Introducing Harley and Laura

Status
Not open for further replies.

Laura and Harley (GA)

Very Active Member
Hi everyone,

My sugarkitty Harley and I are new to FDMB but not to diabetes. He was first dx’d in early 2009 and we started 1u Vetsulin bid. At the time, Harley was on Hills Science Diet dry food and my vet told me that diabetics do best on a wet food, low carb, gluten-free diet. So I went online and found Janet and Binky’s list of Fancy Feast Classic gluten-free foods, made the switch and both my kitties have been eating nothing but ever since. Of course that did do wonky things with the Vetsulin and although he didn’t hypo on me, Harley told me he didn’t need insulin anymore by grabbing my hand holding the needle in his jaws and not letting go. (The bean got the message.) This was April 2009 and he went off the juice!

Fast forward to January 2011 and I took him back to the vet with the familiar symptoms: weight loss, PU, PD, uncontrolled yowling, etc. BG was 320 and fructosamine 540. So we started ProZinc 1u bid. Since he was already on low-carb food, I came back online to do more research and this time found the FDMB. After reading about home testing I took the plunge and ordered a newbie kit from Lori and Tom. (Thank you!!!!) Good thing I did, because my first reading the night I got it was an 89. I freaked out and didn’t give the shot. But the home testing learning curve has been a steep one for Harley and me. Only in the last few days he we hit our stride. I’m now able to get AM and PMPS numbers but have not yet curved him.

I have been working with my vet who is supporting of my home testing. For the last two weeks I’ve been getting AMPS/PMPS numbers in the mid to upper 100’s and she was telling me to withhold the shot if it was under 180. So he didn’t get a lot of insulin the last two weeks. However when I took Harley back for a follow-up fructosamine test on Tuesday of this week, we were both surprised to see it was 415 despite the lower numbers I’ve been getting at home. To further confuse things, I took both my Freedom Freestyle meter and ReliOn Micro meters to test against their meter. Hers was out of service so we tested my meters against the lab and the lab BG reading was 192, the Freestyle was 148 and the ReliOn was 153. Given the variance between readings, my vet wanted to restart ProZinc at 1u bid. I said I wasn’t comfortable with that dose and wanted to start lower at 0.25u bid using U100 3/10 cc syringes with the 1/2 unit marks. She agreed (I think reluctantly) and after 1 week at this dose I’m going to attempt my first curve. So I'll be doing time in the PZI forum. Ready or not here I come!

I’ve been lurking and reading a lot lately and am stuck by what a wonderful and caring online family this is! Harley and Princess are so glad their bean has found a support group. Despite all my experience with sick kitties, I’ve been a bit crazy lately. nailbite_smile

Purrrs,

Laura
 
Laura:

You've obviously been doing a lot of reading and already have the lingo down. Shame Harley came back from the falls and is back on insulin, but we are awfully glad you are here on FDMB.

Best,
Rebecca
 
Hi Laura. Scritches Harley. Welcome to you both/

Even though it is not yet time for a curve, it would be prudent to try to get some mid-cycle numbers to see how low Harley is going.

The difference between the lab test and your glucometers might be attributed in large part to venous vs. capillary blood.
 
just read your ss Laura and a few suggestions. stay with one meter or the other so you can get a real idea of how he is doing. I see you use one meter in the am and another in the pm. could mix things up. they are never the exact same. your looking for a pattern.
also hate to disagree with Venita but with those low number i think a curve is appropriate now. after all that time of shooting blind it's in order now to see how it has affected him.
Lori
and tomtom too!
And Welcome to the FDMB Family!
 
Welcome :-). You are several steps ahead of many of the new people we get here. In general, it is better to start with a lower dose and moniter BG response. The numbers you have gotten so far aren't that high compared to some people who start out in the 300s and 400s. Your rationale to start at less than a unit makes sence to me. We have another new member, Patrick 777 who had numbers much higher than yours that is on .8 units.

We have had several other people recently that have cats that have had to go back on insulin again. One way to view it is a change in your cat's needs and not any failure on your part. This second time around you are ahead of the game and will hopefully get your kitty on the right track soon!!
 
Welcome Harley and Laura!
You are miles ahead of most people who come here---in your testing and your knowledge. Lucky for Harley. Also great that you have a vet who supports you, even if reluctantly. Keep posting and ask us any questions you may have. THe PZI forum is a small very friendly group and you are welcome to post anytime you would like. You will also get great advice here on Health (which tends to be busier and may provide more responses) as you have already seen.
 
Thank you to all for the warm welcome!

VENITA: His +6 today was 119. I'll try for a +8 or 9 as well. During the week is tough as I work 8-10 hours a day with a short lunch break. So most heavy testing will have to be weekends. Oh, and I'm flying solo so no backup beans.

If the blood sample was from the vein (she gave it to me in a syringe) how does that affect the glucometer readings? They both read about 40 points lower than the lab. Is this due to the calibration of the human meters to be more "forgiving" in the lower range?

LORI: Thanks for the advice and the meter. You're right, I was using the two different meters due to a series of technical difficulties (e.g Harley batting the bottle of FS test strips off the counter onto the floor. I love my boy - he's so expressive!). When we restarted the insulin on Wednesday I decided to use the Freestyle exclusively and the ReliOn as backup only so that the numbers would be more consistent with just one meter.

JANELLE and JUDY: Thanks for the kind words of welcome and support! I was hoping this time the relapse was maybe a temporary stress response to Christmas and the holidays, but it looks like that is not to be. We're in it for the long haul so PZI, here we come...

:mrgreen:

Laura
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top