Introducing Nico

Oh no! That's what I was told to aim for in the first cast they suspected of diabetes many years ago.😳
Crap. I've been doing it really wrong all this time? I was told (don't remember if it was office or some other site): Heat up the east by just rubbing lightly, take some kind of light to show where the veins are and you know where to aim.:(
I do remember in the past, poking my girl's ear a few times, and nothing coming from the stab. No blood. So how do you go that? Stabbing them hurts me probably as much as it hurts them. It's more something I want to do several times at once. Heck, one of my girls that was in kidney failure needed fluids, and I had to get her 3x before she'd sit still (came out once, once poked through), and at sun as she was finished, I laid down on the cold floor for a few minutes cause I felt so sick.šŸ˜… Needles and I are not now, nor ever will be friends.
Ok so testing before sounds more important than after. It's the after only something I do occasionally though at least?
And will it be ok if I wait just a few days before starting to stab him 3-4x a day?:(
He's having his ups and downs with this and I don't want to throw it all on him at once. It feels like traumatizing him. Yesterday when I had to collect pee for the strip, we sat together in the bathroom for
1 1/2hrs, where he would walk around some and holler, wanting out. I picked him up and placed him in the special litter box and he was having none of it! So I emptied and cleaned his regular one just without the litter. Nope. I left him in there alone for a half hour after all that. Just cried a lot. Finally let him out and he went and peed in a regular litter box within 3 minutes. I was able to get a sample though then. I'm just tired of tormenting this cat. And believe me, pulling his butt out of his cubbies while he desperately clings to anything and everything to stay? He's still shivering every time I place him on the floor and bundle him in a towel for his treatments.
In fact, I don't know how I'm going to poke his ear, hope & pray he eats after that (which he probably won't because he'll be so upset about this), feed him, insulin (& inhaler), then shot within half hour (I try not to do it right away so he doesn't relate it to eating), then wait what? 6hrs to do the glucose test again?
My poor little fella
 
You just want to poke between the edge of the ear and the vein. If you hit the vein, no big deal.

Testing mid cycle is important. It gives you an idea of how the insulin is working until you can do a curve. A random spot check or two between insulin shots is fine. A test before bedtime is ideal so you can be sure if your cat won't hypo while you're sleeping.

A curve is testing approximately every 2 hours from one insulin shot to the next. It's easiest to do this during the day. Most people do a curve on a day they have free, like a weekend. If the cat won't cooperate, just get as many tests done as you can.

Take a look at other members' spreadsheets to see how often people spot check levels. Some are obsessed with testing, others not so much. Do what works for you and your cat.
 
Thanks! So essentially looking anywhere on the ear would draw blood? Cause I remember doing it before to my other cat, and getting nowhere. I can't belive I was specifically told to hit that vein along the outside.šŸ™„ I don't want to do paws, because that sounds awful. They have to walk on those. And do you like all the way through? I was told to do that, that "They'll be fine and heal". I hate doing that, but seems real hard to try not to.
Thanks!
 
Anywhere along the edge is fine but there's usually a sweet spot. See the picture Suzanne posted in this thread. Every cat's ear is different so you might have to test various spots to find the sweet spot.

The lancet doesn't need to puncture completely through the ear. You just want to poke deep enough to get enough blood for the test strip. Most lancet devices have adjustable depth settings. Try each setting to find what will give you enough blood on a warmed up ear.
 
Those really work? I got the Advocate Pet Test meter. But didn't see how it was going to written so never bothered. It's not like it gives me a viewing area.
Thank you for the tips!🄰
 
Most people here use a Human blood glucose meter. The test strips are way cheaper than the pet ones, depending on brand, and any store pharmacy sells the test strips of major brands like FreeStyle and AccuChek. A plus if you typically order online and forget to order more and have run out of test strips and your cat is in hypo. It happens. Relion is a Walmart brand so you can only get those from Walmart, maybe on the Walmart web site too. No store pharmacy sells pet meters or test strips.

