Is a drop from 280 to 252 enough reason to call off my whole day and stay home?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shell

Member Since 2022
I was supposed to go to lunch with my mom today. I tested Pumpkin at +2. I will not be home today and I am just frustrated beyond that which can be described.

I am thinking I may be safe to actually go to lunch today. But, since it's gone down at +2, is it better that I call her and tell her I'm not coming and stay here testing Pumpkin all day?

I am severely frustrated because I really don't know what to do. :(

Edit: I'm just going to stay home. I heard that if it falls 2 hours after a shot, they may need to be watched. :(
 
Last edited:
Sorry you didn't get a faster reply. Is there any way you can meet your mom for lunch a little later when you're more sure about Pumpkin's numbers?
 
Sorry you didn't get a faster reply. Is there any way you can meet your mom for lunch a little later when you're more sure about Pumpkin's numbers?
That's alright. I appreciate any feedback! At 3+, I know that it's only 248 now. So, at least I know that he is pretty much safe.
 
Yeah looks like he's going to spend some time in sunny yellow, but hopefully he'll dip his toes into blue later in the cycle!

One thing that may help is to remember that all personal meters are allowed to be up to 20% off of what you'd get in a professional lab, so if he was at 280 at AMPS and the +2 was 258, that's basically a flat number, not a big drop. It's only a drop of 22 points which is well within that 20% variance.

Let's see how the rest of today's cycle goes. Sometimes, a flat yellow cycle can come right before an active cycle (they always come at night!) so it will be important to be sure to get at least a "before bed" test tonight and make sure he's going to be safe while you're sleeping.
 
I'd suggest getting a curve every so often. The best way to get a handle on Pumpkin's numbers is to get a curve. You need to know when onset and nadir occur. That will help you to have a better idea of what to expect. It will also be helpful if you are at work during the week if you can get a curve one the weekend. I would have probably gone out to lunch. Pumpkin's drop was by around 10%. That's not a huge drop by +2. It's the same for the PM cycle. You need to be getting a before bed test on on routine basis otherwise you're missing a lot of data.
 
Tha
I'd suggest getting a curve every so often. The best way to get a handle on Pumpkin's numbers is to get a curve. You need to know when onset and nadir occur. That will help you to have a better idea of what to expect. It will also be helpful if you are at work during the week if you can get a curve one the weekend. I would have probably gone out to lunch. Pumpkin's drop was by around 10%. That's not a huge drop by +2. It's the same for the PM cycle. You need to be getting a before bed test on on routine basis otherwise you're missing a lot of data.
I've been hoping to curve also. From what I understand, he must be on at least 7 to 10 days of a consistent dose. And, no half doses or skipped doses before I can accurately curve.

So, there were a couple of skipped doses recently that have brought me back to day 1. They always happen the day right before I want to curve.
 
If you are following SLGS, you need to do a curve on a weekly basis. With the amount of information on your cat's spreadsheet, it's difficult to make any suggestions. Based on what you're doing, your kitty has been on 2.0u for about 2 weeks. Just get a curve!!
 
If you are following SLGS, you need to do a curve on a weekly basis. With the amount of information on your cat's spreadsheet, it's difficult to make any suggestions. Based on what you're doing, your kitty has been on 2.0u for about 2 weeks. Just get a curve!!
I will get a curve this week so I help make suggestions here on the forum easier. Thanks!

It was per my vet about the accurate curve reading, but a full 7 day strait dose schedule doesn't seem to be possible lately. So, it will be better to have something than nothing at all.
 
It was per my vet about the accurate curve reading,

You're going to find a lot of the advice you get from your vet is flawed. I was so lucky to find this board when my China was first diagnosed! If I'd done what my vet told me, I would have most likely killed her. He wanted me to start at 4U! She weighed less than 7 pounds! I had spent the night before reading everything I could here so when he suggested that, I told him I wasn't comfortable starting at a dose that high and would rather start at 1. He kind of rolled his eyes a bit, but said I could do what I felt comfortable with, but he was betting she would need a lot more than 4U before she'd be regulated. She never needed more than 2.75.

The people here do nothing but deal with feline diabetes and the complications that come with it. We live it 24/7/365. "Book-learning" will only get you so far....it's the day in/day out experience with our own cats that makes this such a special and trusted place to get your advice.
 
You're going to find a lot of the advice you get from your vet is flawed. I was so lucky to find this board when my China was first diagnosed! If I'd done what my vet told me, I would have most likely killed her. He wanted me to start at 4U! She weighed less than 7 pounds! I had spent the night before reading everything I could here so when he suggested that, I told him I wasn't comfortable starting at a dose that high and would rather start at 1. He kind of rolled his eyes a bit, but said I could do what I felt comfortable with, but he was betting she would need a lot more than 4U before she'd be regulated. She never needed more than 2.75.

The people here do nothing but deal with feline diabetes and the complications that come with it. We live it 24/7/365. "Book-learning" will only get you so far....it's the day in/day out experience with our own cats that makes this such a special and trusted place to get your advice.
Yes, my Vet is also a surgeon and cares for many animals, specializing in cats. Although she is knowledgeable and has almost echoed what is said here on this forum, she is busy helping other kitties with things other than diabetes. So, since this forum is so focused on this one aspect (Feline Diabetes). And, it's a wealth of invaluable knowledge, I'm going to get that curve anyhow. This week. :)
 
One thing that may help is to remember that all personal meters are allowed to be up to 20% off of what you'd get in a professional lab, so if he was at 280 at AMPS and the +2 was 258, that's basically a flat number, not a big drop. It's only a drop of 22 points which is well within that 20% variance.

If the number is within the 20% variance within +2, would I typically regard that as probably safe? Meaning that there probably won't be any deep dives during the cycle? Within reason of course. I know there is always a chance. But a 20% variance isn't typically cause for deep concern, right?
 
"Probably" and "maybe" are constant worries. I think if my cat dropped more than 15% from PS to +2, I'd want to get another test in 30 mins to see if they were still dropping that fast.

Fast drops can set off a bounce just like dropping into low numbers or dropping into numbers your cat isn't used to anymore, so if they drop too quickly, you may need to try to stop him from dropping so fast by feeding either a little low carb food (to see if that's enough to slow him down) or if you need to feed a little higher carb food. It's all trial and error to see what works for Pumpkin.
 
"Probably" and "maybe" are constant worries. I think if my cat dropped more than 15% from PS to +2, I'd want to get another test in 30 mins to see if they were still dropping that fast.

Fast drops can set off a bounce just like dropping into low numbers or dropping into numbers your cat isn't used to anymore, so if they drop too quickly, you may need to try to stop him from dropping so fast by feeding either a little low carb food (to see if that's enough to slow him down) or if you need to feed a little higher carb food. It's all trial and error to see what works for Pumpkin.
Like today. +2 he is already 130. I will test again in 15 minutes to see if the snack did anything.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top