AZJenks
Member Since 2014
Hi everyone. First, thanks for this forum, and thanks in advance for your knowledge and assistance. Please excuse our frustration, but we're desperately in need of guidance. Also, apologies for the extended length of this post, but I figure a history leading up to it is warranted for a first post.
Intro
Jenks is an 8-year old male. Neutered. Exclusively indoor except for the occasional supervised visit to the front yard to eat grass and sun himself. Simply the most easy-going, well-tempered boy I have ever seen.
Pre-diagnosis
Ever since Jenks was a kitten, the vet said he was going to be big. So we didn't think to be concerned that he was 28 pounds, had a large appetite for food and water, or had voluminous litterbox habits. Things started to change in the months leading up to diagnosis. Principally a dry-food free feeder, he started to suddenly shun his Blue Buffalo Wilderness. So I transitioned him to a comparable food, Merrick Purrfect Bistro. That lasted one bag before he quit eating it. Unable to continue "sampling" $30-$40 bags of dry food, I discovered he liked IAMS Healthy Naturals, so we tried that for awhile until he didn't want it anymore. Finally, I just had to give in and give him Purina Naturals, which is what I had been offering him as treats. My other family member prefers to indulge him with Temptations at his whim. And even though I served Friskies wet food for dinner to his siblings, he remained mostly a dry food addict.
One day I picked him up (he doesn't usually like that so it had been awhile since I had done it) and I noticed he felt lighter. After weighing him, we were surprised to see that he had lost 6 pounds. Combined with other concerning signs I had observed -- increased water intake, seemingly insatiable appetite & begging for treats, increased lethargy, large urinations, and hind end weakness -- I knew it was time to take him to the vet.
Diagnosis
At the vet, they did a full blood screen and urinalysis. The results were definitive. His BG was in the 400s. Thankfully everything else was fine. So, the week of Christmas, he was diagnosed as diabetic. The vet sent us home with a prescription for a Lantus pen with the screw on syringe tips and an order to begin giving him 2 units twice a day and to come back eventually for a follow up blood panel. Otherwise, we were to treat him as normal, including feeding. We scheduled his insulin at 9AM & 9PM.
Post-diagnosis
Week 1 - He seemed more alert and generally livelier. We continued his diet as normal. He rapidly developed soft, malodorous stools but otherwise seemed stable.
Week 2 & 3 - Despite continuing as normal, he declined. Stools became even softer. Cravings for food increased. Hind end weakness increased noticeably. He was losing footing on the wood floor. He could no longer hold himself up in the litterbox. As a result, he often got messes all over his backside necessitating regular cleanings.
Week 4 - By now he's worse than he was pre-diagnosis. I discovered this board, tried to digest as much info as I could, and chose one night to check his blood sugar with the Accu-check Aviva meter we had lying around. I managed a blood draw from the ear (the only time since I've been able to achieve that) and his BG was an astounding 465. I felt defeated, like I had let him down the last four weeks. Even worse, I felt like I had wasted all of that expensive insulin.
I curved him on January 23 with the Relion Micro that I purchased at the behest of recommendations on this site. After repeated attempts terrifying him trying to get blood out of his ear, I found a suggestion to use the rear center pads which he tolerated. His numbers looked like this:
5AM(+7) 433
6PM (+9) 327
9PM (+0 pre shot, meal time) 462
1030PM (+1.5) 451
1230A (+3.5) 480
315AM (+6.25) 585
We scheduled him for an immediate follow-up vet visit. The vet didn't seem concerned. He just said to up the dosage to 3 units twice daily. Otherwise, keep doing everything as normal.
We began shooting 3 units 2x day on January 25.
From my admittedly incomplete research, I read that Lantus takes up to a week to take full effect from a dose change, so I didn't test him again until February 1.
His pre-shot number at 9PM (+) meal time) was 495.
At this point, we decided that we had no choice but to remove all dry food. Currently, if he begs for food, we open a can of Friskies wet food and put it in front of him. He eats, albiet not much.
Numbers for February 2, the first full day with only wet food:
3AM (+6) 464
3PM (+6) 59 (no idea how to explain this)
9PM (+0 pre shot meal time) 512/430 (so shocked by 512 that I tested the other foot just to double check)
Finally, numbers so far for February 3. Again, all day with only access to wet food.
1AM (+5) 452
3AM (+6) 500
To be sure there wasn't something wrong with the meter, I tested it on human blood versus the Accu-check Aviva in the house. Aviva read 117, Relion Micro 130.
Is the Lantus bad? It's clear in the tube and constantly refrigerated.
Why is it ineffective? Is he resistant to it? Not getting enough?
How can he have numbers so high when he hasn't had dry food for two days?
Where did the 59 come from?
Why all of a sudden did he develop loose stools on Lantus?
What do I use to replace the calories he's missing from the dry food? He can't afford to lose any more weight, and I don't think he is taking in sufficient calories from wet food to make up the difference. And he won't eat any of the freeze dried high protein treats we've purchased.