The lancet device doesn't have to be the one that comes with the meter. Some just don't work well enough on a cat. There are some (Human diabetic) lancet devices that have clear caps so you can more easily see where you are poking. Some people just freehand the lancet without the device.
 
It took forever to get a blood sample, but when I did so very less than impressed.
No, I did not get it in the morning. But I think it's safe to say with this result, he's in no fear of being hypo anytime soon.
Doc said test 2hrs after, was told here 6hrs. So went with the 6 and got 401.😄
I mean, lowest reading so far, but still so bad.
The test strips said they expired in May, but they're all individually wrapped. Would that really make a difference? And yes, I ordered fresh ones the other day. I have a vial of control solution and it's within range. But guess what? It's expired even longer ago.😭
My poor baby. He's on 1 unit twice a day for a week, as of tonight. He's not always easy about eating, as in on time. But I'm trying my best. He doesn't seem to want to eat breakfast the last 2 days, and so late in the shot. But I've found sprinkling watered down fancy feast pate juice over his food makes him want to eat.
Yes, he might eat just that. But I don't care what anyone says. The worst wet food is NOT better than the best dry. And fancy feast is made with "Meat by-products" (they're not even specific! Could be road kill for all I know), fish, and all sorts of other things like gums and other useless fillers. That's not what's best for any cat.:(
Feeling stressed.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20251008_152025141_HDR~2.jpg
    IMG_20251008_152025141_HDR~2.jpg
    2.1 MB · Views: 27
Personally, I never used a lancing device to prick my baby’s ear. He was a good boy but I didn’t want to spook him with that noise so near his ear. I simply held the lancet in my hand and I could see what I was doing and where I was aiming. Try not to go in at a 90 degree angle, but try holding the lancet at about a 45 degree angle. Perhaps a bright headlamp would help or something like this that I bought (not for my cat, but it would be great for that
1759975482035.png
 
Hi guys! It's been a fun week!
Due to the advice here, he's gotten good with his insulin shots, though now he's suddenly fighting his asthma inhaler. :/ Win some, lose some.
I think it was this week the doctor wanted to do his glucose curve, but I told her I really can't afford it so would have to do it at home. She told me it would have to be down to the minute of every 2hrs.
My question is this:
Is 1 1/2weeks enough to be on the insulin for a curve? If not, what is? It just seemed a little too soon.
And while I am having to relearn how to prick the ear, why do they say not to aim for the marginal vein? The vein is where they get blood from humans, so I was just wondering. I had trouble getting anything in that 'sweet spot' as shown. I'll try getting the ear up better next time.
Other than that and me having to do regular glucose testing, we're doing really well. He stopped hiding all the time, and easily let's me pick him up and bundle him for the shots. Though my husband tried to pick him up once and he just freaked. I was also able to get a urine sample and he's currently negative for ketones. Doc said I should test that once a week. And he doesn't currently seem dehydrated. Thank goodness. And tips on doing the curve would be most appreciated.
Thank you everyone for the help!
 
The vein is where they get blood from humans, so I was just wondering.
In humans, the median cubital vein, located in the antecubital fossa (the area in front of the elbow), is usually the preferred site for drawing blood due to its size and accessibility. Other options include the cephalic and basilic veins, but the median cubital vein is typically the first choice.

Think about this, when humans are having blood drawn the goal is to obtain quite a bit of blood — enough to fill a tube or multiple tubes. We only want to prick a capillary in order to get a very tiny amount of blood to test the BG.

When cats need more blood drawn to fill tubes for lab tests, vets usually draw from the jugular or a vein in the back of the leg called the lateral saphenous vein.
 
Now, having said all that…. I am sorry you are not sometimes able to get blood from his ear. It does get easier as the capillary bed in the ears develops— we sometimes say that the ears ā€œlearnā€ to bleed. The warming and massaging of the ears can really help in the meantime.

