Is FreeStyle Libre the same as a "human meter"?

Status
Not open for further replies.

MisterBee

Member Since 2021
I've read a number of posts here saying that normal cat BG is 50-120 when read with a "human meter," which I assume to mean a meter that takes blood measurements. My question -- does that range apply as well when using FreeStyle Libre, or should I be at all concerned when I get numbers in the low 50s from it?

This came up today. Pigpen appears to be making her first big attempt at self-regulating. Her last ProZinc shot was early Saturday afternoon -- one-quarter of one unit -- and a sea of greens followed. The numbers went up a tad Sat/Sun overnight, then settled back down into the greens throughout most of Sunday. Thus, no shots on Sunday.

When I uploaded the FreeStyle data and looked at the Sunday daylight hours, the range was between 51 and 103. That seemed kind of below-normal. And I did a double-take when I got that hand-held reading of 51, even though it was a resting BG and came back up into higher double-digits after she woke and started getting around.

So I guess I'm wondering if I should have any concerns about her being in a lower range such as 51-103 in the absence of outside insulin, or if the 50-120 definition of "normal" glucose applies to FreeStyle Libre readings.

(My understanding is that she's not going to go into hypo outside of a shot cycle, so I'm not really worried about that specifically -- but again, I'm just wondering if there's anything strange or concerning about her "natural" numbers falling as low as 51, or whether the numbers actually are that low, given what I'm using.)

My current Freestyle sensor is on its eighth day, in case that's relevant.

Thanks for any help. I so hope this trend continues. It's now very early Monday morning, she's sleeping happily next to her favorite front window, and FreeStyle shows her BG at 79.
 
I'm going to tag
@JanetNJ

@Panic
for you because I'm pretty sure anything under 90 you should reduce by 0.25 units
Don't want to give her the wrong info @JanetNJ

She won't go hypo with those numbers since you did not give any insulin
They will most likely reply later on today :cat:

From the Prozinc Sticky
Reducing the Dose:
  • Anytime the BG drops below 90 mg/dL, reduce the dose by 0.25u at the next shot.
Lather, Rinse, and Repeat!
 
Last edited:
I've read a number of posts here saying that normal cat BG is 50-120 when read with a "human meter," which I assume to mean a meter that takes blood measurements. My question -- does that range apply as well when using FreeStyle Libre, or should I be at all concerned when I get numbers in the low 50s from it?
Libre is a human meter. (As opposed to the Alphatrak which is a pet specific meter and the numbers run a little differently). Yes you need to be concerned when the number is below 50 of on insulin ... That is hypoglycemia and if it goes too low can be extremely dangerous. Here is our information on hypoglycemia and how to prepare and test it if it happens. Without insulin however it's fine!!!! https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-treat-hypos-they-can-kill-print-this-out.15887/
So I guess I'm wondering if I should have any concerns about her being in a lower range such as 51-103 in the absence of outside insulin, or if the 50-120 definition of "normal" glucose applies to FreeStyle Libre readings.
in the absence of insulin no you don't have to be worried by those numbers!!! It's wonderful!!!! When you do need to give another shot (if) you should reduce the dose. Some cats naturally can test below 50 without insulin and that's fine. Without insulin your cat is safe. Crossing my fingers your cat will be in remission. 14 days in normal range without insulin is considered remission.... Diet controlled. But you should still periodically test and keep on the low carb food.
 
I've read a number of posts here saying that normal cat BG is 50-120 when read with a "human meter," which I assume to mean a meter that takes blood measurements. My question -- does that range apply as well when using FreeStyle Libre, or should I be at all concerned when I get numbers in the low 50s from it?

This came up today. Pigpen appears to be making her first big attempt at self-regulating. Her last ProZinc shot was early Saturday afternoon -- one-quarter of one unit -- and a sea of greens followed. The numbers went up a tad Sat/Sun overnight, then settled back down into the greens throughout most of Sunday. Thus, no shots on Sunday.

When I uploaded the FreeStyle data and looked at the Sunday daylight hours, the range was between 51 and 103. That seemed kind of below-normal. And I did a double-take when I got that hand-held reading of 51, even though it was a resting BG and came back up into higher double-digits after she woke and started getting around.

So I guess I'm wondering if I should have any concerns about her being in a lower range such as 51-103 in the absence of outside insulin, or if the 50-120 definition of "normal" glucose applies to FreeStyle Libre readings.

(My understanding is that she's not going to go into hypo outside of a shot cycle, so I'm not really worried about that specifically -- but again, I'm just wondering if there's anything strange or concerning about her "natural" numbers falling as low as 51, or whether the numbers actually are that low, given what I'm using.)

My current Freestyle sensor is on its eighth day, in case that's relevant.

Thanks for any help. I so hope this trend continues. It's now very early Monday morning, she's sleeping happily next to her favorite front window, and FreeStyle shows her BG at 79.
That spreadsheet looks amazing!!! What a difference from just a month ago!!!!
 
Not I found out that the Libre values appear to change depending upon how long the sensor has bee in use. The following is comparison of Libre value and human iHealth meter. Not whick device read higher changed about halfway through the 14 day sensor life.
BG comparison Libre JPG.jpg
 

Attachments

  • BG comparison Libre JPG.jpg
    BG comparison Libre JPG.jpg
    18.3 KB · Views: 475
Just a note, and I’m not sure if you are using the original Libre or 2nd generation, but it does make a difference because the data is different. The lower values with the Libre2 are actually extremely precise vs reading lower than IG or even BG actually is (this was an issue even in humans with the original Libre) and also, the sensor, Libre2, also reads accurately throughout its use. @Larry and Kitties —is your data using the original Libre or the new generation?

I recommend using the AT2 when faced with a lower reading from a sensor or a human meter. There have been multiple occasions when the BG reading from AT2 is equally as low as the IG vs being higher. Just an additional safety net :)
 
the original Libre
For information, the original Libre was the 10 day Libre. That was superseded with the 14 day Libre then there is the new Libre2.
The 10 day Libre had to be installed for I think 12 hour before you get a reading compared with 1 hour for both the 14 day Libre and the Libre2.
 
For information, the original Libre was the 10 day Libre. That was superseded with the 14 day Libre then there is the new Libre2.
The 10 day Libre had to be installed for I think 12 hour before you get a reading compared with 1 hour for both the 14 day Libre and the Libre2.

I always refer to it as the “original” Libre when talking about it with reference to dogs or cats because it was the 14 day Libre that was the first to be validated for use in dogs and cats. The previous version was not. Many people have only had experience with that version vs the Libre2 sensor.

Thank goodness we don’t have to deal with a long warm up, right?
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top