? Io's BG steadily lowering (no insulin since yesterday AM)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jess + Io

Member Since 2024
Hi all! I have a new question, but my previous thread about Io is here.

Her most recent dose of insulin was yesterday morning -- 1 unit.

I'm using 210 as a "too low to shoot" number. She's been consistently below that since yesterday's dose.

My spreadsheet is linked in my signature. I also left notes/comment on some of the cells -- like what time I gave her a snack (a spoonful of her usual FF Classic Pate). But if you can't see any of that, feel free to drop a question here.

Thanks in advance for your help!
 
Did your vet run a fructosamine at diagnosis? Were you given a choice of insulin to use? The readings you are getting are nearly normal. I wonder if the uti and stress gave you the high bg at diagnosis. Wouldn’t that be nice?
 
Did your vet run a fructosamine at diagnosis? Were you given a choice of insulin to use? The readings you are getting are nearly normal. I wonder if the uti and stress gave you the high bg at diagnosis. Wouldn’t that be nice?

Fructosamine - I don't believe so. At least, they didn't mention it. Their focus was on a 390 BG reading they got. When she was at the ER, she had a 322. But I will ask!

Insulin - No, we were not given a choice. At the time, I didn't even realize there were other choices. So much to learn!

I'm wondering the same. That would be amazing but I don't want to get my hopes up. I'm also wondering if it's possible that she was prediabetic... And maybe the change to only wet food made a huge difference?

I'm not sure how long she has the UTI before it got bad enough for us to notice. I was out of the country for the first half of May. When I returned, I noticed she'd lost a little weight. About a week or two later, we noticed her being aggressive toward her longtime bestie cat. A few days later, (June 17) I found little puddles of sticky red substance. Within minutes, I figured out it was her urine. She was excessively drinking and using the litter box, but not urinating... Just leaving these sticky red spots. She was very restless and uncomfortable. We took her to the vet ER that day.

ER vet mentioned BG was high (322) but seemed more concerned about some liver numbers. They gave meds for the UTI and wanted us to do a follow-up with our local vet. The UTI cleared, but at the local vet, her BG was 390 so they diagnosed her with diabetes and got us started on 2 units 2x a day.

But a few days in, I noticed she was super drowsy and dazed at nighttime. Around the same time, I found this site... Which has been a great help!

I did ask local vet if they did a ketone test. They said no.

I hate to think what might have been if we'd just blindly continue to give that dosage twice a day. I think we could have ended up with a very sick cat.

We tested again tonight at her PMPS time and got a 119. So again, no insulin.
 
Food - She gets 1 can of FF pate at 10 am, then another can at 10 pm. She eats a good portion of it right away (maybe 1/2 or 1/3), then grazes for the next several hours. I haven't been giving snacks because when I go to give her one, she still has a little food left---an amount that would essentially be a snack. But the food is always completely gone by the time her next food time rolls around.
But should I give her more anyway? I'll pay closer attention

This is a question from your previous thread.
I would try giving her a little more. And, as you are skipping so many doses of insulin, I would test for ketones in the urine until things are sorted out. You will need a bottle of Ketostix from Walmart or a pharmacy and follow directions on the bottle.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top