Introduction. First day on the site

Status
Not open for further replies.
Yep it’s perfectly fine to test at +3 if you want and it will give you practice with Beau. Def read up on the stickies Diane posted. And no more skipping PS tests! :)

“Your vet is wrong”
:joyful::DHaha love it
 
We do have the u-40 syringes. I’m annoyed right now bc our vet told us the first line.. all the way at the top Is 1 unit, the “5” is 2 units. He started us out at the “2 unit” 5 line. I didn’t like how Beau was responding to this. Especially since he said to not feed him as we did only 2 meals a day. I figured out quickly it wasn’t good for Beau. I did just do a BG test, it’s random after his shot. But I was curious to see. It read at 78. I will log it. I’m thinking maybe 1 unit is too much to go down .25 the 78 is surprising to me I didn’t think it’d be that low.
 
We do have the u-40 syringes. I’m annoyed right now bc our vet told us the first line.. all the way at the top Is 1 unit, the “5” is 2 units. He started us out at the “2 unit” 5 line. I didn’t like how Beau was responding to this. Especially since he said to not feed him as we did only 2 meals a day. I figured out quickly it wasn’t good for Beau. I did just do a BG test, it’s random after his shot. But I was curious to see. It read at 78. I will log it. I’m thinking maybe 1 unit is too much to go down .25 the 78 is surprising to me I didn’t think it’d be that low.
So you do have the syringes with half unit markings correct?
I think the vet should go back to school :p
You didn't test Beau's PMPS tonight?
We could then see how low it dropped
I'll tag someone but if you did reduce you would give 0.75 units not 0.25 u
@Melisrock

There are 2 dosings methods to follow when using prozinc
SLGS or Modified
For now I would follow SLGS , I'll give you the link to read about a them
But SLGS says
Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
 
Last edited:
That’s a lot to unpack. Go back up and make sure you read Diane’s edit with the half unit info. ^^^

Please confirm that your U-40 syringes have half-units or not.

After that, please confirm the current dose you are giving him. Thanks!
 
I want to send a picture but can’t figure how yet. Hopefully, with it being 30u it makes more sense as to what the vet told us.
 
upload_2022-8-5_22-41-36.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-8-5_22-41-36.jpeg
    upload_2022-8-5_22-41-36.jpeg
    49 KB · Views: 503
@FrostD
Yup just what I thought. That looks like 2u she is giving.
It is actually 0.8U ;)

So, ProZinc is a U40 insulin. Those are U100 syringes. Here is a handy-dandy chart for using U40 insulin in a U100 syringe: https://www.felinediabetes.com/insulin-conversions.htm

The markings on your syringes are in whole units, so each line you see is equivalent to 1 unit of U100 insulin. You are drawing up to the 2U line on a U100 syringe, which means you are actually giving 0.8U of a U40 insulin like ProZinc (thank your vet for that head scratcher).

So what you need to do is take a reduction. We normally reduce by 0.25U any time they go under 90, while you're still getting the hang of things. But since youre using U100 syringes, it is easier to decrease by 0.2U.

So, you will actually be giving 0.6U of ProZinc - and in order to do this, draw up to 1.5U on the syringes you have. This is halfway between the 1 and 2U lines on your syringes.

When you get a chance, please add "Using U100 syringes" to your signature.
 
Is that an orange cap? Does it say "U-100" or "U-40" anywhere? Orange cap usually means U100, which complicates things a little, but I can help.

Can you load one of the syringes with water to show me what you are currently calling 1U?
That looks like an orange cap to me
 
It is actually 0.8U ;)

So, ProZinc is a U40 insulin. Those are U100 syringes. Here is a handy-dandy chart for using U40 insulin in a U100 syringe: https://www.felinediabetes.com/insulin-conversions.htm

The markings on your syringes are in whole units, so each line you see is equivalent to 1 unit of U100 insulin. You are drawing up to the 2U line on a U100 syringe, which means you are actually giving 0.8U of a U40 insulin like ProZinc (thank your vet for that head scratcher).