As for the asthma inhaler (and remember I have an asthmatic cat who uses the Aerokat) I would go back and start all over with the training for the Aerokat. I mean back to square one where you literally leave the inhaler on the floor where Artemis can sniff it and it becomes a non-threatening object. Later you can put treats in or near the mask. You can then use the larger mask and briefly hold it to his face for one second and give a treat. Repeat that process gradually extending the time. There are many helpful videos on YouTube and the Aerokat website with instructions for training.

I did this for a couple of weeks and during that time my cat was taking Prednisolone. After I trained her to the Aerokat, I tapered the Pred off over a period of two weeks. It takes two weeks of using the inhaled steroids twice a day to become fully effective.
 
I think it was this week the doctor wanted to do his glucose curve, but I told her I really can't afford it so would have to do it at home. She told me it would have to be down to the minute of every 2hrs.
My question is this:
Is 1 1/2weeks enough to be on the insulin for a curve? If not, what is? It just seemed a little too soon.
Oh… I see you still don’t have a spreadsheet. I just went to your signature to look for it so that I could comment on the dose and BG numbers you have been getting. Have you gotten any successful BG tests? I hope so — if you are going to attempt a curve. It’s not too soon to do a BG curve as it is very important to know how low the dose is taking Artemis (nadir.) The problem with relying solely on glucose curves to adjust the dose is that it’s just a one-day picture— and not every day will be the same. Some cats will have very high BG one day because, on the previous day or cycle, the cat had a number perceived by the cat’s body as ā€œtoo lowā€ (it may not be low at all) resulting in a ā€œbounceā€ which is a period of higher glucose numbers that can last for days. It’s much better to get mid-cycle tests each day at different times to fill in the spreadsheet where you can see the trends and look at the whole ā€œcheckerboardā€ to see the fill picture. If you need to do a curve to placate your vet, that’s fine, but you will get the information needed to safely adjust the dose by doing your own testing at home at different times of day and trying to catch the nadir as much as you can.
 
So does it matter that I'm still using a pet meter? To start the sheet? I can start doing that probably (hopefully) tomorrow. I'm guessing there's a thread I just need to find on how to create the spread sheet. I'll try to look that up. I know he's my main thing to deal with. But my husband's holiday just began today and normally I only get him 2 days a week. We're in the process of redoing our pond. We already canceled our vacation plans because of my little guy. I knew he'd do best while I was home to do the testing and shots.
She does want a curve, so at some point I'll have to do it. But I'd like to have both the curve and the spread sheet available to show her.
 
I'm about to do the glucose curve, probably Friday and have a few questions. *By the way, doing this for my vet.*
I do it every 2hrs, but how long? And I read somewhere I shouldn't be feeding in between his main breakfast and dinner? He eats 4x a day currently. Will his in between mess up the tests?
And is it true I shouldn't be giving my cat his insulin at all if I ever test and it reads below 200? I use a pet meter currently.
Thanks in advance.
 
And I read somewhere I shouldn't be feeding in between his main breakfast and dinner? He eats 4x a day currently.
I am not sure where you read that, but it certainly would not have been on this Board! 😊 It is very important for diabetic cats on insulin to eat multiple small meals during the first half of each 12 hour cycle. With ProZinc, I recommend the following feeding schedule:
Breakfast with insulin
+2 small meal (spoon or two LC wet food)
+4 small meal (LC wet food)
+6 optional small meal (LC wet)

Dinner with insulin
+2 small meal (LC wet)
+4 small meal (LC wet)
+6 optional small meal (LC wet food)

Many of our members use automatic feeders to dispense the food when they’re not at home or at night.

Nico should eat like this every single day if it is possible. We can modify the feeding schedule based upon how he is doing, your ability to give the snacks, his willingness to eat the snacks. The amount can be adjusted based on his needs and the time of his typical nadir. More on that later.

The reason why it is important for our kitties to eat these small meals (and the reason for the timing of the small meals/snacks) is because ProZinc begins to onset (to lower BG) at about +2. This first snack is very important because it helps prevent steep drops in BG as the insulin kicks in. We don’t want steep drops because they can trigger a bounce where the kitty will react and have a sustained period of high numbers due to insulin resistance. I can explain more about bouncing later. Next, the +4 small meal helps support kitty’s BG as the action of the ProZinc is picking up am nearing its peak. Many cats will have their nadir (lowest BG) anywhere between +4 and +6 so this snack is also a really important one.

