Introduction - hi!

Emma Troxell

Member Since 2021
Hi everyone! I am new the the forum - my sugarcat Mr. Lump was diagnosed about 2 weeks ago after having pancreatitis. His numbers have been coming down as he is recovering and today at the vet she agreed his dose should come down from 1u to 0.5u. I was going to attempt TR but honestly don't think I can keep up with it at the moment, so I have decided to go with SLGS. Is there a way to convert human numbers to feline numbers? I use an AlphaTrak and the dosing protocols are written with human numbers which is hard for me to interpret. My spreadsheet is linked in my signature for anyone who wants to check it out. I am going to work on transitioning to a lower carb diet - fresh pet is about 9% but I would like to get him on something lower if his tummy agrees. Thanks in advance!
 
Not an expert but wanted to say welcome!

Happy to hear that his numbers are coming down and he is recovering!

I can say that there isn’t a way to convert/compare human meter to pet meter. They measure blood glucose differently.

It’s good that you’re home testing with the food transitions to lower carb! With lower carbs you could see those number come down even more! A slow transition to a lower carb/different food would be good to avoid tummy issues.
 
Hi Emma,

Welcome to the FDMB! We're really happy that you found us!

We usually suggest to caregivers that they start in the Feline Health and Main forum, but it looks like you are very much ahead of the game and are all set up with a signature and spreadsheet and have even chosen your dosing method so I think you're good to stay here on the Lantus forum.

There is no real comparison between pet and human meters. We can generally say that human meters run approximately 20% lower than pet meters, and tend to come together a little more closely at the lower ranges but it's hard to say. The big difference for us here is that the reduction point on a pet meter is 68 whereas it's 50 on a human meter, but that won't matter to you for now because you're following SLGS and the dose reduction point is 90.

We strongly suggest that you switch to a human meter for a variety of reasons:

1) The methods developed here were done with human meter numbers in mind so that's where our expertise lies;
2) Human meters and test strips are WAAAY cheaper than AlphaTrak and with how much you will be testing, it will be much more economical and practical.

I'd also suggest that you try to get a before bed test. Cats tend to go lower at night and it's a good opportunity to know if he's dropping below 68.

Let us know if you have any questions!
 
I would encourage you to get some tests in the pm cycle. It is half the story and cats often drop lower at night. Try and get into the habit of getting at least a before bed test in every night. If that test is lower than the Preshot test I would set the alarm to test again later to ensure MrLump is still in safe numbers
 
Hello to you and Mr. Lump. I'm glad you found the forum here. It's the best place to be.
 
Welcome! These folks are here are very helpful. My guy has been on insulin (for 90 days and he is a bouncing little monkey. They will calm your worries and give sound suggestions.
 
Thanks everyone!! Good thing you all advised me to do night time testing - tonight he’s @ 97 on alphatrak +2 (I did get a human glucometer but somehow couldn’t get a reading for the life of me, got it first try on alpha track). I gave him a bit more food and am staying up to keep monitoring him.
 
this morning he had a feeding tube removed and I was still administering liquid steroids thru the tube. His pills haven’t come in yet and in the mean time I’m going to use gelatin capsules to put the liquid in and pill him that way. Those have yet to arrive as well so he didn’t get any today and I’m wondering if that is affecting his numbers
 
There is no real comparison between pet and human meters.
This is why we have the following on the top of our Dosing Methods Sticky Notes:
THE USE OF PET-SPECIFIC METERS IS DISCOURAGED BECAUSE THE DOSING METHODS USED ON THE FDMB WERE CREATED WITH METERS CALIBRATED FOR HUMANS. ALL REFERENCED NUMBERS CORRESPOND WITH METERS FOR HUMANS, NOT PET METERS.
We can generally say that human meters run approximately 20% lower than pet meters, and tend to come together a little more closely at the lower ranges but it's hard to say.
I wouldn't even say that, just that there is no way to convert from one to another. Members have done tests with varying inconclusive results. Emma, your spreadsheet says "estimated 63". Instead, just put down what you actually read on the meter. There is no "equivalent". Glad to see you are switching to the Relion. More of us are used to following numbers from human meters.

if the Fresh Pet works for his IBD, no problem sticking to it. Anything under 10% is considered low carb. I know how hard it is to find the right food that doesn't cause and IBD flare. And some cats actually do better with slightly higher but still low carb food. 1-2% food isn't necessarily better.
 
@Wendy&Neko
Hi Wendy, I have been helping out Emma when she first joined and been replying on her other post

Emma's post from main health herehttps://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/newbie-needing-help-with-dosing.255458/#post-2876827

She did switch to the Relion on 11-15 @+10
Now I see that 63 estimated and following SLGS ,I tried to get her to get another text in but looks like she signed off
Since she just started and he dropped below 90 is it too soon for her to reduce?
Maybe you can merge her other post to this one
Thank you

I just read what she wrote above about the 63 @+2
Thanks everyone!! Good thing you all advised me to do night time testing - tonight he’s @ 97 on alphatrak +2 (I did get a human glucometer but somehow couldn’t get a reading for the life of me, got it first try on alpha track). I gave him a bit more food and am staying up to keep monitoring him.

So that # was actually the Alpha Trak #
 
Last edited:
Thanks everyone!! Good thing you all advised me to do night time testing - tonight he’s @ 97 on alphatrak +2 (I did get a human glucometer but somehow couldn’t get a reading for the life of me, got it first try on alpha track). I gave him a bit more food and am staying up to keep monitoring him.
Emma so there are 2 dates for 11-15 on your SS
Is the 97 @+2 from the Alpha Trak?
Then the 89 @+3 below that line ,what was that tested with the Alpha Trak or the Relion?
From now on we will reply on the Lantus page, having 2 threads going at once is confusing

We post a certain way on the Lantus page, so for tomorrow morning here is how you will post
11-16 Mr Lump AMPS- his BG/ then the next test such as 180 @+2/ 190 @+4 / and so on then after you last day time test /PMPS- BG # and so on
We do a new post for each day and then link your previous days post to the new one
@Emma Troxell
 
Last edited:
his morning he had a feeding tube removed and I was still administering liquid steroids thru the tube. His pills haven’t come in yet and in the mean time I’m going to use gelatin capsules to put the liquid in and pill him that way. Those have yet to arrive as well so he didn’t get any today and I’m wondering if that is affecting his numbers
Didn't know he had a feeding tube , was that just for meds?
I know you said on your other post you are going to ask your vet about Fancy Feast and if it would be OK with his GI issues

For your hypo you need some med and high carb foods if you ever need to bring his BG up if it's really low
I don't know what you can feed him with his GI issues but I'll give this to you anyway
And have honey in the house



Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs
 
Last edited:
Thanks everyone- was having a hard time with the relion for some reason but was able to use it for +3 and +6. He had a feeding tube because he stopped eating due to pancreatitis. I tube fed him for about 2 weeks before he started eating on his own again. And I’ll be sure to make a new post with the correct title format!
 
Also about the food, vet said switching is okay we just have to play a bit of a trial and error game to see what makes him flare up and what does not.
 
Back
Top