Perry and Sooty
Member Since 2010
Hi I'm Perry, in Atlanta GA and Sooty (NM, Black DSH, 15 lbs not obese!) was diagnosed late June.
Since then he's been (on Vet's orders) on steadily increasing doses of Lantus (glargine) starting at 2IU BID (8AM and 8PM) increasing after 1 or 2 weeks in 0.5 increments, ending up at 5.5 IU early September - and we are geting absolutely nowhere. After we reached 5.5 units BID and were still getting 260s to 300s and him spending ALL DAY crying for food (in spite of eating normally all day!!) we went to a referral specialists and all they could do was tell us to go back and do the same thing all over again. He seems to be very insulin reistant so I asked the specialist "could he then, maybe have Type 2 Diabetes?" and he replied "There is no such thing as Feline Type 1 and 2 diabetes. That is only for humans. there is only Feline Diabetes Mellitus and the only treatment is Insulin" - he now wants us to (again!) increase the dose every 3 days or so by 1 Unit at a time until his BG numbers change! But we have been there and done that and after 2 months we never did see any significant downward trend in his BG levels. We are keeping him at 4.5IU BID while we try and understand where we can go from here. Last Saturday I did a full Curve on him and here are the numbers:
AMPS: 331
+2: 335
+4: 278
+6: 286
+8: 300
+10: 340
+12: 282
Can anyone give us any advice please?
Since then he's been (on Vet's orders) on steadily increasing doses of Lantus (glargine) starting at 2IU BID (8AM and 8PM) increasing after 1 or 2 weeks in 0.5 increments, ending up at 5.5 IU early September - and we are geting absolutely nowhere. After we reached 5.5 units BID and were still getting 260s to 300s and him spending ALL DAY crying for food (in spite of eating normally all day!!) we went to a referral specialists and all they could do was tell us to go back and do the same thing all over again. He seems to be very insulin reistant so I asked the specialist "could he then, maybe have Type 2 Diabetes?" and he replied "There is no such thing as Feline Type 1 and 2 diabetes. That is only for humans. there is only Feline Diabetes Mellitus and the only treatment is Insulin" - he now wants us to (again!) increase the dose every 3 days or so by 1 Unit at a time until his BG numbers change! But we have been there and done that and after 2 months we never did see any significant downward trend in his BG levels. We are keeping him at 4.5IU BID while we try and understand where we can go from here. Last Saturday I did a full Curve on him and here are the numbers:
AMPS: 331
+2: 335
+4: 278
+6: 286
+8: 300
+10: 340
+12: 282
Can anyone give us any advice please?