Is he bouncing?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shorty

Member
Saturday night, at PM +3, we were suddenly in the green. We had been transitioning him from dry to wet, and it was his first major day of not grazing on dry. We ended up feeding him more at that point. PM+3, and at 85 was a little low for a newbie like me. I also dropped him 1/2 unit, because since then, there hasn't been a time when either of us will be home near the nadir, to check on him and make sure he's not going hypo. We are still new, we are just a week into this. But since then, we've been getting consistent purples. Pre shot, post shot, when we can get the chance to test him. Is he bouncing from those sudden greens Saturday do you think? Or was the drop from 2.0 to 1.5 a mistake? We have the chance to shoot him 2 units tonight, we'll both be here.
 
Hmmm...it's possible he's bouncing. It can happen later, but it seems like the bounce would probably have cleared by now. He does seem to be surfing along in the purples. Are you both comfortable staying up to watch him tonight? You could try upping the dose, but I wouldn't unless you want to stay up and test and keep an eye on things. I might go up to like...1.75 or something. Do you use the u100 needles (and conversion chart) or the u40?
 
We don't have any U100's. I've seen the conversion chart. But, with consistent purples, even after just a week of testing, I'm not freaking over a slight increase without watching him. We have to be at the vet first thing in the morning anyways, to get Nunu's sutures removed and her checked out from her Spay. They want Shorty in for a frutosamine too, and Stretch needs to go in to get his flea pill (he has a flea allergy.... one bite, and it's amazing how much hair he starts losing from scratching.... )

But, since we have been home testing, I don't really see the necessity of a fructosamine, until we've got the feeding situation settled. Am I wrong?
 
Nope, a fructosamine isn't necessary since you're home testing. It gives you an average of the BG over the last several weeks, which you are getting from your home tests. I never did a fructosamine since I was home testing...the same data was available to me at home, just for the cost of the strips!

If you increase, I would be sure to keep an eye on things. At the very least, you want to get a test a few hours after the shot to be sure that he isn't dropping too low.
 
We went ahead and shot him 2 units tonight. We'll be able to test him at least up until +5 tonight....
 
He got real low, real early again. At PMPS, he was 323. At PM+2 he was 149. PM+3 was an alarming 36, not signs of Hypo though, acting fine. Fed a small handful of Dry DM. 25 minutes later, he was 62. PM+4 was 57. Then 80 and 98 on 20 minute checks. PM+5 was 147. His AMPS this morning was 387.
 
I wonder if we are starting to see a pattern of lower levels overnight? Sometimes this is because of a decreased activity level. Sometimes because food and water intake is different. Something you might consider is to give a little less at night and a little more in the daytime? Maybe 2 units on a pink amps (when you can monitor) and 1.5 on a pink pmps?
 
Wow! I'm so glad you were monitoring. That's some scary numbers. Do you have any high carb wet food? Just in the future, a bit of gravy off wet food works well for hypos since it's more immediate acting.

That's really not a bad AMPS considering the low numbers and the feeding you had to do to steer. I agree with Sue. I think a lower number for PMPS might be good.
 
Well, those low numbers, were 3 days after previously low numbers. That's why I'm wondering if he's bouncing? We both work various schedules... there will actually be times where one of us has to come home to test, feed, and shoot on our lunch break. We do still have some high carb wet.... plus a squeeze bottle with some corn syrup just in case. But I'm worried to shoot 2 units again, unless we are here. But at 1.5, he doesn't seem to be dropping much. I shot him 1.5 this morning, and just let him be today, without a ton of testing. Just watched him periodically. Figured I'd give his ear a chance to rest, and give him the chance to just be a cat. He jumped back into reds this evening. SMH...
 
He get's his shots around 9 Central US Time. (UTC-5). I just updated the spreadsheet a few seconds ago. He'll be getting his AM shot in about 2 hours or so. Last night was a little late because of our work schedules, it was closed to 10 pm.
 
