Introduction Lucas

Status
Not open for further replies.

Manami Tsutsumi

Member Since 2023
Hi everyone,
I hope this is where I introduce myself and my kitty. I have already been helped tremendously since our Lucas was diagnosed with diabetes last week. I was out of the country for 3 weeks. I returned home and noticed he felt lighter and too quiet (usually he is very pesky in a fun active way- like ambush my leg as I walk by). He had lost 2 pounds so got him to the vet the next day. No apparent illness. Blood test revealed high glucose but the vet was not terribly concerned because of likely stress-induced hyperglycemia. Next day, when urine could be collected and tested, they confirmed glucose in the urine.

He was on Royal Canin Satiety Support dry and wet for a long time (because another cat of ours is on constant weight watch). I thought that was good food for what it costs!!! Since the diagnosis, switched to recommended low carb Fancy Feast canned food. Some other ones like Tiki, Wellness, cats don’t like. Did a lot of research- now I have read through all the latest articles on feline diabetes and lantus treatment and guidelines for diabetes treatment. (I am a scientist so I tend to get really picky about all the data and info).

It took forever to get all the supplies like insulin, syringes, urine strips, etc. It was eye opening how stores don’t stock these and mail orders can take forever these days.

So far only a trace or negative ketones with urinalysis. Glucose, yes- this morning at 15mmol/L.

His blood glucose has been running between 215-285mg/dL. Started him on Lantus 1U/dose BID today though the vet prescribed 2U/dose. Recommended dose per scientific journal was 0.25U/kg ideal weight for <300mg/dL. He is 5kg, so I proposed 1U/dose to the vet and she was ok with that. I suspect that may need to be increased since his nadir was 215 mg/dL on human monitor (at least of the points I measured, q4h post dose over 12h). Alphatrak read higher at 250 mg/dL.

Thank you so far for all the support through FB with little details like how to do glucose monitors and such. This is such an amazing group and I would have been freaking out the first few days without you. We are starting a journey to heal Lucas. We just celebrated his 8yrs with us since adoption. He is a beautiful cat and we expect him to live well for a long time! Our last kitty lived to be over 19 yrs! Grateful to have this group❤️. Thank you for all you are doing!

Manami (and Jason)
 
Hello and welcome to the best place you never wanted to be.

You were right to start on the lower dose of insulin, especially with the recent change to lower carb food. We have a couple of dosing methods we use for Lantus. You might want to go over to the the Lantus forum and read the yellow starred Sticky Notes over there. Do you have any questions for us?

This post tells you a little bit about how you can help us help you better:
New? How You Can Help Us Help You!
 
Welcome to FDMB!

I love that you're doing all of the homework and reading journal articles. There is even more information on the Health Links page if you want to do a deeper dive. Likewise, as Wendy mentioned, the sticky notes at the top of the Lantus forum are a wealth of information.

The AlphaTrack meter is calibrated a bit differently than a human meter. As a result, its numbers tend to be higher and the difference between the two meters is greater the higher the blood glucose reading.

Please let us know if you have questions.
 
Welcome and I love that you’re doing all this research too!

we can def add to your reading list ha! The more you understand about diabetes and the treatments, the better equipped you are to help your cat.

If you noticed, our members have some basic information about their cat's in their signature. This helps us to not pester you by asking the same questions (your cat's name, insulin type, date of diagnosis, etc.) repeatedly. We also have a link to our spreadsheet in our signature. We are very numbers driven. The spreadsheet is a record of your cat's progress. By linking it in your signature, we can follow along and provide feedback should you need the help. The instructions for both are in the link Wendy shared.

don’t be ashy when it comes to questions. That’s what we’re here for!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top