Feeding like this really helps to smooth the cycle and, when timed like the above schedule, will not raise BG in a bad way as long as it’s low carb wet food. The small snacks will help to support BG and prevent too rapid drops. I hope this makes sense and is helpful information.
 
Last edited:
I do it every 2hrs, but how long?
Well, a full glucose curve would mean testing at AMPS, +2, +4, +6, +8, +10 and PMPS.

Is that what your vet would do if you dropped Nico off there? I doubt it because they probably aren’t even open for 12 hours at a time. However, you might want to ask them.

Don’t worry about making it ā€œdown to the minuteā€ but try to get it within five minutes of each two hour interval. I guess I am saying not to stress too much. It sounds like your vet had you stressed out about this.
 
As for the 200 number you asked about. That is for new people who have no spreadsheet test data. We gather data on our spreadsheets and gradually are able to shoot lower and lower numbers as we see how low each dose is taking Nico. When new to shooting lower numbers, it’s a good idea to post for help as the dose may need to be modified. It’s good to have someone to help with those decisions and to talk it through.
 
I look forward to seeing your curve data. I hope you can start getting some regular tests and putting them on the spreadsheet. I really will be able to help you then.

Good luck!

How is everything else going with Nico? How is the testing going? Are you giving him LC treats with every test attempt (successful or not?) How about the asthma? Is he getting less stressed?
 
Last edited:
Just tested him this morning before his breakfast. 503.šŸ™
I thought he was doing better, as he was acting a little more like himself lately, guess not.
He's still taking his inhaler twice a day just before his insulin shot. Hadn't had an asthma attack that I've seen since. I'm sure he's stressed by all of it, but at least he knows I'm not going to kill him now. And yes, definitely don't the treats. As for the feedings, thanks and no I didn't see to not feed for the curve here. I had looked up online first, hoping I didn't have to bug everyone with more questions. But that didn't sound right.
I can't give him an automatic feeder due to other cats in the house having ibd and can't eat the dry I feed him. One can't eat any kibble. So I'll have to do this all myself. Poor fella, to feel this way. He always seems hungry though, so I guess it won't hurt. Thanks and will let you know about the curve and try to input the numbers tomorrow. After the curve I'm going to try and get testing at different times as suggested here as well. He sure hates the ear sticking thing and so far I'm only good at hitting that marginal vein.:(
Hopefully we'll both figure it out.
 
There are microchip feeders that you can use to keep the cats out of each other's food. Surefeed is one brand. Maybe use the feeder for dry food to keep the other cats from eating it. If your cat isn't microchipped, there is a collar tag your cat can wear to open the feeder.
 
There are microchip feeders that you can use to keep the cats out of each other's food. Surefeed is one brand. Maybe use the feeder for dry food to keep the other cats from eating it. If your cat isn't microchipped, there is a collar tag your cat can wear to open the feeder.
I actually have 3 of those because of some of their needs. Had to buy them when I found out acid reflux was helping to trigger another cats asthma attacks if she wasn't eating every 4hrs or so. Problem with that is even if I gave him one of those, I'd have to hope he leaves the collar on, and then I couldn't easily (haha) take blood samples and give insulin due to the collar being in the way. Maybe more pros can do that, but I am definitely not that talented at the moment. Here's to hoping for the day. I can try my best at the feedings though. Luckily I stay at home and the animals ARE my fulltime job. Thanks for the suggestion though.;) Maybe one day.
 
