Tucker was around 8........why would he be lower 6 hours after that when the insulin we gave him at 6pm should be wearing off?
That is where getting a +10 or +11in a cycle is so useful.
We dont know if Tucker dropped low at say +8 and is on the way up now, or that he dropped at +10 or 11 and is just up on the way now. He has dropped low late in the cycle a few times, that is why I said yesterday, to test throughout the cycle because he has dropped low late a few times..
May be tomorrow morning, get up early and get a +10.
And that is why we are stalling now to see if the insulin is wearing off now and it is safe to shoot.
 
Yes, I will be here. Procrastinating some work (don't tell them). I have about ~400 hours of audit stuff to get done by end of Sept. Lots of coffee. Will keep an eye here today.
 
It's been half an hour and his BG has dropped. I did it a few times and it's been 3.0 twice, so Kurt asked me to use the other meter (in case this one is wonky?) and it came up 2.8.
 
I read the sticky last night, but clearly when the time comes I'm not sure what I am doing! Tucker is purring on the bed with me, Kurt has just left for the office and Teddy is crying at the door to come in. I have to say Tucker's eyes look a little rheumy, but when I talk to him he's 'with me' if you know what I mean?
 
Just reviewed the chart. For Tucker, I'll recommend a 1/2 dose at the current BG levels if you can monitor. If you cannot monitor then it would be a skipped dose.

Note that I am far more conservative than many here. Partly from Leo. He has a precipice. If I provide just a little more insulin and he is on the boundary, then I have to monitor real close because of hypos.
 
It's been half an hour and his BG has dropped. I did it a few times and it's been 3.0 twice, so Kurt asked me to use the other meter (in case this one is wonky?) and it came up 2.8.
One just reads a bit lower than the other.
Either way, he looks like he has not reached his nadir yet.
You can either stall again and wait another 20 mins, Feed a little now and wait, or skip but that would stuff up the good run he has been having.
 
I'm planning on being home all day to day, dealing with the fun that is being a dual citizen.... Don't get me started on the US double taxing us even though we don't do business there... Our vet would say "Feed him and if he eats all of his breakfast - shoot and if he eats a little bit - shoot a half dose".
 
I'm planning on being home all day to day, dealing with the fun that is being a dual citizen.... Don't get me started on the US double taxing us even though we don't do business there... Our vet would say "Feed him and if he eats all of his breakfast - shoot and if he eats a little bit - shoot a half dose".
But that's is like shooting blind in my mind.. you are in control when testing!
 
I really don't want to stuff up the good run he is having, but I don't want to endanger him either. It's now been an hour since the first 3.6 test and 25 minutes since the second test. Test time again?
 
Test again. I'll still recommend 1/2 dose if he is in the green. ...Mr. Conservative here.

3.0 is pretty low though. We need to ensure testing and that he is eating.
 
He's now an hour and 10 minutes late for his shot. He is still purring and hanging out on the bed with me.
 
Do you think it would be safe to feed him like our vet recommends and if he eats well shoot half?
 
Agree with Bron. He is just too low. Let's make sure his intake is as regular as you can make it over the next weeks.

Please keep an eye on him the next few hours. I would put some food in him. He will be just fine during this 12 hours. At the end of the 12 hours, if he comes back up, then give him 5.5 again.
 
Do you think it would be safe to feed him like our vet recommends and if he eats well shoot half?
Personally I would not give any insulin to him because he is dropping, not going up. You don't know where he is up to inthe cycle. Too risky in my opinion.
He has earned a deducting in dose down to 5.25. Congratulations Tucker.
 
I would give him a mini-carb treat or something like chicken and a whole lotta brushing. He is a good boy.
 
@JeffJ i think he has earned a reduction with the 2.3(41)
Don't worry about skipping Patty....he is doing super well and will get back on track....he is not a big bouncer.
Give him his breakfast now....but test again in 20 minutes to ensure he is on the way up not down.
 
I agree Bron.
Patty - reduce to 5.25.

Tucker is very close to being regulated. This really is a great week for him and all of us. We love these achievements with sugar kittehs on the forum.:bighug:
 
I've given him a teaspoon of regular wet cat food. He is still purring and all of the normal Tuckerisms.
 
