Introduction: Mary and Kayoodle

Status
Not open for further replies.

kayoodlemom

Member Since 2014
I just wanted to introduce myself and my baby. Kayoodle is 13 and newly diagnosed, just started on Lantus and I am gratefully using the FDMB chart for home monitoring. My initial vet did not want me to use a human glucometer, but I had already purchased the relion confirm and based on the research here, I still think that is a good option, esp. with cost. Before we started Kayoodle on insulin, she had 6 teeth removed (poor darling) at a cost of nearly $2000 (poor me, literally). She is gaining weight, doing awesome and I am getting better with home monitoring. I am the first person in my vet's 10-years experience who asked about home monitoring. We hit a low number our first week (last week) of 100 and I did not shoot, and my vet was upset that I did not dose with insulin and cancelled my scheduled curve. I know my meter will under-report compared to one check with vet's Alpha Trak, but I did not want to risk her going hypo. I consulted with a different vet and have a curve scheduled with her this week. I feel like I am on quite the learning curve but I am determined to be the best mom I can. I so appreciate this site and youtube videos on home testing. That has helped me build my confidence.

I was feeding all my animals Taste of the Wild dry and Trader Joes wet in AM. Now Kayoodle is on wet ONLY - initially DM, now Fancy Feast classic and EVO, and I'm transitioning my other cats to wet and EVO dry. It has been a long couple weeks.

I'm trying to get a decent image of kayoodle but having difficulty getting the size down while maintaining some image integrity. I'm attaching her pic - since it is too large for avatar, thought I'd post.

I would note that I read the "message from you kitty" for newbies and REALLY appreciated it. I was going through all that. I'd like to buy a raffle ticket, but not sure how.

Thank you beautiful pet partners,
Cheers,
Mary
 

Attachments

  • kayoodlesm.jpg
    kayoodlesm.jpg
    21.9 KB · Views: 474
Hi Mary and Super-Sweet Kayoodle!

Welcome to FDMB!

It sounds like you are having success with home monitoring and that you are on the right track with wet food transitions.

Home monitoring will be absolutely key, as after transitioning to wet food and removal of the bad teeth, Kayoodle's BG will likely drop significantly.

You did the right thing by not shooting with a BG of 100. You don't want to risk a hypo event, particularly if you aren't around (due to work, etc) to monitor.

Let us know if you have any questions!

Liz
 
Mary,

Welcome, to you and Kayoodle. You are doing everything right as far as I can tell You are home testing, and yes the relion meter is fine. You are feeding Fancy Feast, we normally recommend the pate styles as they have less carbs and usually we they don`t recommend that diabetic cats be fed dry food. Sometimes just switching a cat to a low carb wet cat food can lower BG numbers drastically.
You did the right thing not to shoot any insulin when Kayoodle was at 100, is not recommended for new people to shoot that low of a number.
You did the right thing by finding a new vet, hopefully they will be more supportive of helping you with Kayoodle`s diabetes. Sounds to me like your vet was very outdated. We like for people to home test here to keep the cat safe.
I think so far you are doing a wonderful job.

Terri
 
Welcome to FDMB! You're doing great! Home testing, wet food...good for you!

Just so you know, you can do a curve at home if you want. Saves you money and you get more accurate readings. Also makes your kitty happier!

Let us know if you have any questions! We're all here to help!
 
First: Comparing a human glucometer to a pet-specific glucometer is like reading temperature in Celsius vs Fahrenheit. Both are correct. You just need to know the reference ranges to interpret what the numbers mean.

[Glucose reference ranges are unsubstantiated and have been removed by Moderator]


* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *​

How to use the glucose reference values chart:

When you get a test, look for the number on the chart that either equals, or contains, the test value you have. Read the information. As needed, make a decision and act.

Ex. You are a new insulin user and you test your cat before giving insulin. The test is 300. It probably is safe to give insulin.

Ex. You are an established user of Lantus, following the Tight Regulation protocol. You've tested around +5 to +7 to spot the nadir. It is 200 mg/dL. You probably need to increase the dose, following the instructions for the protocol.

Ex. Your cat is acting funny. The eyes are a bit dilated. You are concerned and test the glucose. The number is 35 mg/dL. ACK! The cat may be in a hypoglycemic state. You quickly follow the HYPO protocol linked in the glucose reference values chart. (which we really, really, suggest you print out and post on your refrigerator.) Funny you should ask that.. let me find it.
 
Hi Mary and sugarkitty Kayoodle and welcome to the message board. Lot's of experience here to help you.

Good advice from others, so I won't repeat it.

I will send you over to the Tech Support Forum to look at this post on shrinking a picture down to Avatar sizeand getting it in your user profile. Third reply down gives you step by step directions. Hope that helps you.

ETA: At some point, we really need to know how you came up with that kitty name! Sounds very loving as it trips off the tongue. :-D :-D
 
hello M and K :-D
i just joined a few days ago. my sugar boy larry was just dx 2 weeks ago. it sounds like u already know more than i do, but i just wanted to say hi! the ppl here r great and very helpful.
good luck. :)
 
Thank you ALL for the responses!!!!
The "chart" for different meters is very helpful; I had a low pre-shot of 127 last night and fed a little more, numbers went up to 189 and gave her 1/2 unit instead of 1, but I was really nervous about not following 1/1 twice daily after previous vet admonished me. She was at 202 at +2 so I relaxed more later and was about 350 in the AM, so I am still figuring out the whole cycle. I think I'll follow her this eve as late as I can to get a +2 before bed.

Thank you Thank you Thank you and her name is from my dad's first dog. Kayoodle was his name, so when my sister adopted this little one from the shelter many years ago, she named her Kayoodle.
I'll check out the avatar-shrinkage info.

hugs from me and my girl and several other feline rescues at my house.
cheers,
Mary
 
Hello and Welcome!

I am so glad you found this board!

Home testing is hard at first but now (2 months) it is 2nd nature for me and Scooter. Just follow the advice of the educated and experienced folks and you will both do well!

Linda
 
thank you again for replies. I had some low numbers again and reduced dosage and have called the vet since I don't have a curve yet. All I know is that compared to my previous vet's Alpha Trak, my meter is low. THANK YOU for the chart on numbers.
Kayoodle's chart is available by link in my signature on all posts and it is https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc ... _web#gid=0

I appreciate all responses - what a blessing to have this available for pet parents.
cheers,
Mary
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top