I actually have 3 of those because of some of their needs. Had to buy them when I found out acid reflux was helping to trigger another cats asthma attacks if she wasn't eating every 4hrs or so. Problem with that is even if I gave him one of those, I'd have to hope he leaves the collar on, and then I couldn't easily (haha) take blood samples and give insulin due to the collar being in the way. Maybe more pros can do that, but I am definitely not that talented at the moment. Here's to hoping for the day. I can try my best at the feedings though. Luckily I stay at home and the animals ARE my fulltime job. Thanks for the suggestion though.;) Maybe one day.
Would you please add to your signature the dry food you are feeding Nico. It only says Chicken plus EZ Complete. Or are you saying that a different cat eats the dry food and Nico doesn’t eat dry food? I actually hope that is the case because giving dry food to diabetic cats will really keep their blood glucose numbers higher. There are only two dry foods on the market that are low in carbs, but even those can raise BG (I have seen it in other cats I have worked with, and the caregivers usually end up ditching the dry food because they don’t like the BG increases they see associated with it.
 
Would you please add to your signature the dry food you are feeding Nico. It only says Chicken plus EZ Complete. Or are you saying that a different cat eats the dry food and Nico doesn’t eat dry food? I actually hope that is the case because giving dry food to diabetic cats will really keep their blood glucose numbers higher. There are only two dry foods on the market that are low in carbs, but even those can raise BG (I have seen it in other cats I have worked with, and the caregivers usually end up ditching the dry food because they don’t like the BG increases they see associated with it.
I wrote fresh shredded chicken with EZ Completd as that's what he eats. Although he switched to pork tenderloin with EZC last week.:)
I'm starting his curve today. I'm still reading on how to properly do his SS, but yesterday I took his blood and it was 503 before his am feeding. Today it was 580! I hate this illness. :(
And for the life of me, I can't seem to either just pricy those capillaries OR not like all the way through the ear. I'm using my finger behind his ear to try and stop it from doing that. But so far screwing that up.
And thank you as well, all of you. For being so generous with your time and knowledge. My vet really doesn't seem to know a lot about this I fear, but as she is the most amazing vet, I can't just leave her. And she would take it personal if I transferred Nico's care to another vet because she's not as knowledge on diabetes.
So thank you.
 
It’s not bugging! We like helping people with their questions. šŸ™‚
Help! He's only at the halfway point (+6hrs after shot), and his numbers that were coming down, suddenly shot up again.
Is this because I've been feeding him a little bit of that wet snack as a reward after every testing? He normally eats cooked meat with EZC, but have been giving him 1/6 of a section of a 3oz can of Fancy Feast classic pates. I'm so disappointed. I almost preferred not knowing what was going on inside his little body after today so far. These numbers are awful.
And I did finally do my SS, though it's really new. So not a lot there aside from today. Do I stop giving him the FF? Or are his increased numbers for another reason? I did it at home in order to not stress him out as much. Which he definitely still is, but not as bad as it would be there and with the car rides.:(
This sucks. Another test in 1hr.
 
Wow. He is way too high regardless of anything else. He definitely needs more insulin. If he keeps in black and red, I would increase to 1.5 units, but you must be able to do some testing like at +4 and +6 to see how low the dose is taking him.

Are you checking ketones? He is so high.
 
Wow. He is way too high regardless of anything else. He definitely needs more insulin. If he keeps in black and red, I would increase to 1.5 units, but you must be able to do some testing like at +4 and +6 to see how low the dose is taking him.

Are you checking ketones? He is so high.
I only checked his ketones last week I think? I can't do it today as he's already super stressed about the testing and the last time I tried putting him in the bathroom with litter boxes to catch his pee, he just held it in for hours. Finally let him out and was able to catch it behind him. I can't do that while testing him every 2hrs too today.
Can his numbers going up be due to the fancy feast?
 
And now this for his +6!
What am I supposed to do?
Do I give him fluids to try and help? If so, how much? You guys said my doc always says too much at he's only 9lbs.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20251017_153735762_AE.jpg
    IMG_20251017_153735762_AE.jpg
    2.1 MB · Views: 18
I only checked his ketones last week I think? I can't do it today as he's already super stressed about the testing and the last time I tried putting him in the bathroom with litter boxes to catch his pee, he just held it in for hours. Finally let him out and was able to catch it behind him. I can't do that while testing him every 2hrs too today.
Can his numbers going up be due to the fancy feast?
Understood. Now I see this about the ketones. Try on another day. You should probably get a blood ketone meter of he hates it that much.
 