Looks like he bounced big time from the evening of the 12th. Maybe 1.75 would be a good dose. Do you have U100 syringes with the conversation chart? Usually, it is better to increase and decrease in increments of .25 of a unit so you don't miss the best dose.
 
Looks like he bounced big time from the evening of the 12th. Maybe 1.75 would be a good dose. Do you have U100 syringes with the conversation chart? Usually, it is better to increase and decrease in increments of .25 of a unit so you don't miss the best dose.

No, and I've got a whole box of 100 UL40's on the way. Both times he hit those low greens tough, he didn't act Hypo. I just don't like him dropping that low, that quickly. We are currently trying to eyeball the 1.5 on UL-40's... so I'm sure that between the two of us, one is shooting a little higher, and one a little lower. If he was that low at +5 or 6, I'd be jumping for joy. And for sure, he's acting better overall that he had for the past few months. And he's starting to purr for his tests and occasionally for his shots, so I think he's learning that this is all for his health. Right now he is sitting on the back of the couch with his little sis Nunu, watching the birds wake up outside and start fluttering around, which was his favorite thing to do as a kitten, so....
 
So question - if he is bouncing, is it better to keep him at that 2.0? Or drop him, like we did?
You did the right thing to reduce with numbers like you got the other evening because 2 was too much for him. A bounce can take 3 day or 6 cycle to clear. Then you can reevaluate to see if you need to tweak the dose.

It might be good if you could get some U100 syringes. I get mine from Walmart their brand Relion a box of 100 is about 13 dollars. You would be able to change the dose's in increments of .20 but you will need to use the conversion chart. If you don't have a chart when you get the U 100's, ask and someone can post it for you.

Until then, I would try to get a dose around 1.75 since the 2 units is too much and the 1.5 isn't enough. Try and eyeball it halfway between the 1.5 line and the 2unit line.
 
Yep. 2 units was too much. That 36 at +3 was definitely too low. Though he didn't exhibit symptoms of a hypo remember that not all cats will. Some kitties have a hypo with no symptoms...but it's still not good. Just to reiterate, thank goodness you were testing! I can't imagine what would have happened with that low number being so early...you've done a great job taking are of Shorty!

I do think he is going to bounce a bit from those low numbers and that's what you're seeing now. Don't worry too much about it. Once it clears you'll be able to get a better picture of what is going on.
 
I like his numbers tonight. With 1.5 units, he hit some nice blues from +3 to +5. We'll see again tomorrow morning how he does.

[edit]

Shorty is EXTREMELY active. Much more than last few months. He's sitting on the back of the couch looking out the window meowing at the wildlife. We always used to joke and sing that "Shorty kitty looking out the window, window, looking out the window at the birdies, birdies"... well, he's almost acting like he did as a kitten tonight. Then jumping around to various places, getting settled. Shorty has not meowed at anything outside in MONTHS. Even at PM + 7.5, he's still in the blue.
 
Last edited:
Ohhh now those ARE some nice numbers! Much better than the super low greens.

Will you be home this weekend? I ask because I'd love to see what happened if you tried Sue's suggestion of 2 units for AMPS and 1.5 for PMPS...but it would be best if you can monitor to make sure he doesn't drop too low.

I'm glad to hear Shorty is starting to act more like a young kitten! I know my cats love watching the "big screen TV" of the back window!
 
Well, our schedule really varies. My work is open from 6 am to 1 am, so I may be scheduled anywhere from an hour before open, to an hour after close. Her work is open 7 am, to 9 pm, and she may be scheduled similarly. We don't really get.... "weekends"... <sigh>.
 
Ohhh now those ARE some nice numbers! Much better than the super low greens.

I'm glad to hear Shorty is starting to act more like a young kitten! I know my cats love watching the "big screen TV" of the back window!

Our apartment is so close to the edge of town, that in the middle of the night you may see raccoons, possums, skunks, rabbits, maybe even the occasional deer. He's been talking to them all night. It's been so.... precious.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top