Tara and Scully
Member Since 2014
Hi! My name is Tara, and Scully is my 10-yr old girl who was diagnosed on March 22. This is my first post, but I have been on this site reading your posts for weeks now in an effort to gain as much knowledge as I can about the treatment and management of feline diabetes. At the time of her diagnosis, Scully was about 9.2 lbs. and she is maintaining her weight. She is also suffering from diabetic neuropathy. She was on an all dry-food diet (I now know the error of my ways) and was prescribed Humulin-N. After several weeks of unsuccessfully trying to regulate her, we transitioned her to an all-canned diet (Fancy Feast Classics - chicken, turkey and beef). That allowed us to reduce her insulin from 5 units in the morning and 4 units in the evening to 1 unit BID. We achieved good numbers at the peak of the cycle (ranging from upper 50s to low-to-mid 100s), but of course her pre-shot numbers were high (mid 300s to low 400s) because the insulin wore off way before she was due for her next injection. She also gets one tablet of Zobaline crushed into her food at dinner time. She free feeds and eats around 3 - 4 3.5 ounce cans per day. Other than the diabetes and neuropathy, she has no other health issues. She tested negative for pancreatitis, which her brother, Mulder, was diagnosed with in Sept. 2012.
We switched to Lantus and gave her her first injection yesterday at 7:30am. Our vet recommended 1 unit BID. I haven't created a spreadsheet yet, but the curve I did yesterday was as follows: AMPS 366, +2 353, +4 328, +6 266, +8 204, +10 130, +11 118, +12.5 136. Instead of a curve, her numbers dropped all day. Clearing a bounce? At that point, I was afraid to give another injection because I've never had a preshot number this low (136). Tested again at +14 and got 214. Fed her about 3/4 of a can and injected .5 units. At +2 she tested 299. Went to bed at that point.
This morning her AMPS was 287 so I gave her 1 unit, but because of the delay last night, her injection was about 2 hours early as I was trying to get back on her regular injection schedule, which I have to keep because of my work schedule. Her readings today have been as follows: +3 229, +6 67, +7 64, +8 60. I know these numbers are not below 50, but I am monitoring her. So far no visible signs of hypo, and she has had numbers in the 50s with no reaction before. I can see that the numbers now are dropping only slightly, and I expect them to begin to rise soon. Can anyone advise me about the dosage I should give this evening if her preshot number is low again? Also, tomorrow morning my husband and I will both be at work and she will be alone for about 11 hours. I want to give at least a partial dosage because I know her numbers will sky rocket with nothing. I did read the general guidelines about what to do with low preshot numbers, but any additional advice tailored to Scully would be much appreciated.
On a side note, I just want to say thank you to all of you who work so diligently to provide information, advice, comfort and encouragement to those of us battling this frustrating disease for the first time. Although I have never posted before, reading your posts and information these last few months made all the difference in the world and helped me leave the guilt and boo-hoo stages much faster. I feel so much more confident and empowered instead of helpless and confused. Thank you!!
We switched to Lantus and gave her her first injection yesterday at 7:30am. Our vet recommended 1 unit BID. I haven't created a spreadsheet yet, but the curve I did yesterday was as follows: AMPS 366, +2 353, +4 328, +6 266, +8 204, +10 130, +11 118, +12.5 136. Instead of a curve, her numbers dropped all day. Clearing a bounce? At that point, I was afraid to give another injection because I've never had a preshot number this low (136). Tested again at +14 and got 214. Fed her about 3/4 of a can and injected .5 units. At +2 she tested 299. Went to bed at that point.
This morning her AMPS was 287 so I gave her 1 unit, but because of the delay last night, her injection was about 2 hours early as I was trying to get back on her regular injection schedule, which I have to keep because of my work schedule. Her readings today have been as follows: +3 229, +6 67, +7 64, +8 60. I know these numbers are not below 50, but I am monitoring her. So far no visible signs of hypo, and she has had numbers in the 50s with no reaction before. I can see that the numbers now are dropping only slightly, and I expect them to begin to rise soon. Can anyone advise me about the dosage I should give this evening if her preshot number is low again? Also, tomorrow morning my husband and I will both be at work and she will be alone for about 11 hours. I want to give at least a partial dosage because I know her numbers will sky rocket with nothing. I did read the general guidelines about what to do with low preshot numbers, but any additional advice tailored to Scully would be much appreciated.
On a side note, I just want to say thank you to all of you who work so diligently to provide information, advice, comfort and encouragement to those of us battling this frustrating disease for the first time. Although I have never posted before, reading your posts and information these last few months made all the difference in the world and helped me leave the guilt and boo-hoo stages much faster. I feel so much more confident and empowered instead of helpless and confused. Thank you!!