Introduction and CGM questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cal & Candy

Member Since 2024
Candy is our 13-ish year old female. We've had her about a year and a half. She currently has stage-2 kidney disease, a hyper-active thyroid, diabetes and acromegaly. This is our introduction.

41649.jpg


Since Candy has multiple health issues, I thought it might be useful to give a summary of her medical history. I apologize in advance for the length; feel free to skip over it. I have several questions at the bottom about continuous glucose monitor (CGM) placement and retention; please look those over if you know about CGMs.

Medical History

We adopted Candy at the end of February, 2023. She had not been getting regular vet care when we adopted her, and her previous owner couldn't remember when her last visit to the vet was. At that time she appeared healthy, weighed 9.3 pounds and appeared to be slightly heavy for her size. She had been fed only dry food for her entire life.

Our first vet visit revealed that she had a urinary tract infection (UTI). We went through several courses of antibiotics to treat the UTI. It would clear up, then pop back up a month or so later.

By mid-July, she had lost over a pound of weight. She stopped eating, became lethargic and began vomiting so we took her into the emergency vet. They found that she was dehydrated, constipated and appeared to have kidney disease. An X-ray showed that she had only one kidney, pprobably from birth.

In August, she was diagnosed with chronic kidney disease, IRIS stage 2. We switched to a renal support diet.

By mid October, her weight was down to 7.5 pounds. We started giving her 1/8 tablet (by weight, about 1.9mg) mirtazipine (MIR) every 48 hours (QOD). We continued the MIR for one month; I don't recall exactly why it was discontinued, probably because of the way it was affecting her.

Her annual exam in February, 2024 revealed another UTI and that she had a hyper-active thyroid. We began giving her methimazole twice daily (bid) for hyperthyroidism. Her weight was still around 7.5 pounds. A course of amoxicillin clavulanate failed to clear up the UTI. A follow-up course of ciprofloxacin HCl seems to have finally cleared up her UTIs.

For several months her weight stayed between 7.5 and 7.7 pounds. She was drinking 3-5oz of water and eating 0.3-0.8oz dry and 0.6-0.9oz canned food. In early July, her weight dropped to 7.5 pounds and she was drinking and eating less than normal. I gave her a single 1/8 tablet dose of MIR and we started coating her dry food with Hartz Delectables Bisque. Her appetite rallied and she was suddenly consuming 8-10oz of water, 1.0-1.8oz dry and about 1oz of canned food. What's remarkable here is that this seems to be the point where she developed diabetes. We took her to the vet a week later and testing showed that she had diabetes.

The vet prescribed 1.0U Lantose glargine insulin (INS) bid and told us to come in for a fructosamine check in 3 weeks; we switched to a diabetic diet (Hill’s M/D). Our friends had recently lost a kitty to diabetes (beautiful, timid Timmie), so we did some research and decided that we needed to do home blood glucose (BG) testing. (The vet had NOT suggested this....)
Timmy (GA).jpg

We picked up a Contour Next tester, etc., and did our first curve a week after starting INS. Candy's BG tested 272 (mg/dl) at 1200 (24-hour time), dropped to 173 at 1800 and topped out at 347 at 2400. (All BG testing done from rear paw pads.) Based on that curve, the vet had us increase INS to 1.5 bid. Checks 24 hours later read: 316 at 1200, 283 at 1600, 273 at 1800. Being new to this, I figured we were OK. Six days after the increased dose we did another curve. This time she started at 147 at 1200, dropped to 49 at 1600 and came back up to 181 at 2000. As soon as we got the 49 reading (followed with a second test of 47 a few minutes later) we called the vet and she had us change the INS to 1.5U at 1200, 1.0U at 2400.

I continued to do BG tests at 1200, 1600 and 1800 for several days, then dropped the 1800 test. The lowest four-hour reading was a low of 284 at 1200 dropping to 223; the highest reading was 479 at 1200 dropping to 388. The 4-hour drop was fairly consistent, ranging from 40 to 70 mg/dl, mostly starting between 300 and 420 at 1200. Three weeks after changing the INS dose we went in for a fructosamine test and I showed the vet my BG data. She began to suspect acromegaly and ordered aldosterone and insulin-like growth factor tests.

On 9/4, the vet called with a diagnosis of acromegaly, increased INS to 2.0U bid, and we started giving MIR QOD. Testing at 1200, 1600 and 2400 didn't seem to show much improvement. BG ranged from 410 to 280, occasionally going higher.

On 9/11, we were concerned about Candy's breathing when resting and took her to the vet. I showed the vet my latest BG numbers and she increased INS to 2.5U bid. We reduced the MIR to 1.0mg QOD. (I grind up the MIR tablet, discard the flakes of enteric coating and weigh out the dose using a 1mg scale.) The increased INS was finally able to intermittently bring BG into the normal range. The lower dose of MIR still stimulated her appetite but without making her hyperactive.

Over the next several days, I began to notice that on MIR days, Candy’s BG spent more time in the normal range. On 9/21, I accidentally gave her MIR after only 24 hours and she spent most of the time in range.

On 9/25, Candy’s 1200 GB was 55. I called the vet and she told me to only give 2.5U INS if BG over 100, 1.0U if under 100 and to hold INS if under 60. She recommended we install a CGM (which took several days to set up). We also went to daily doses of 1.0mg MIR, given at 1200.

The daily MIR seemed to make a huge difference. Over the next week Candy’s BG typically ranged between 70 and 120, with occasional extremes of 58 to 158. I typically dosed 2.5U @1200 and 1.0U at 2400.

On 10/3, we went in for a tech appointment to place an Abbot Freestyle Libre 3 plus CGM. The vet was too busy to talk to us or look at my BG data; supposedly she would look it over later and call…. We were told to give 2.5U INS bid. Against my better judgment, I gave 2.5U at 0035 that night. An hour later the Libre gave a low glucose alarm with a BG of 55. I did a paw stick ten minutes later and got BG of 62 (CGM reading 64). Candy showed no clinical signs of hypoglycemia (hypo). I stayed up with her all night. She spent most of the next 3 hours in the hypo range and was in and out of it for about 12 hours. I skipped the 1200 INS dose and we finally got her back under control 18 hours after the 2.5U dose.

The vet told us to drop the INS dose to 2.0U bid, but I ignored that and gave alternating doses of 1.0 and 1.5U, depending on the Libre data, for the lifetime of the sensor (8 days). On day 8, I walked away for 10 minutes and returned to find Candy in her bed and the sensor on the floor. Prior to that, she hadn’t seemed to pay attention to it and it appeared to be securely adhered. I’ve attached Candy’s LibreView Weekly Summary and Glucose Profile charts for anyone who’s interested.

Since losing the sensor, I’ve been doing paw prick BG tests at 1200 & 2400. BG readings have mostly been 106 and 142, with one outlier of 187. I’m giving alternating doses of 1.0 and 1.5U INS.

Once we resumed MIR a month ago, Candy’s weight began to improve. Daily 1.0mg doses worked better than QOD. She’s now up to about 9.4 pounds, slightly more than when we adopted her.​

CGM Questions:

· PLACEMENT: What are good CGM locations? Candy’s first (and only) CGM was placed on her right side, about over her front paw when standing and about 2 inches from the spine. That puts it right over the “crease” at the base of her neck when she’s on her side, with her head up; it seems like it needs to go farther back. How close to the spine can it go? How often can a location be reused?

· ADHESIVE: What supplemental adhesives are people using for CGMs?

· ADHESIVE REMOVER: What do you use to remove the sensor and/or residual adhesive?

· OVER-BANDAGE: What are people’s experiences with over-bandages, to keep the kitty from tearing off the sensor?

· PROTECTIVE VEST: Has anyone found a good vest to protect a CGM? Searches so far turn up “Thunder Vests” (too heavy), “recovery suits” that go over all four legs (too long), and assorted costumes. I’m looking for a light-weight vest-type garment with a Velcro (preferred) or zipper closure in the back that can be worn for extended periods,

Thanks!

Cal
 

Attachments

  • Timmy (GA).jpg
    Timmy (GA).jpg
    59.7 KB · Views: 87
  • Candy LibreView Weekly Summary 10-05--10-11-2024.png
    Candy LibreView Weekly Summary 10-05--10-11-2024.png
    202.6 KB · Views: 92
  • Candy LibreView Ambulatory Glucose Profile 10-03--10-11-2024.png
    Candy LibreView Ambulatory Glucose Profile 10-03--10-11-2024.png
    52.5 KB · Views: 189
Hello and welcome. You are dealing with a lot in Candy! I have a bunch of questions, but will start with some intro stuff and provide some answers to the CGM stuff.

First, a post we suggest that all new people read:
New? How You Can Help Us Help You!

CGM stuff - apparently there is a FB group for pets and the Freestyle Libre that can help you learn how to place and remove the device yourself. In the meantime, this older post has some video and information you may find helpful:
FreeStyle Libre: video, demonstration, explanations, tips – discussion!
Keep reading past the original post for ideas/pictures on how to keep it in place. We have a few members that use the Libre all the time, but you do have to periodically double check with the hand held meter, especially those low numbers. As you have done.

Back to the other stuff. First, at stage 2 kidney disease, you don't need to feed "special" renal support food. They are generally a lot higher carb than are good for diabetics. This link shows a list that contains foods that are both diabetes and CKD friendly. The high carb foods can make a huge difference in the amount of insulin needed. So any switch should be done slowly and with lots of blood glucose (BG) monitoring. M/D is also high in carbs and not great for diabetics. Ideally you'd feed an all wet food or raw diet of under 10% carbs, such as those listed on the food list I linked.

Speaking of which, most of us test BG on the ears. Any particular reason you are using the paw pads instead?

Mirtazapine - you might want a product called Mirataz instead of the pills. Mirataz is a cream you rub in the ear, and has a lot less side effects than the pills.

Has her thyroid been tested lately to make sure her hyperT is now under control? Having uncontrolled hyperthyroidism can make it harder to control the diabetes and getting it under control can help.

And lastly, what was her IGF-1 number? Curious as I had an acro kitty too. Having acromegaly is not a reason to increase the dose. Rather, we determine how to dose to cat based on how low that dose is taking the cat. With our Lantus dosing methods used here, we shoot the same dose in the AM and the PM.
 
Just wondering what the test result value was for the IGF-1 (acromegaly) test. I ask since the insulin dose you are giving is low for the BGs you are getting. M acromegallu catw MurrFee was p to 50 twice a day. Also, usually, acromjegally cats are big. My las one SNuffles was 17 lbs. Further what led the vet to order the IGF-1 test?
 
Not all acrocats are large, we've seen some smaller ones here too. My girl was 14 lbs, but also had Maine Coon in her. We've had members with cats in the 10-11 lb range. We've also seen a wide range in doses. In untreated cats from less than 4 units up to 80+ units. Neko never got above 8.75 units.
 
Hello and welcome. You are dealing with a lot in Candy! I have a bunch of questions, but will start with some intro stuff and provide some answers to the CGM stuff.

First, a post we suggest that all new people read:
New? How You Can Help Us Help You!

CGM stuff - apparently there is a FB group for pets and the Freestyle Libre that can help you learn how to place and remove the device yourself. In the meantime, this older post has some video and information you may find helpful:
FreeStyle Libre: video, demonstration, explanations, tips – discussion!
Keep reading past the original post for ideas/pictures on how to keep it in place. We have a few members that use the Libre all the time, but you do have to periodically double check with the hand held meter, especially those low numbers. As you have done.

Back to the other stuff. First, at stage 2 kidney disease, you don't need to feed "special" renal support food. They are generally a lot higher carb than are good for diabetics. This link shows a list that contains foods that are both diabetes and CKD friendly. The high carb foods can make a huge difference in the amount of insulin needed. So any switch should be done slowly and with lots of blood glucose (BG) monitoring. M/D is also high in carbs and not great for diabetics. Ideally you'd feed an all wet food or raw diet of under 10% carbs, such as those listed on the food list I linked.

Speaking of which, most of us test BG on the ears. Any particular reason you are using the paw pads instead?

Mirtazapine - you might want a product called Mirataz instead of the pills. Mirataz is a cream you rub in the ear, and has a lot less side effects than the pills.

Has her thyroid been tested lately to make sure her hyperT is now under control? Having uncontrolled hyperthyroidism can make it harder to control the diabetes and getting it under control can help.

And lastly, what was her IGF-1 number? Curious as I had an acro kitty too. Having acromegaly is not a reason to increase the dose. Rather, we determine how to dose to cat based on how low that dose is taking the cat. With our Lantus dosing methods used here, we shoot the same dose in the AM and the PM.

Thanks for the prompt, helpful reply!

Thanks for the diet and CGM links. I haven't had a chance to do much more than glance at them. But, I'm not a fan of FB; Hopefully there are some CGM users here that can help out.

We tried BG testing on the ears and it was a train wreck. It took 6 or 8 sticks to get enough for a sample and we wasted a bunch of test strips. I'm sure that inexperience is part of it. A major problem is that Candy's ears are black and it's impossible to visualize the location of the vein without putting a flashlight behind it. The only thing that I had on hand (link) was too big and cumbersome. Maybe someone can suggest a good backlight: I'm thinking of something like the LED version of a chemical glow stick, that's small enough to back up the ear for lancing and able to illuminate the vein. Another issues is just poor eyesight.

We've tried the trans-dermal versions of both her mirtzapine an methimazole. The mess and the cost are just not worth it. I can load both doses in a single #4 capsule and pop it into her mouth (using a pill shooter) with zero drama for all involved. (But it does take a little more time on my end.) Also, I think I'm getting much more consistent dosing than by guessing at how long a strip of the gel I've applied.

Candy's hyperT is under control. I don't know the IGF-1 number, aside from the vet being OK with whatever it was. I'll try to remember to ask the vet's office on Monday.

As to using the same INS dose AM and PM: I've been letting the BG levels guide me on what dose to give. The last several days I've been giving 1.0U probably about 70% of the time. I know from the CGM data that back-to-back doses of 1.5U will drive her way too low and multiple doses of 1.0U tend wind up with her heading up towards BG 200. It does look like she's needing less and less INS to stay in range. Maybe when we get the new CGM online I can see if 1.0U bid will be OK.

Is there a sticky or FAQ that lists abbreviations that are in use here?
 
Last edited:
Just wondering what the test result value was for the IGF-1 (acromegaly) test. I ask since the insulin dose you are giving is low for the BGs you are getting. M acromegallu catw MurrFee was p to 50 twice a day. Also, usually, acromjegally cats are big. My las one SNuffles was 17 lbs. Further what led the vet to order the IGF-1 test?
I thought that the aldosterone test was the one linked to acromegly and the insulin-like growth factor (IGF) tests was something else? Both tests were run and the vet concluded that Candy has acromegly. I'll try to get the test results and report back. The reason that the tests were done is that we couldn't get her BG under control. 1200 BG tests were from 280 to 480 and varied radically day to day. But somehow daily doses of mirtazapine have calmed things down and she's now in control. I have NO IDEA what's going on or why. Whatever her condition is--acromegly or something else--it's late onset.
 
IGF-1 (insulin growth factor-1) is the one that tests for acromegaly. Diabetes is usually a later stage symptom of acromegaly. We have one current member who told us about a test group in the UK that contains a number of acrocats who are not yet diabetic.

Aldosterone test is for testing for Conn's disease. It's a disease of the adrenal glands. Acromegaly is caused by a benign pituitary tumour that sends out excess growth hormone.

A major problem is that Candy's ears are black and it's impossible to visualize the location of the vein without putting a flashlight behind it.
If you look at the picture of my girl, she had very black eats, and so did the two non diabetics of mine I have tested. I got a cheap small pen flashlight with a flat top, and put a piece of gauze on top of it, and under the ear. On the top of the fur I put a very tiny smear of vaseline where I was going to poke. Blood totally disappears into black fur, the vaseline helped it bead up.

Here's a couple posts with acronyms/abbreviations:
FDMB Glossary and The Official Lantus, Levemir & Biosimilars Slang Dictionary
 
1200 BG tests were from 280 to 480 and varied radically day to day.
I say this is a more indicative of insulin resistance caused by insulin autoantibodies. Michigan State University (MSU) is the only place in the USA that the IGF-1 test and they also do the Insulin AutoAntibody test (IAA). Idex has both tests listed in their test catalogue but they just send the sample to MSU for testing. The symptom of acromegaly is that a high dose, like greater than 5 units, is required to get BG down.
 
Cal -
If you pursue home testing, you actually don't want to poke the vein. If you do, there's a good chance that if Candy shakes her head, it will look like a scene out of a homicide! You want to poke along the outer edge of the ear near the vein. It also takes more than a few days for the capillary bed along the outer edge of the ear to build up. The more you poke, the more capillaries form and the entire process becomes much easier. Also, make sure you're not using too thin of a lancet. At the beginning of learning to home test, you want a lancet that is a 28 gauge or less (lower numbers are wider). Once it becomes easier to test, you can move to a thinner lancet (e.g., 30 gauge) which will be less annoying for Candy.

You said,
As to using the same INS dose AM and PM: I've been letting the BG levels guide me on what dose to give.
Lantus is an insulin that likes consistency. It forms a depot which needs a relatively steady state for the insulin to work best. The two dosing methods we use recommend that you don't change the dose in less than 3 day (or up to a week) unless a dose reduction is indicated. If you make frequent changes in the dose, you end up with wonky numbers. This may be part of what is confusing. Many of the other insulins allow you to make more frequent changes because they are not a depot type of insulin. The virtue of Lantus is that the depot gives it a gentle action and long duration.
 
Last edited:
Just wondering what the test result value was for the IGF-1 (acromegaly) test. I ask since the insulin dose you are giving is low for the BGs you are getting. ...
Here are some test results:
  • Insulin-Like Growth Factor 1: >1,200 ng/mL* (9/4/24)
  • Aldosterone: 33 pmol/L* (8/30/24)
  • Fructosasmine:
    549 umol/L (8/6/24)
    483 umol/L (8/21/24)
    469 umol/L (9/12/24)
    343 umol/L (10/3/24)
  • Urinalysis (7/12, 8/21, 9/12):
    Specific Gravity: 1.031, 1.024, 1.020
    pH: 6.5, 6.5, 6.0
    Glucose: 1,000 mg/dL
    Keytones: neg
    other results, neg or norm
* test performed at Michigan State University

I'll try to get a spreadsheet set up and populated.
 
The IGF-1 is definitely in the range considered positive for acromegaly. Anything over 916 is. I don't know enough about Conn's (hyperaldosteronism) to comment on what that number means. How are Candy's potassium levels? Tagging @SmallestSparrow who does have experience with Conn's but in combination with Cushings, not acromegaly.

What has the vet mentioned in terms of treatments for Candy?

Her fructosamine seems to be trending in a good direction.
 
I tried to upload an image with the full comments from the Aldsterone results but got an error message when I clicked the [Upload a file] button:
"You do not have permission to view this page or perform this action."
What the heck? I'm signed in. I was able to upload a PNG file before.
 
I’m no expert by far but can read “pathologist” :) candy’s aldosterone is low from what I can see, not elevated as expected in Conn’s. One suggestion by the lab is hyporenemic hypoaldosteronism (meaning low aldosterone due to poor kidney function). Renin is important in helping the kidneys maintain blood pressure and appropriate electrolyte balance. In the species i treat (man) this is seen in patients with underlying kidney problems (polycystic kidneys, chronic kidney infections, scarring, diabetes etc) so perhaps ask the vet (I am NOT a vet) if Candy’s kidney issues are part of her aldosterone picture.
That said, the pathologist also offers an idea that sometimes adrenal tumors can secrete hormones similar to aldosterone that can cause symptoms of hyperadosteronism but have low levels of aldosterone. Adrenal tumors are seen with ultrasound.
Edit: adrenal tumors can also secrete excess cortisol which can lead to diabetes. However: it appears Candy already has a reason for diabetes (acromegaly, right? I didn’t see that test but I haven’t had my coffee yet) so I doubt there’s a reason to go looking for another cause i.e. adrenal tumor)…unless the vet sees a reason for ultrasound to better explore what’s going on with her kidney

too much aldosterone causes elevated blood pressure and low potassium. Too little aldosterone has the opposite effect. Of course kidney disease itself alters potassium levels so deciding what all of these tests mean will take some effort. And to add to the mix, insulin can lower potassium. The way aldosterone impact diabetes is aldosterone increases insulin resistance so too much predisposes to diabetes.

what is Candy’s potassium (K) levels?
 
Last edited:
I am NO expert but wanted to share my experiences.
My cat, Bella, has been a diabetic for more than 4 years. I initially was trying to use the Libre, but gave up.
Now I do ear pricks every morning and night to test her. She free feeds which is not good, but at 16 years of age, she gets to do what she wants. I am on Lantus. I got some weird numbers on the generic and Lantus is affordable at Costco.

I used to have an Alphattack tester but switched to Pettest since the strips were more affordable.

Bella was on renal food for 2 years due to CKD. Someone suggested switch to Hill 7+ chix pate and it has made a HUGE difference in her body. She went from 7.2# to 8.9# in just a few months!

Her glucose numbers are sometimes crazy but I give .75u in the AM and 1.0u PM.
It took a long time to watch and track eating. Avoid free feeding and get a consistent dose planned. It’s hard, but stay with it as long as possible - unless it is always low. Then reduce your insulin.

Good luck.
 
How is Candy doing since your last post here?

None of our dosing methods here suggest giving different doses AM and PM, especially not with the depot style insulins like Lantus. @DianefromDallaa it is possible your kitty is going lower at night, hence you are seeing lower numbers in the morning. Getting tests later at night will tell you if that is happening.

We have several kitties here who are grazers, that's fine.
 
I give different doses only because my testing shows her glucose is consistently high in the morning and consistently low in the evening. I will give nightly dose around 11pm and she’s already very high by 9am. Bella tends to eat more at night and I thought that was the driver.

This weeks has been different though. She’s on Clavamox for a kidney infection and her appetite is way down so I really have to test and watch my dosing otherwise she drops into the 50’s.
 
Hi Diane,
When was her T4 last tested? If it was before the UTIs cleared, it should be tested again, because infections drive T4 levels down. Once the infection is cleared, the T4 rises back.

It is important to test T4 each time because the adenoma on the thyroid that secretes the excess T4 keeps growing, and the T4 levels that are secreted keep raising. So, maybe 1 year ago you had found the right dose, then the UTI cleared, the adenoma kept growing, and her T4 serum levels went above what was found then. This hugely impacts not only her kidneys’ health but also heart and blood glucose.

Has her BP been checked?

Do you know the group.io groups from Tanya’s website? http://felinecrf.org/ With a page specifically aimed at feline DM: http://felinecrf.org/diabetes.htm and a page aimed at Hyperthyroidism: http://felinecrf.org/hyperthyroidism.htm

About the groups, they fonction like this one. There is one for CKD: https://tanyackd.groups.io/g/support
And one for hyperthyroidism: https://groups.io/g/FelineThyroidManagement

Both these groups saved my big boy Feloro’s life!
 
Guys, thanks for your thoughts and @Wendy&Neko for following up. Candy has been pretty stable and I got pulled off in a dozen other directions, so forgot to get back here. I've been meaning to post the potassium (K) levels and set up a spreadsheet. Since the comments by @Sienne and Gabby (GA) and others, I've stopped varying Candy's insulin. Now giving 1.0U Lantus bid. She's been at that dose for about 1 month.

Her weight has climbed up a bit, so I put her on a feeding schedule. Now feeding 36g (about 1.2oz) of Hills M/D dry per day. I put out 9g every 6 hours and let her graze on that. She doesn't seem to be too unhappy with that, even when her bowl is empty for several hours. Her BG levels (using Contour Next) range from 80 to 150 with one outlier day (11/4) where she was between 186 (AM) to 200 (PM). Her fructosamine level history is:
  • Fructosasmine:
    549 umol/L (8/6/24)
    483 umol/L (8/21/24)
    469 umol/L (9/12/24)
    343 umol/L (10/3/24)
    345 umol/L (11/4/24)
Based on the most recent fructosamine tests, the vet told us we could discontinue daily BG testing and go to twice weekly. Thoughts?

We applied another Libre FS 3+ CGM on 10/28 and she managed to rip it out within 12 hours. This time she tore the sensor loose from the fabric backing ring. Oh well...

@SmallestSparrow, Candy's K level have been between 3.8 and 4.7 mmol/L (reference range 3.7 - 5.2), so apparently in the normal range. Her most recent value (11/4) is 3.8, it was above 4.3 prior to that. Most recent T4 level is 1.0 on 7/17; was 6.3 on 3/1 when she was diagnosed with a hyperactive thyroid. I'm attaching ILGF results and a better copy of the aldostreone test results in case that helps with your impression of what's going on. We just had Candy into the vet and I forgot to ask if her kidney issues are part of her aldosterone picture, but frankly, our vet doesn't seem very dialed in on this. Oh, and Candy has yet another UTI. We're in the middle of a 10 day course of VeraFlox.
 

Attachments

The M/D dry is higher in carbs that is appropriate for a diabetic cat. Any particular reason you are giving M/D? The weight gain could be due to the acromegaly, which causes excess growth hormone to be output.

Based on the most recent fructosamine tests, the vet told us we could discontinue daily BG testing and go to twice weekly. Thoughts?
Fructosamine gives you an average. She could be going to low, followed by going high, and that would average out to the same as a nice steady BG. You don't want her to go low and the only way to discover if she is going low is to test more regularly.

Has the vet discussed any options for treating the acromegaly? There are a couple available options out there.
 
We're feeding M/D because that's what the vet recommended. (Again, not impressed with this vet's apparent grasp of diabetes treatment.) We do need to take the time to look for a better food choice. She's not a fan of poultry-based food and will pretty much only eat dry food. Does Chewy's carry anything that you like better?

I understand about the fructosamine test. During the time she had her first CGM on her BG levels were pretty consistent:
candy-libreview-ambulatory-glucose-profile-10-03-10-11-2024-png.71213

Daily testing (1200 & 2400) since has been in line with the CGM data. I'm currently planning to do 3 BG tests (1200, 1800 & 2400) twice a week to monitor things.

Her initial BG levels were all over the place until I started giving her mirtazapine every day, then boom, they settled down and she's been in control ever since. I'm wondering if the ILGF-1 test is a false positive. There was no reason to suspect acromegly until she was diagnosed with diabetes and we were getting wildly varying BG values.
 
Most recent T4 level is 1.0 on 7/17; was 6.3 on 3/1 when she was diagnosed with a hyperactive thyroid.
Ok, for kidney cats the ideal T4 range is between
25 - 40 nmol/L or 2 - 3 mcg/dl. Wait for the UTI to clear up before retesting.
Oh, and onTanya’s group and website, they advocate for ckd kitties to go through a 4weeks A/B course…something to consider maybe, if the uti keeps coming back.
 
I'm wondering if the ILGF-1 test is a false positive. There was no reason to suspect acromegly until she was diagnosed with diabetes and we were getting wildly varying BG values.
Not likely false positive on the IGF-1. Especially not if over 1200. I have heard of false negatives. I've seen a paper that says only 35% of acros have clinical signs at diagnosis. Other than Neko's ravenous hunger, she had no obvious physical signs.

A couple non poultry options for dry food that is somewhat lower carb. First, there is air dried food from Ziwipeak with options such as lamb, venison beef. Dr. Elsey's Clean Protein has a couple non poultry options, salmon and pork. I couldn't find the pork on Chewy's, but the rest are. Some people have success feeding freeze dried raw as an alternative to dried kibble, and it comes in many variations of kibble. Should you introduce a lower carb option, do it very slowly and monitor her BG closely as moving to lower carb can make a big difference in insulin dose needed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top