Hi and welcome Jenny and your Kitty,
It is overwhelming and confusing in the beginning.
Are you hometesting the blood glucose or are you just going to the vet for random tests or curves?
We recommend considering hometesting as that is the only way you will be able to see what is happening with the blood glucose and to keep your kitty safe.
Is the insulin you are using Novolin
N? This is not a good insulin for cats. It is a fast acting and harsh insulin which drops the blood glucose fast and then it shoots back up before the next dose is due becasue it does not last the 12 hours. I would recommend you ask the vet to swap you to either Lantus (or biosimilar) or ProZinc. These are the two insulins recommended by the American Animal Hospital Association. Novolin N is not Recommended. 2 units is a large dose to start a cat on as well. Lantus and ProZinc are longer lasting, more gentle insulins and you will get better results with these.
Are you feeding him
1 hour before giving the dose of insulin? Novolin N needs to have food aboard before the dose is given because it hits hard and fast. Here is a link to using Novolin N
BEGINNERS GUIDE TO NOVOLIN N
Your vet is correct in that it takes time to get into better numbers, but you need to
1. Be feeding a suitable low carb food and
2. be giving an insulin which is suitable for cats. And even when you are doing everything right, it is going to take time.
If I were you I would ask the vet to swap you to a better insulin now and I would look at better food. The DM dry is high carb food. I will link a food for you to look at and choose food that is 10% or under carbs.
But do not swap to a low carb food unless you are testing the blood glucose because lower carb food can drop the BG (blood glucose ) by up to 100 points. And the 2 units of Novolin N would most likely be too much insulin.
FOOD CHART