Introduction and question

Status
Not open for further replies.

ksmms

Member Since 2013
Greetings all. My question as a newbie is ask about a possible relationship between our cat having had a tumorous spleen and splenectomy and now a diagnosis of diabetes. Our large 18 lb Maine Coon X, male, 13 yrs old, experienced a sudden and severe weight loss (down to 9 lbs.) this fall. He was diagnosed on Oct 3 with a cavitated irregular mass in his spleen and had surgery shortly after. His post-op went very well. He gained some weight with SD a/d. However, by mid November he was losing weight again and drinking water and peeing excessively. He was diagnosed with diabetes, first starting with 1 unit of Lantus daily, now increased to 2 units daily. I haven't done any testing myself yet. His levels went from the 500's to 220 and then his thirst and peeing increased again and that's when the vet increased his Lantus to 2 units daily. Tony goes back this Thursday for testing. They want him all day, no food, no insulin before I bring him in early in the morning. He's been on SD w/d and did very well until we ran out. I bought him some FF classics yesterday to tie him over until Monday when I can get some more w/d from the vet. Now Tony has diarrhea :sad: . I know treating diabetes can feel like being on a roller-coaster, but I wonder how much of this (the diabetes) is attributable to his original dx of spleen tumor and surgery. Even though the pre- and post- op testing and blood work all show signs of an otherwise healthy cat, I can't help but worry that there is some kind of relationship. It's really upsetting to me and to my Tony.
 
I really don't know whether there is a relationship between Tony's spleen being removed and diabetes. One thing I do know is that not having a spleen means you are subject to infections. And infections can raise blood glucose levels. Is there any possibility that Tony has some kind of recurring infection?
 
If he had an infection of some kind wouldn't that show up in his blood work? Like a high white cell count? I just wonder if his cancer has spread to his pancreas and that's what's giving him diabetic symptoms. More questions to ask the vet this week!
 
ksmms said:
If he had an infection of some kind wouldn't that show up in his blood work? Like a high white cell count? I just wonder if his cancer has spread to his pancreas and that's what's giving him diabetic symptoms. More questions to ask the vet this week!

Pancreatic cancer is always a possibility but I had another thought as well. Was he treated with any steroids after the surgery?
 
I also thought of steroids first thing as a possible cause and wanted to ask how he was diagnosed... was a fructosamine test done by the vet?

For the testing, I think I would say for you to get a meter and test at home, so you can rule out stress.
A curve at a vet or at home does not need to be done without food or insulin; what purpose would that serve? As it is, even with getting normal am shot and fed his usual food, stress from being at the vet will come into play.
You can pick up an economical Relion meter, some strips and lancets for the lancet device, and test at home, saving your time and stress.

Dental problems and other health issues can cause higher BG numbers.
I was wondering about the spleen being removed and how he's been doing - does he need to take any meds because of the increased chance of infection? What about the liver - doesn't it take over some of the work from the spleen?

Gayle
 
Hello to Tony and his caregiver and welcome to the message board. What is your name?

The Hill's prescription diet W/d food is very high in carbs (~37% dry, ~25% wet). Wink was on that high carb food on the recommendation of the vet and the shelter. Once I started to foster him, I cut back slowly on the W/D dry food and switched him to Fancy Feast classic pates and Friskies pate style foods. He did much better on those lower carb foods, and went OTJ in less than 2 months. Both these foods are <10% carbs and very good for a diabetic cat.

Try a slower food change, like 7/8 old food, 1/8 new food, then decrease old food slowly and increase new food until you are completely changed over. Less stomach upset and diarrhea that way.

You could also add a bit of plain canned pumpkin to the wet food, about 1 tablespoon to start. Many people have found this to "firm up" the stools and alleviate the diarrhea.

We highly recommend home testing, especially if you are giving insulin and make a switch to a lower carb food. This switch can dramatically drop the BG ( blood glucose), 100 points or more, and we want to make sure your kitty is safe and does not have a hypoglycemic episode.
 
Tony was on steroids post-op. His vomiting and diarrhea have stopped now that he's back on SD m/d. He seems to do very well on it. And compared to FL classic it doesn't stink as bad. His water intake isn't nearly as drastic as it was and he's eating like a horse. I have no idea which test our vet used to make the diagnosis. Another question to ask. Vet is open to all questions and ideas. We have a good relationship.
 
My name is Meg btw. I've been fully versed on all the signs to watch for. Our vet is very cautious. I talk to him every few days.
 
ksmms said:
Tony was on steroids post-op. His vomiting and diarrhea have stopped now that he's back on SD m/d. He seems to do very well on it. And compared to FL classic it doesn't stink as bad. His water intake isn't nearly as drastic as it was and he's eating like a horse. I have no idea which test our vet used to make the diagnosis. Another question to ask. Vet is open to all questions and ideas. We have a good relationship.
Steroids could very well be part of the problem. Is Tony still on them? If Tony needs them to treat his other health problems, you will need to compensate with insulin. And the best way to know what is going on is home testing. Please give it a try.
 
Update on Tony Soprano. His diarrhea did not improve while on prescription w/d and he was still drinking water voraciously. His vet increased his Lantus dose to 2 units 1x daily. After reading more about canned foods, I switched Tony to Friskies pate (turkey or poultry) and he immediately improved. His diarrhea cleared up right away. His appetite improved and he's finally gaining weight after having lost so much prior to his surgery. He looks great, and is acting like his old self, back in the swing of things. He goes to the vet tomorrow for his first curve testing, and I'll ask him to show me how to home test. He had already suggested I learn that after I became comfortable with the injections. So happy to have found this forum and learning more about feline nutrition.
 
With the switch from the high carb Hill's W/d to the low carb Friskies, Tony should get much lower BG numbers. That is what happened for Wink when I switched him. Once I switched Wink completely over, he no longer had those constant bouts of diarrhea either. The canned food was better fro his digestive system.

The one time that Wink did get diarrhea, I gave him a tablespoon of plain pumpkin mixed into his food. Cleared the diarrhea up in half a day.

Keeping our fingers crossed for a good curve at the vet tomorrow.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top