So what you need to do is take a reduction. We normally reduce by 0.25U any time they go under 90, while you're still getting the hang of things. But since youre using U100 syringes, it is easier to decrease by 0.2U.

So, you will actually be giving 0.6U of ProZinc - and in order to do this, draw up to 1.5U on the syringes you have. This is halfway between the 1 and 2U lines on your syringes.

When you get a chance, please add "Using U100 syringes" to your signature.
Should I be using a different kind syringe that would help me understand better?
 
What is the right syringes I should order? I can do that quick tonight before I try n go to sleep. I have a 1 month follow up with my vet Aug 17 although they said I can’t come inside unless I have concerns that can’t be addressed over the phone. I get the feeling he’s not going to be too helpful in this for us besides getting the insulin Beau needs. So in the meantime, I will test BG this morning before his shot n feed n log it, reducing to .6 following instructions from FrostD. I’m glad the syringe issue is being solved bc it’s confusing for me to try and take what my vet said vs what everyone on here is telling me. Just want to be giving proper doeses that’s all that matters
 
Should I be using a different kind syringe that would help me understand better?
We normally reduce by 0.25U any time they go under 90, while you're still getting the hang of things. But since youre using U100 syringes, it is easier to decrease by 0.2U.

in other words the U40 syringe will allow you to use the syringe markings to get .25u increases or decreases. Therefore they are meant for Prozinc.

I would order some U40 using Diane’s links and use the U100s until they get in
 
U40s are the proper syringe, yes. If money is tight, you can make do with the U100s for now.

Otherwise, you'll want 0.3cc U40 syringes with half unit markings. Some popular brands are BD, CarePoint, UltiCare. Just Google "U40 syringes 0.3cc half unit markings".

When you do switch to U40, please please double check with us here just to confirm you're drawing up the dose correctly. Just don't want you accidentally giving 2.5 times as much insulin as he needs.

And remember - your new dose is 0.6U (so 1.5U line on your syringes). Stick with that dose until he earns a reduction by dropping below 90; if you get a lower than usual preshot or a preshot below 200 post here and ask for help.
 
What is the right syringes I should order?
Melissa I listed the correct syringes for you above in my post #73
Look to the right of each post and you will see what I told you yo order
Do you see them?
A favor when you see someone HSS replied back to you can you tap the word like that is next to the post numbers so we know that you read it
@Melisrock
 
Skipping Beaus PM shot tonight. His pmps was 126. Hope I’m doing the right thing based off what I’m reading.
 
I think that's wise. I would reduce down to 0.4U.

How was he diagnosed? Was he on steroids at any point? By chance some sort.of infection at diagnosis?
 
I think that's wise. I would reduce down to 0.4U.

How was he diagnosed? Was he on steroids at any point? By chance some sort.of infection at diagnosis?[/QUOTE
The vet took blood, called me few days later said his glucose was 400 and DX him. In the past, he did receive steroid shots twice a year for an allergy. I initially took him to the vet because I thought he had an ear infection, he was running a fever and acting lethargic.
 
Did they determine the cause of the fever? When was his last steroid shot?

I'm asking because this looks like a possible misdiagnosis or steroid-induced diabetes
 
They did not say a cause for the fever.His last steroid shot was October of 2021. I did read that BG could spike under stress or when they are sick. He does not like the vet it’s a super stressful experience for him. I also noticed the past few days I noticed he’s not seeing well, Is that a side effect of insulin?
 
I guess it's possible he's been slowly becoming more diabetic since those shots, but that's a bigger time gap than I'd expect.

400 is definitely higher than just stressed but infections can absolutely send them that high.

I see today's AMPS. Next time you get a preshot above 120 and can monitor and have hypo kit, let's try 0.2U (the 0.5U line on your syringes). He still needs slight insulin support to fully heal, ideally all numbers 50-100 before stopping completely. But that can be a little difficult with ProZinc, safety first as always.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top