Introduction and Mild Success

Status
Not open for further replies.

Violet&Pippin

Member Since 2022
Hi everyone! I'm Violet, my cat's name is Pippin (7 y/o male tabby). My partner and I adopted Pippin in July of 2022, so I've been reading through this forum since then. I've posted once before but never actually introduced myself, thank you to everyone who helped with my question and anxieties even though I hadn't even set up my signature yet!

Pippin is so happy here, and we're happy to have him! Now for the success: we've just started home testing, and after several attempts, we actually got his first reading today! So exciting, he did so well. I know there's a page on home testing already, but if anyone has any extra tips or tricks besides what's on there, they'd be appreciated. The warm water pill bottle is great!
 
Welcome. Have you taken another BG since the 201 you got before the shot this morning. I am asking since giving 5 units of Lantus with a preshot of 201 with no history of BG listed in your SS might results in BG going low between shots.
 
I was just about to in a little bit here. He's been on 5u twice a day since we adopted him, but he's never been tested regularly (both vet and shelter said it wasn't necessary, however this forum has convinced me otherwise). I'll see if I can test him now and update since it's been a little bit since he had his insulin.
 
Ah, no real success there, evidently the ear pricks weren't willing to give up any blood (and my cat wasn't willing to give up a fight). I think I might try picking him later, this time using the foot.
 
I see you got a 102 tonight, and still gave 5 units. Please leave lots of food out for him tonight and monitor him closely. As Larry said, I think there's a good chance he's going lower between the shots. We suggest to people who are new here, to not shoot if below 200. Eventually, when you are more comfortable testing and have the data to do so, you can lower than no shoot number.
 
I see you got a 102 tonight, and still gave 5 units. Please leave lots of food out for him tonight and monitor him closely. As Larry said, I think there's a good chance he's going lower between the shots. We suggest to people who are new here, to not shoot if below 200. Eventually, when you are more comfortable testing and have the data to do so, you can lower than no shoot number.

Thank you so much, I appreciate this advice. We kept an eye on him and checked him through the night. I'm going to try and test him again at +6AMPS today, but the testing has not been going easy (turns out I need better lancets, which are ordered and arriving tomorrow). Depending on what I see then, I might decrease the dose by 0.25....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top