Jessica & Indy
Member Since 2025
Hello!
My name is Jessica and my diabetic kitty's name is Indiana or Indy for short. (I will update my username when it lets me in a week). He is 17.5 years and loving life...especially his heated bed and anything to do with turkey. He eats Smalls gently cooked wet food with freeze dried chicken for crunch and freeze dried salmon as treats. He was on insulin a year and a half ago after being on Prednisone for years due to IBD. Vet switched him to a low dose of chlorambucil and he was able to achieve remission for the diabetes.
Fast forward to now....Indy goes in for solensia injections once a month and I noticed he had lost some weight. I had the vet do blood work and his bg was 375. Restarted him on Lantus about a month ago at 1u every 12 hours and a week ago vet placed a libre 3+ sensor on him. First 5 days she put him on 2u because his numbers were still high. Friday she told me to increase to 3u. Did that and Saturday afternoon (yesterday) his numbers went down to 44. Gave him Karo syrup and food....but it stayed below 70 for 4ish hours. He was acting normal, so I tried to not freak out. Gave him 2.5u at bedtime last night and his numbers shot up back to 350+. Such a rollercoaster, I swear. I have generalized anxiety disorder and this rollercoaster is wreaking havoc on it.
So that's our story. I don't have any urgent questions right now. I will get my spreadsheet set up.
Unrelated....we have a bit of a zoo. 5 cats, 4 bearded dragons, 4 snakes, a leopard gecko and a Tegu. My heart is full from being a fur and scale mama. <3
My name is Jessica and my diabetic kitty's name is Indiana or Indy for short. (I will update my username when it lets me in a week). He is 17.5 years and loving life...especially his heated bed and anything to do with turkey. He eats Smalls gently cooked wet food with freeze dried chicken for crunch and freeze dried salmon as treats. He was on insulin a year and a half ago after being on Prednisone for years due to IBD. Vet switched him to a low dose of chlorambucil and he was able to achieve remission for the diabetes.
Fast forward to now....Indy goes in for solensia injections once a month and I noticed he had lost some weight. I had the vet do blood work and his bg was 375. Restarted him on Lantus about a month ago at 1u every 12 hours and a week ago vet placed a libre 3+ sensor on him. First 5 days she put him on 2u because his numbers were still high. Friday she told me to increase to 3u. Did that and Saturday afternoon (yesterday) his numbers went down to 44. Gave him Karo syrup and food....but it stayed below 70 for 4ish hours. He was acting normal, so I tried to not freak out. Gave him 2.5u at bedtime last night and his numbers shot up back to 350+. Such a rollercoaster, I swear. I have generalized anxiety disorder and this rollercoaster is wreaking havoc on it.
So that's our story. I don't have any urgent questions right now. I will get my spreadsheet set up.
Unrelated....we have a bit of a zoo. 5 cats, 4 bearded dragons, 4 snakes, a leopard gecko and a Tegu. My heart is full from being a fur and scale mama. <3