I'd read they are less accurate, the blood ones?
No. They are quite accurate and in stead of giving you a color that just says negative, trace, etc. you get a numerical value. Ketones are in the blood before they even get excreted in the urine. Your vet can do a blood test for ketones using their laboratory equipment, although they sometimes do the dipstick as well.
 
I gave him some Young Again Zero carb treats instead this time. Just in case. His numbers have never been this high. I thought fluids would help the diabetes when it was so high. When he was diagnosed in the vets, it was 536 and he had 15 for ketones. They gave him a lot of fluids and the following week he tested Negative for ketones. If they were present last time when his numbers were even lower, then does that mean he's going to have them now too? I've heard giving some fluids was never a bad thing and since I can't test him today, would it be bad to treat him for it?
He can't take insulin again before his 12hrs, right? That's not till 7:30! So far away. Is there nothing I can do in the meantime to help him?
I wrote the vet saying these numbers are awful. What would you say is safe to change his insulin to twice a day? I'm afraid she might come back with a really high jump. She was 'Go high!' when teasing both my HT cats and luckily I didn't listen to her with the 2nd.
Is 1.5 enough? Or is it scary to jump too high too fast?
Very just texted saying she's going to call when she can. :(
She's probably going to blame the little FF feedings
 
Don’t panic. I do understand how upsetting it is to see black on the spreadsheet. But you are really on your way now to being able to help Nico. We will get him into better numbers! It’s a process. He is so high right now that I recommend an increase to 1.5 units. If you can get any urine tomorrow and he has high ketones then we will fast track his dose a bit as long as you are testing to catch his nadir.

Just make sure he is eating and drinking well and is not lethargic or vomiting a lot. If he is, take him to the vet. It doesn’t sound like he is doing any of these things though, and you are getting proficient at testing will be able to help him get into better numbers with safety.
 
Of she blames the small amount of LC food then she really just doesn’t understand feeding a diabetic cat. Now, I do not recommend feeding after nadir so he won’t need any more food until shot time.
 
Don’t shoot early. Wait until his normal shot time. He’s been like this for a while now and you are just now seeing it and recording it on your spreadsheet so it’s really shocking to see.
 
I would only go to 1.5 for the next dose. I would hold this dose for three days (six cycles) and then if he is still having nadirs that are red or even pink, I would recommend another increase to 2 units. But first we need to see the effect of the 1.5 unit dose. Many vets want to increase in whole units and sometimes it’s okay and sometimes not. Cats are small creatures and small changes in insulin can make a big difference. We want to be safe about this.
 
And nadir is usually around the +6hr mark? So I know when to not feed him. Haven't figured that out yet. Which do I concern myself with tomorrow? The ketone test or the blood glucose? Any way to give him a break and not stab the little guy so many times tomorrow? Oh my gosh this is so stressful!
He's not throwing up, eating a lot as usual, and talkative to me. But he's kind of hiding some in between. He's not used to me doing this so much. He came right out to me right before this high test.
How do I explain scientifically that the cat NEEDS to have several small meals a day? She's never believed me in the past when I compare a cat needing it to a human getting regular small meals. It says his numbers must be 600 to get the HI results. I'm just so scared for my little boy.
 
With you watching him carefully he is going to be okay. He has been diabetic for some time now (even before he was diagnosed by the vet) and it’s going to take a little bit of time to regulate him.

Today his nadir was early at around +4 it looks like. Just don’t feed after +6 for now. Nico needs plenty of food, and with numbers this high his body cannot make full use of the food it takes in (the glucose cannot enter his cells to create energy so the glucose stays stuck in the bloodstream creating those high numbers you are seeing today. This is why he is so hungry all the time and why I am sure he has lost weight.

Diabetic cats benefit from multiple meals throughout the day because it helps regulate their blood sugar levels by providing a steady supply of nutrients, which can prevent spikes in glucose. Feeding smaller, more frequent meals can also improve insulin sensitivity and reduce the risk of hypoglycemia, making it easier to manage their condition effectively.
 
