catlover0908
New Member
I’ve been lurking on this wonderful board since my sugar kitty’s diagnosis a year ago, digesting all the info I can. The time has come to introduce myself because I need advice. (Sorry if this is long).
Tara was diagnosed last July after 2 bad UTIs. (She is 12 years old; 19 pounds right now…her vet says she could lose a little weight but she is a big cat all over.) Her BG at that time was around 500. Her vet put her on Lantus; over a period of months we started at 2 units twice a day, then 2 ½, then 3, finally settling at 5 units twice a day in late August. That amount got her lowest BG at 200 during her curve. I also got her right on the Binky food chart; a diet she adjusted to very well.
All went well through the fall until over the holidays I noticed her drinking and peeing increasing. In late Dec I brought her in for a curve and her BG stayed in the 400s all day. The vet thought I may have gotten a bad bottle of Lantus or it had frozen at some time, so I got a new bottle.
At this time I also started home testing Tara (Walgreens meter). Over the next 6 months her BG was always in the 150-200 range on my meter (I usually tested her about 5-6 hours after her 5 unit insulin dose), so I felt she was doing very well.
Then last Thursday night out of the clear blue sky the UTI symptoms started. I took her to the emergency vet. Her BG was over 500; urine had a lot of sugar (no ketones); very bad infection and inflammation. They put her on Clavamox. The next afternoon I took her BG at home…152!
On Tuesday I spoke with her regular vet, and he was concerned about her high sugar level and wanted to do another curve. This was done Wednesday, along with complete blood work, all of which was normal. I brought in my home meter so they could check her with both. His lab work showed 448 at 9am, 414 at noon, and 425 at 4pm. My meter at the exact same times showed 223, 178, and 228! So it looked like all this time my meter has been way off. He contemplated the Symogi effect but didn’t think so. He suggested I get a new meter and increase her insulin to 8 units twice a day until today (Friday). I questioned if that was wise, but he said with BG at over 400 all day it was ok. So Wednesday night I gave her the 8 units and watched her like a hawk for symptoms of hypo, yesterday morning as well.
Last night before her insulin I checked her with the new meter…156. Tried the old meter…same exact number!!! Assuming it was still higher than that, I gave her 6 units, not daring the 8. 4 hours later I checked her…it was HIGHER!!! 168!!! This morning I checked her before her breakfast and insulin…159.
I’m calling her vet today with an update, but I am completely frustrated. The numbers the vet is getting, over 400 all day during 2 different curves, is leading me to think it is the Symogi effect. But why on earth are my meter readings so much lower when taken at the exact same time? And if it is Symogi, would the excess glucose be spilling into her urine as well? I would be so grateful for any thoughts you have…
Tara was diagnosed last July after 2 bad UTIs. (She is 12 years old; 19 pounds right now…her vet says she could lose a little weight but she is a big cat all over.) Her BG at that time was around 500. Her vet put her on Lantus; over a period of months we started at 2 units twice a day, then 2 ½, then 3, finally settling at 5 units twice a day in late August. That amount got her lowest BG at 200 during her curve. I also got her right on the Binky food chart; a diet she adjusted to very well.
All went well through the fall until over the holidays I noticed her drinking and peeing increasing. In late Dec I brought her in for a curve and her BG stayed in the 400s all day. The vet thought I may have gotten a bad bottle of Lantus or it had frozen at some time, so I got a new bottle.
At this time I also started home testing Tara (Walgreens meter). Over the next 6 months her BG was always in the 150-200 range on my meter (I usually tested her about 5-6 hours after her 5 unit insulin dose), so I felt she was doing very well.
Then last Thursday night out of the clear blue sky the UTI symptoms started. I took her to the emergency vet. Her BG was over 500; urine had a lot of sugar (no ketones); very bad infection and inflammation. They put her on Clavamox. The next afternoon I took her BG at home…152!
On Tuesday I spoke with her regular vet, and he was concerned about her high sugar level and wanted to do another curve. This was done Wednesday, along with complete blood work, all of which was normal. I brought in my home meter so they could check her with both. His lab work showed 448 at 9am, 414 at noon, and 425 at 4pm. My meter at the exact same times showed 223, 178, and 228! So it looked like all this time my meter has been way off. He contemplated the Symogi effect but didn’t think so. He suggested I get a new meter and increase her insulin to 8 units twice a day until today (Friday). I questioned if that was wise, but he said with BG at over 400 all day it was ok. So Wednesday night I gave her the 8 units and watched her like a hawk for symptoms of hypo, yesterday morning as well.
Last night before her insulin I checked her with the new meter…156. Tried the old meter…same exact number!!! Assuming it was still higher than that, I gave her 6 units, not daring the 8. 4 hours later I checked her…it was HIGHER!!! 168!!! This morning I checked her before her breakfast and insulin…159.
I’m calling her vet today with an update, but I am completely frustrated. The numbers the vet is getting, over 400 all day during 2 different curves, is leading me to think it is the Symogi effect. But why on earth are my meter readings so much lower when taken at the exact same time? And if it is Symogi, would the excess glucose be spilling into her urine as well? I would be so grateful for any thoughts you have…