Can someone please help me figure out what's going on? I don't know where else to turn, and I can't continue this in futility knowing that he's miserable.
Intro
Jenks is an 8-year old male. Neutered. Exclusively indoor except for the occasional supervised visit to the front yard to eat grass and sun himself. Simply the most easy-going, well-tempered boy I have ever seen.
Pre-diagnosis
Ever since Jenks was a kitten, the vet said he was going to be big. So we didn't think to be concerned that he was 28 pounds, had a large appetite for food and water, or had voluminous litterbox habits. Things started to change in the months leading up to diagnosis. Principally a dry-food free feeder, he started to suddenly shun his Blue Buffalo Wilderness. So I transitioned him to a comparable food, Merrick Purrfect Bistro. That lasted one bag before he quit eating it. Unable to continue "sampling" $30-$40 bags of dry food, I discovered he liked IAMS Healthy Naturals, so we tried that for awhile until he didn't want it anymore. Finally, I just had to give in and give him Purina Naturals, which is what I had been offering him as treats. My other family member prefers to indulge him with Temptations at his whim. And even though I served Friskies wet food for dinner to his siblings, he remained mostly a dry food addict.
One day I picked him up (he doesn't usually like that so it had been awhile since I had done it) and I noticed he felt lighter. After weighing him, we were surprised to see that he had lost 6 pounds. Combined with other concerning signs I had observed -- increased water intake, seemingly insatiable appetite & begging for treats, increased lethargy, large urinations, and hind end weakness -- I knew it was time to take him to the vet.
Diagnosis
At the vet, they did a full blood screen and urinalysis. The results were definitive. His BG was in the 400s. Thankfully everything else was fine. So, the week of Christmas, he was diagnosed as diabetic. The vet sent us home with a prescription for a Lantus pen with the screw on syringe tips and an order to begin giving him 2 units twice a day and to come back eventually for a follow up blood panel. Otherwise, we were to treat him as normal, including feeding. We scheduled his insulin at 9AM & 9PM.
Post-diagnosis
Week 1 - He seemed more alert and generally livelier. We continued his diet as normal. He rapidly developed soft, malodorous stools but otherwise seemed stable.
Week 2 & 3 - Despite continuing as normal, he declined. Stools became even softer. Cravings for food increased. Hind end weakness increased noticeably. He was losing footing on the wood floor. He could no longer hold himself up in the litterbox. As a result, he often got messes all over his backside necessitating regular cleanings.
Week 4 - By now he's worse than he was pre-diagnosis. I discovered this board, tried to digest as much info as I could, and chose one night to check his blood sugar with the Accu-check Aviva meter we had lying around. I managed a blood draw from the ear (the only time since I've been able to achieve that) and his BG was an astounding 465. I felt defeated, like I had let him down the last four weeks. Even worse, I felt like I had wasted all of that expensive insulin.
I curved him on January 23 with the Relion Micro that I purchased at the behest of recommendations on this site. After repeated attempts terrifying him trying to get blood out of his ear, I found a suggestion to use the rear center pads which he tolerated. His numbers looked like this:
5AM(+7) 433
6PM (+9) 327
9PM (+0 pre shot, meal time) 462
1030PM (+1.5) 451
1230A (+3.5) 480
315AM (+6.25) 585
We scheduled him for an immediate follow-up vet visit. The vet didn't seem concerned. He just said to up the dosage to 3 units twice daily. Otherwise, keep doing everything as normal.
We began shooting 3 units 2x day on January 25.
From my admittedly incomplete research, I read that Lantus takes up to a week to take full effect from a dose change, so I didn't test him again until February 1.
His pre-shot number at 9PM (+) meal time) was 495.
At this point, we decided that we had no choice but to remove all dry food. Currently, if he begs for food, we open a can of Friskies wet food and put it in front of him. He eats, albiet not much.
Numbers for February 2, the first full day with only wet food:
3AM (+6) 464
3PM (+6) 59 (no idea how to explain this)
9PM (+0 pre shot meal time) 512/430 (so shocked by 512 that I tested the other foot just to double check)
Finally, numbers so far for February 3. Again, all day with only access to wet food.
1AM (+5) 452
3AM (+6) 500
To be sure there wasn't something wrong with the meter, I tested it on human blood versus the Accu-check Aviva in the house. Aviva read 117, Relion Micro 130.
Is the Lantus bad? It's clear in the tube and constantly refrigerated.
Why is it ineffective? Is he resistant to it? Not getting enough?
How can he have numbers so high when he hasn't had dry food for two days?
Where did the 59 come from?
Why all of a sudden did he develop loose stools on Lantus?
What do I use to replace the calories he's missing from the dry food? He can't afford to lose any more weight, and I don't think he is taking in sufficient calories from wet food to make up the difference. And he won't eat any of the freeze dried high protein treats we've purchased.
Can someone please help me figure out what's going on? I don't know where else to turn, and I can't continue this in futility knowing that he's miserable.