Is anyone going to be up late tonight 11/17/14??

Status
Not open for further replies.

cathyinky

Member Since 2014
I just started my kitty on insulin today. 1/2 unit morning and night. His before shot BG was 365 and it went down throughout the day until 3:00pm when it was at 197 then it was betweeb 219 and 210 before it dropped to 146 at 9:00pm. I didn't realize, since I am new that I shouldn't have given him the shot, 1 hour later his BG was 127. I'm worried it is falling too fast. I was advised to give a couple teaspoons of his old food to try to keep it from falling too fast. I gave him the food and will be rechecking at 11:00pm. I will be up all night with him and am concerned I won't be able to get advice if his numbers continue to fall since it's so late. Any assistants will be greatly appreciated. Thank you. My name is Cathy and my kitty is a 13 year old Russian Blue named Simon.
 
Hi Cathy

Glad to see you made it over here...I sent a couple of messages to some people that are usually on later nights, but I can't be sure they're going to be here.

Read this and print it out (if you can)....it's something we should all have in case nobody is available when you need them

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=147

Scroll down a bit for the part titled "DON'T PANIC! or HOW TO HANDLE LOW NUMBERS"
 
Are you still up checking your kitty, what numbers are you getting now, also what kind of insulin, how much and what type meter are you using?
 
Sorry. It was a very rough night. Constant checking and feeding. His numbers had dropped so fast. He was at 68 then 73 then 76 and I thought he was getting better then it went to 71 then 65 within 20 minutes. I fed and gave molasses then it went to 76 then within an hour dropped to 70. Is this at all normal? I fed him his breakfast and he ate half of it. He wants to cuddle and play. He shakes his head quite often though. Is that from his sugar being much lower than his body is used to or maybe he's as exhausted as I am by all the testing? Before his very first shot he was 365 and dropped steadily through the day then before his second shot he was 146 then started falling. I appreciate everyone's help. I will be super vigilant today and won't give another shot until he is over 200.
 
Thanks everyone, just knowing you were there if I needed you and that I could do 911 was so comforting. Everyone has been so wonderful. I know my Simon is still alive because of all the info I've gotten from you guys. You are an amazingly caring group of people.
 
Would you please tweak your profile? Having a few details which automatically sign each post will help us give you better feedback.

Go to the top left of the screen.
Click on User Control Panel.
Click on Profile
Click on Edit Signature
A text box displays.
This is where you paste the link for your spreadsheet, once it is set up.
Add any other text, such as
your name, cat's name,
city and state,
date of Dx (diagnosis)
insulin
meter
any other pertinent issues like food issues, allergies, IBD, etc.
 
Was 70 at 7:00am, 71 at 9:00am (12 hours after 1/2 unit) and 71 at 11:15am (2 hours after eating). At least it's not getting lower. Just weird that 1 day worth of 1/2 unit Lantus shots (first day he's been given any), once in the morning and then once at night, would stay in his system this long. Have you seen this before?
 
It's not the "normal" way this dance goes, but we've seen it before!

Great job keeping Simon safe last night Cathy!

You can give him a break on the testing now...and since you didn't shoot this morning, IF you want to change your shot times (maybe earlier so you're shooting earlier in the evening in case you need help later in the night there will be more people still around) it's a good time to be thinking of those kinds of decisions.

I HATE mornings, but finally got into the groove of 6am/6pm...lets me get a +2 pretty much every day before I might have to leave home, and makes it pretty easy to stay up until at least +6 at night since that's only midnight

Something else to think about!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top