Introducing Peanut Butter

Status
Not open for further replies.

HollyandSpader(GA)

Member Since 2009
HI there. I am back here and it's been a while. Peanut Butter is 11.
Here is a little bit of history on PB's health over the past few months. She had a dental in mid October and all bloodwork was within reference range for everything. We also did X-rays as we wanted to check out her heart (at one time she had a murmur) and other organs. That dental was a success. She lost several teeth but came through like a champ.

Then the week of the 28th she wasn't eating much, was peeing more, and felt off and had lost some weight. The vet determined that she needed a root canal in one of her canine teeth. I also reached out to the animal communicator to see if PB would give her some insight and she pinpointed the exact tooth and said that it hurt and made her not feel well. So that week's blood work came back ok and the u/s showed a possible infection in the kidneys and also a some intestinal thickening so we have been treating her with Orbax. She had a her root canal on that Friday Dec 2nd and just didn't seem to bounce back as fast. And of course she caught a URI there and that lasted a few days and seems to be gone.

So they drew some blood this past Monday and the BG came back at 563 and the glucose in the urine was at 3+. No ketones. The vet did the add on frucosamine test and she was 419. She threw up a lot today so I gave her some Cerenia.

She goes in for laser on her elbows twice a week so her weight and overall health are pretty monitored.

Her pancreatic numbers are toward the high end of normal but she doesn't have pancreatitis. She is also borderline with kidney issues.

We started Prozinc 1u BID on Wednesday night and she was 380. Thursday AM she was 559 and last night after a few hours at the specialists, she was 518. She ate well over night and was HI this morning. I use the Relion Confirm. Of course she didn't pee in front of me this morning so I couldn't use a ketone strip. I went out to pick up her meds and she peed twice while I was gone. I am super paranoid about ketones!!

And diet. Very picky, this gal. She is a dry food eater but also likes wet. So I don't know what to do there. Before the root canal, she ate Friskies Dry as she refused to switch over to the better stuff so I will need some suggestions on better low carb dry food. Everyone else here has some Blue Mature out. She loved FF Chunky Turkey and Chicken flavors but started hating that after the root canal. So I have been putting out some different food options for her. The dry option that she likes is Iams Senior lively. She's eaten some temptations as well.

Our regular vet and I believed that there is something else going on so I saw an specialist yesterday who thinks that she may have lymphoma or IBD. We are going to do a 2 week trial with budesonide and cyproheptadine to see if she can start feeling better so she will eat more. She got a B12 shot and cypro there and came home and ate well. Lab Cobalamine and Folate test and Lab PLI Feline tests results will hopefully be back by Tuesday.

She has her own room as she does not want to interact with my other cats. She came to me as an outside cat that nobody claimed so I made her a member of the family. She was outside until she got attacked by dogs two summers ago that had broken through my gate. She never left the yard and had quite the set up in the garage which she camped out in at night.

Thanks for taking the time to read this novel. I can't believe how nervous I am because I used to know so much about FD. Maybe it's the pre menopause anxiety and stress that has me worried extra. Plus, I lost my precious Taquita to a stroke not to long ago so we are still reeling from that.

Also, if I am posting about numbers and such, is it best to do it in the ProZinc forum? This board has completely changed since the olden days and it's going to take me a while to get used to it.

Holly
 
I love Peanut Butter's name! Yes, it's best to ask about dosing advice on the ProZinc forum. Would you be willing to set up a spreadsheet so we can see her numbers and be better able to help? As you know low carb canned food is best for diabetic cats. Some refuse to switch so their people feed Young Again Zero Mature (samples and full bags available online). If she refuses to eat wet, you'll have to dose around that.
 
HI there. Thanks for the welcome. Oh and I see that I need to change my signature from the olden days! I would love to set up a spreadsheet but I have no idea how to do that here. I think there is a tech forum that seek out later today. It's been long time since I have had FD in the house and i am scared, even thought I have continued to train newly diagnosed owners over the years.

I did get tipped off about Young Again and the nice lady there is sending me samples. Hopefully the super picky PB will adapt to that. She likes wet. This was all so sudden with the inappetence and dx. The AC stressed the importance of keeping food on board so that's good.

And she just tested negative for ketones while I was on the call with my animal communicator. Whew! Holy cow. Now I can leave her room and get stuff done!

Teasel is so cute!
 
If you go to the main page listing all the forums, one near the top is "Suggestions and Tech Support" (or similar). In there you'll find two info Stickies on the spreadsheet. There are techies on here who can help you set it up if needed.
 
I'll give it a go tomorrow as I am going to head to sleep now. Been a long FD day and I am kind of bummed as she just gave me a 522, which is better than the HI from this AM, but I was hoping for lower . I never had spreadsheets on here back in the day with Spader so that part is all new to me. And Chris, I may end up needing your help so thanks for reaching out. This board is laid out in a much different way than I am used to from the olden days. It's also not letting me change my password, but I will cross that bridge later. Thanks again.
 
Ok I thought I would give it a try before I went to sleep and thought I got it ok until I just looked at the signature. I followed the instructions but obviously messed up somewhere. Ugh.
 
Hi all. Chris helped me put together my SS so it's up to date. Will also be posting soon in the PZI forum. Still getting numbers in the 500's with the recently increased dose of insulin. Also she is getting some clay booties on her feet from going in and out of the litter box so much. I use scooping litter so I am thinking that a switch to clay will be much better for her. She does not like it when I try to clean her paws.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top