Don't test before feeding?
When it is time for his PMPS test, you can test him quickly, then feed him, then give the insulin while he is eating or just after if he doesn’t like the shot while he’s eating.

I was just saying to keep the shots 12 hours apart.
 
Now, when I say not to give the small meals after about +6, that does not include the little low carb treats he is still allowed with every single ear prick. He gets those no matter what!
 
Any way to give him a break and not stab the little guy so many times tomorrow?
If you are increasing his dose then you will need to get at least one test tomorrow besides the two pre-shot tests. It would be better to get a +4 and a +6, but if you are dead set against it then get a +5 tomorrow. We really need to know what the new dose is doing before we can make any sensible decision about the dose.

I know this is stressful for you. I understand. We all went through it. When you see him improving not only in his test numbers but in his health and demeanor, you are going to be so happy!
 
only checked his ketones last week I think?
Ketones can fluctuate a lot and don’t necessarily stay stable from day to day or even hour to hour. My cat had high ketones and I used to test them a lot. They fluctuated during the day. But you can try for tomorrow. If it doesn’t happen, try the next day and just make sure he is not acting ā€œoffā€ because that could be a sign of DKA.
 
Sorry, my mother in law just stopped by. She wanted to take the family out to dinner, but I stayed behind to test and watch over Nico. Not a biggy. We were supposed to be at the beach, but canceled those plans when he was diagnosed and I knew I had to start doing insulin and testing.
Anyhow! I think I can do 4. It's really important, right? The blood glucose that is. But will have to push the ketone test back probably. So test before both shots and breakfast/dinner. Then if I can both at +4 & +6. Unless he's really unruly and then just the +5. But I'll try the other.
Thank you for the explanation for my doc. I needed something concrete and me just telling her.... That's what people do, wasn't cutting it for her. Those FF parts are a LOT more in carbs than what he normally eats though. Which are 0 for his meals. Are you sure I didn't make it worse with those? I'll just stick to the zero carb treats from now on.
And are you sure I shouldn't feed him even a 0 carb meal after +6? If his body is starving itself, won't be need the extra food? But I can keep to that if it's right. I normally only feed him 4x a day anyhow. Was just doing the FF the last 2 days.
What do I dayday the vet wants to go over the 1.5 uniuni twice a day? I can argue my case like I did the HT cat, but have to know why to do it.šŸ˜…
 
Ketones can fluctuate a lot and don’t necessarily stay stable from day to day or even hour to hour. My cat had high ketones and I used to test them a lot. They fluctuated during the day. But you can try for tomorrow. If it doesn’t happen, try the next day and just make sure he is not acting ā€œoffā€ because that could be a sign of DKA.
Oh wait! Do I bother with the last ear test for glucose? It's in 30min. But seems pointless to do either that or his preshot test right about now. :/
And do I just start with the 1.5 insulin tonight? Going to be fun measuring half a unit on this syringes. I'll try my best.
Another glucose test question. HOW do you not damage the ear? If I'm testing a min of 3x a day? The ears area SO thin, and that 'sweet spot' is so little! Do I try on other places on the ear? I don't want to keep puncturing the same area. It will never heal up right.
I think that's it. Oh! Trying the warm rice sock method to heat. How long should I leave it against his ear?
Ok, off to feed the raccoons before I'm supposed to test again. Just not sure if I should be after the last said too high to register. I did check it twice by the way when I got that.
 
Doc just called. She's pretty insistent about going up to 2 full units twice a day. Would that be bad? Or even with his high numbers, you think I should try 1.5 and then try to explain it to her later? šŸ˜… I just want to do what's best for him. And I've known her for years, I can surely that I trust you guys more. That's what I did with the thyroid meds. Just told her after what I was a doing.
She said not to bother testing again tonight. Sucks. Could've gone out to eat. Oh well. So don't even bother testing again tonight? Even before shot? I don't want to hurt him anymore than I have to. It's more emotional than physical with him.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top