I've read a number of posts here saying that normal cat BG is 50-120 when read with a "human meter," which I assume to mean a meter that takes blood measurements. My question -- does that range apply as well when using FreeStyle Libre, or should I be at all concerned when I get numbers in the low 50s from it?
This came up today. Pigpen appears to be making her first big attempt at self-regulating. Her last ProZinc shot was early Saturday afternoon -- one-quarter of one unit -- and a sea of greens followed. The numbers went up a tad Sat/Sun overnight, then settled back down into the greens throughout most of Sunday. Thus, no shots on Sunday.
When I uploaded the FreeStyle data and looked at the Sunday daylight hours, the range was between 51 and 103. That seemed kind of below-normal. And I did a double-take when I got that hand-held reading of 51, even though it was a resting BG and came back up into higher double-digits after she woke and started getting around.
So I guess I'm wondering if I should have any concerns about her being in a lower range such as 51-103 in the absence of outside insulin, or if the 50-120 definition of "normal" glucose applies to FreeStyle Libre readings.
(My understanding is that she's not going to go into hypo outside of a shot cycle, so I'm not really worried about that specifically -- but again, I'm just wondering if there's anything strange or concerning about her "natural" numbers falling as low as 51, or whether the numbers actually are that low, given what I'm using.)
My current Freestyle sensor is on its eighth day, in case that's relevant.
Thanks for any help. I so hope this trend continues. It's now very early Monday morning, she's sleeping happily next to her favorite front window, and FreeStyle shows her BG at 79.
This came up today. Pigpen appears to be making her first big attempt at self-regulating. Her last ProZinc shot was early Saturday afternoon -- one-quarter of one unit -- and a sea of greens followed. The numbers went up a tad Sat/Sun overnight, then settled back down into the greens throughout most of Sunday. Thus, no shots on Sunday.
When I uploaded the FreeStyle data and looked at the Sunday daylight hours, the range was between 51 and 103. That seemed kind of below-normal. And I did a double-take when I got that hand-held reading of 51, even though it was a resting BG and came back up into higher double-digits after she woke and started getting around.
So I guess I'm wondering if I should have any concerns about her being in a lower range such as 51-103 in the absence of outside insulin, or if the 50-120 definition of "normal" glucose applies to FreeStyle Libre readings.
(My understanding is that she's not going to go into hypo outside of a shot cycle, so I'm not really worried about that specifically -- but again, I'm just wondering if there's anything strange or concerning about her "natural" numbers falling as low as 51, or whether the numbers actually are that low, given what I'm using.)
My current Freestyle sensor is on its eighth day, in case that's relevant.
Thanks for any help. I so hope this trend continues. It's now very early Monday morning, she's sleeping happily next to her favorite front window, and FreeStyle shows her BG at 79.