We want to bump him up into the safer range. If he won't eat the karo, then syringe it into his mouth.

I usually mix it with a little food in a bowl and Leo just eats it during a hypo.
 
Thank God I'm not just shooting blind. He was acting completely normal this morning and I may have given him insulin when he was already very low. This is a poster child for why you should BG test at home. He's REALLY mad at me for doing so many blood tests btw.... At 2 hours after his first test and after a bowl of Fancy Feast and then some honey he is back up to 2.9. I'll test again to make sure it is still climbing. Does this mean he will have a big setback??
 
You are doing great. We have countless hypos with Leo. Many cats do not have symptoms until they seizure.

Summary - update to times will be appreciated
AMPS = 3.6, no dose
+30 min = 2.8 / 3.0
+60 min = 2.3 / 2.9
+90 min = 2.1, ate can of FF, + teaspoon carb cat food
+100 min = 1.8 (32), Hypo, karo or honey given
+120 min = 2.9
 
Thank God I'm not just shooting blind. He was acting completely normal this morning and I may have given him insulin when he was already very low. This is a poster child for why you should BG test at home. He's REALLY mad at me for doing so many blood tests btw.... At 2 hours after his first test and after a bowl of Fancy Feast and then some honey he is back up to 2.9. I'll test again to make sure it is still climbing. Does this mean he will have a big setback??
Absolutely a poster boy of why not to shoot blind!!!
Keep testing, he could drop again after the food/honey wears off.
No he won't have a set back......I think he has had a break through for the better:D
 
Hypos can cause a bounce to a higher BG than normal, but not always. Take a look at Leo's chart - for Alphatrak I consider under 70 to be low.
6/22 hypo - no bounce
6/27 hypo - followed by bounce
7/6 almost hypo at 63 - no bounce
7/22 almost hypo - no bounce

Can you believe that people dose their kittehs without testing? And some vets tell people not to test. It drives us nuts on the forum.

This will just be a blip for Tucker. He will be fine. Leo gets irritated with blood tests too. Shakes his head. If I take too long...then some growls. LOL.
 
Last edited:
One thing that confuses me? I thought the nadir is meant to be somewhere around mid way between shots (although it varies and it appears Tucker is a bit later then the average). So at midnight Tucker was around 8........why would he be lower 6 hours after that when the insulin we gave him at 6pm should be wearing off?
Some cats are late nadir cats. Bubba use to be one of those on a previous rodeo with insulin. This time he nadirs earlier or at mid cycle.

Since you aren't going to shot insulin this cycle, he is likely to continue upwards and even more so from the karo and honey to boost him into safer numbers. But, that said, still test monitor him.

I know you are concerned of setting him back by skipping , but safety first. He will rebound. Good job handling the lower numbers!
 
Oh my gosh.......... That was nuts. After the last test he decided to he had enough needles for the day and retreated under a king size bed. Ya, I have been trying everything to entice him out and with my injuries, crawling under the bed between boxes etc was not an option. I had to wait for a friend to get over here to help get him out for testing. His +4 is 3.3. He's back on TOP of the bed now, purring his head off.
 
Oh my gosh.......... That was nuts. After the last test he decided to he had enough needles for the day and retreated under a king size bed. Ya, I have been trying everything to entice him out and with my injuries, crawling under the bed between boxes etc was not an option. I had to wait for a friend to get over here to help get him out for testing. His +4 is 3.3. He's back on TOP of the bed now, purring his head off.
Oh dear you poor thing!
The scallywag.
I would give him some more low carb food now and keep testing as he is staying low. (but a safe number)
Please post all the tests as we are watching and concerned if we don't hear.:)
We are old mother hens /roosters when it comes to cats with low numbers:joyful:
 
Thank you. I will offer him more food but he's had quite a lot this morning. If he turns it down do I need to use more honey? He's fallen asleep on top of the bed, all happy as Larry. My friend built a little wall under the bed so that he can't use it as an escape anymore. It was funny/not funny when I was trying to get him on my own....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top