Diane Tyler's Mom GA
Very Active Member
@ThisIsAllForZot
Just remember with SLGS Method
Hold the dose for at least a week:
Copied the following from one of our experienced members
As long as you are using a human meter then the “take action “ number is when the cat drops below 50, meaning that you want to monitor carefully. Oftentimes you just need to feed regular food and test in 20 minutes, but at first if you don’t know your cat’s patterns you can use medium carb as well or even high carb and test in 20-30 to make sure numbers are stable or rising. Giving high carb food or honey/corn syrup when a cat is in the 60s or higher is really going to shoot them up too high and disrupt the cycle. Having said that, I totally understand the fear of hypo and I had been told that my human meter read more like a pet meter (which was not correct) and when my cat first hit 68 I freaked out and fed him a whole can of Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers food. That was totally the wrong thing to do. We feed small amounts when managing hypos and he wasn’t even hypo. I skyrocketed him up by a couple hundred points.
Anyway, at first the lower numbers can be frightening. After a while you love to see your cat spend as much time as possible in the greens since they are the numbers where the pancreas can heal and hopefully aid the cat toward remission.
normal range is 50-100with a human meter
Just remember with SLGS Method
Hold the dose for at least a week:
- Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
- Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
- If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
- If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
- If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
Copied the following from one of our experienced members
As long as you are using a human meter then the “take action “ number is when the cat drops below 50, meaning that you want to monitor carefully. Oftentimes you just need to feed regular food and test in 20 minutes, but at first if you don’t know your cat’s patterns you can use medium carb as well or even high carb and test in 20-30 to make sure numbers are stable or rising. Giving high carb food or honey/corn syrup when a cat is in the 60s or higher is really going to shoot them up too high and disrupt the cycle. Having said that, I totally understand the fear of hypo and I had been told that my human meter read more like a pet meter (which was not correct) and when my cat first hit 68 I freaked out and fed him a whole can of Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers food. That was totally the wrong thing to do. We feed small amounts when managing hypos and he wasn’t even hypo. I skyrocketed him up by a couple hundred points.
Anyway, at first the lower numbers can be frightening. After a while you love to see your cat spend as much time as possible in the greens since they are the numbers where the pancreas can heal and hopefully aid the cat toward remission.
normal range is 50-100with a human meter
Last edited: