Marie.and.Zuko
Member Since 2023
Hello everyone. I’m feeling pretty frustrated and not sure what else to do. This is a long post.
First, introductions: I’m Marie, and my sugar kitty Zuko is approx. 7 years old. My husband and I rescued him at age four, and he underwent surgery from what we assume is a cat fight, giving him a scar above his eye… so we named him after the ATLA character lol.
He was diagnosed diabetic April of 2022. He is prescribed Lantus, and since diagnosis he has increased his dosage over time and is now at 3 1/2 units, twice daily. We first gave him prescription dry food, but currently give him prescription wet food: Purina Pro Plan DM. (I plan to get him on something more affordable soon, life has just been crazy lately and we haven’t had the availability to try new foods).
NOW on to today.
My normal routine with my boy is he yells in my face in the morning until I get up and feed him at 11am. I give him his insulin as he eats. When he was first diagnosed I tried to do it after and that just didn’t work out, so we do it this way and it’s never been an issue. Well today he only took a few bites, and after I administered his insulin he decided he didn’t want anymore food. 30 minutes later he threw up a hairball and the little he did eat. He used the litter box (poop and pee). Then an hour later threw up clear frothy liquid (stomach fluid I’m pretty sure). At this point I called the vet, and they took him in 2 hours after that. I told them my concern was his throwing up and that he had recieved his insulin dose but won’t eat & could go hypo. During this time I tried to get him to eat again and also tried to get him to lick some honey, but had no luck. I was panicking.
The vet did blood work and said it looked good. They took his BG four times from 2:30-530 and numbers were 129, 112, 120, then 144. They gave him fluids, but couldn’t get him to produce urine to test it. They gave him anti-nausea medicine and now we are back home, with instructions to collect a urine sample and come back in the morning.
Baby boy still won’t touch any food and I’m not sure what else to do. I’m sure he’s hungry from not eating all day! but he isn’t going near it.
If you read this far, thank you. Even if you don’t have any advice thank you for reading my frustrations!
First, introductions: I’m Marie, and my sugar kitty Zuko is approx. 7 years old. My husband and I rescued him at age four, and he underwent surgery from what we assume is a cat fight, giving him a scar above his eye… so we named him after the ATLA character lol.
He was diagnosed diabetic April of 2022. He is prescribed Lantus, and since diagnosis he has increased his dosage over time and is now at 3 1/2 units, twice daily. We first gave him prescription dry food, but currently give him prescription wet food: Purina Pro Plan DM. (I plan to get him on something more affordable soon, life has just been crazy lately and we haven’t had the availability to try new foods).
NOW on to today.
My normal routine with my boy is he yells in my face in the morning until I get up and feed him at 11am. I give him his insulin as he eats. When he was first diagnosed I tried to do it after and that just didn’t work out, so we do it this way and it’s never been an issue. Well today he only took a few bites, and after I administered his insulin he decided he didn’t want anymore food. 30 minutes later he threw up a hairball and the little he did eat. He used the litter box (poop and pee). Then an hour later threw up clear frothy liquid (stomach fluid I’m pretty sure). At this point I called the vet, and they took him in 2 hours after that. I told them my concern was his throwing up and that he had recieved his insulin dose but won’t eat & could go hypo. During this time I tried to get him to eat again and also tried to get him to lick some honey, but had no luck. I was panicking.
The vet did blood work and said it looked good. They took his BG four times from 2:30-530 and numbers were 129, 112, 120, then 144. They gave him fluids, but couldn’t get him to produce urine to test it. They gave him anti-nausea medicine and now we are back home, with instructions to collect a urine sample and come back in the morning.
Baby boy still won’t touch any food and I’m not sure what else to do. I’m sure he’s hungry from not eating all day! but he isn’t going near it.
If you read this far, thank you. Even if you don’t have any advice thank you for reading my frustrations!