Introducing Bobo

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ale & Bobo & Minnie (GA)

Member Since 2019
Here we go again!

Bobo has IBD and CKD so I’ve gotten used to him drinking lots of water. Still, I noticed since last week that he’s been drinking and peeing twice as much. He’s also been asking for food more often throughout the day and seems a bit more lethargic and uncomfortable. Not being new to this and all the early signs, I just did a spot check on him and his bg was 524 :banghead::banghead::banghead:

His last check up was a month ago and his blood work was normal then. He’s been on budesonide since because he was vomiting and not wanting to eat, but I can’t imagine that’s what brought on the diabetes?? Budesonide is not known to do that correct?

I have an appt with his IM on Friday to get him started on insulin asap. Since I probably won’t be able to wait the time it takes to get it from Mark’s Pharmacy, @Diane Tyler's Mom can you please remind me what coupons we can use for generic Lantus?

I’m not gonna lie, not thrilled about having a second sugar kitty but I know he’ll benefit from all the knowledge I have now thanks to his sister.

Food is going to be tricky as he’s a very finicky eater and I haven’t even been able to get him to eat CKD appropriate food… he seems to tolerate testing, but does hate needles and injections.

Thank you all!

upload_2023-4-3_13-18-13.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-4-3_13-18-13.jpeg
    upload_2023-4-3_13-18-13.jpeg
    50.7 KB · Views: 280
Should I update my signature with his info and remove Minnie’s?

As someone brand new to this, it's helpful to view spreadsheet data, even for kitties that are gone. Could you post both?

I'm sorry to hear this about Bobo (who should be told that he is very handsome) and I'll be following for what you learn about Budesonide, as it's one that I'm considering.
 
Thank you. He’s a mama’s boy and I think handsome too but I’m of course partial :p

I was just googling a bunch and it sounds like it’s more concentrated than pred actually although it’s supposed to stay in that one location, issues like kidney or liver malfunction can allow it to spread to the rest of the body, yikes! I’m going to start decreasing his dose too and see what that does. The good news is he was pretty easy to test and even with all the black fur I was able to see and get enough blood out do him on first try. We’ll see what the vet says on Friday but going to get him started on .5 Lantus asap
 
I would keep both spreadsheets. That's what other members with two diabetics do. Sorry you are part of that group now. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

He’s been on budesonide since because he was vomiting and not wanting to eat, but I can’t imagine that’s what brought on the diabetes?? Budesonide is not known to do that correct?
I do remember one kitty here who became diabetic because of budesonide. The majority don't, but a small percent do. There are also lots of cats that take prednisolone who don't get diabetes, so it's probably a combination thing. Was Bobo also on Cerenia and ondansetron before he started budesonide? Just wondering if that would be enough. Good luck with the vetty visit in figuring this out.
 
Hi - I am back with a new diabetic as well (by choice, she was just adopted and already diabetic). Personally, I shortened my info for my previous two diabetics in my signature in order to add the particulars for my new girl, Maxine. I also changed my username like you did, and I won't lie, but my heart sank a little when I took down Whispy's picture (a fluffy orange boy who was also the spitting image of our first diabetic, Brady) to add beautiful Maxine :(.

But FYI, we used budesonide with both Whispy and Brady, and noticed only a negligible increase in BGs, so small that I couldn't say conclusively that they were just normal variances rather than being confident that it was the steroid. I don't link my spreadsheets publicly, but we test a minimum of 4 times a day at pre-shots and near nadirs for AM and PM. But it was necessary for their IBD, so you just cross your fingers and adapt the insulin accordingly. Note: both were diagnosed with IBD and prescribed Budesonide *after* their diabetes diagnoses, and both had good results after adding in the budesonide.

Good luck with Bobo, he is a very handsome hauspanther! :bighug:
 
His last check up was a month ago and his blood work was normal then. He’s been on budesonide since because he was vomiting and not wanting to eat, but I can’t imagine that’s what brought on the diabetes?? Budesonide is not known to do that correct?
My second diabetic, Charlie, was also an exception regarding budesonide in that it definitely spiked his BG.

Charlie was a steroid-induced diabetic — very sensitive to steroids, although interestingly not very sensitive to high-carb food. He was diagnosed with hyperthyroidism, then developed IBD, then was started on prednisolone for the IBD. He almost immediately became diabetic. The IM vet pulled him off the pred and Charlie’s BG returned to normal but the IBD worsened. So, we tried budesonide, with almost the same results as we had with pred (spiked BG, insulin dependent). Add chronic pancreatitis to the mix (common in FD cats) and, well, Charlie was a mess.

Just curious … how was the IBD diagnosed? Did Bobo have an endoscopy?
And was an fPLI test run to test for chronic pancreatitis?

Charlie vomited 10+ times a day and had a lousy appetite, but for him those things were due to the chronic pancreatitis (his primary IBD symptom was severe diarrhea). Getting the CP under control and also using famotodine to help with the nausea made a huge difference. These days Ondansetron and Cerenia are more commonly used anti-nausea and anti-emetic drugs and both seem to work very well.

Despite budesonide’s reputation having a more localized impact on the GI tract, I think it’s really an every-cat-is-different (ECID) thing.
 
Hi Ale I hope this helps, BTW Bobo is adorable
Check this out
https://www.goodrx.com/insulin-glargine?dosage=five-3ml-prefilled-pens-of-100-units-ml&form=carton&label_override=insulin glargine&quantity=1
One pen would last me about 4 to 6 months . we use the pens just like a vial, you would just insert the syringe it the gray rubber stopper on the pen and draw out your insulin
Its generic lantus



Or this one also

I see some members will call CVS, Rite Aid, Costco, Walgreen's, to get the price for 5 pens
Posted by another member
One members posted this
. I paid $175 for a box of 5 pens at Walmart pharmacy, but GoodRX coupon says you can get it for around $90 if you have a Rite Aid pharmacy near you.
 
Ale have you tried any of these

As for wet food for cat that are diabetic and who have kidney disease you can try these
You can check these out from Weruva BFF like

One of our members put it together
BFF play chicken Checkmate
Protein 31%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 129%
BFF play chicken & turkey topsy turvy
Protein 32%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 129%
BFF play chicken cherish
Protein 31%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 135%
BFF chicken & turkey tiptoe
Protein 31%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 136%
BFF chicken duck & turkey take a chance
Protein 32%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 149%
BFF play chicken & lamb laugh out loud
Protein 31%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 154%
BFF play chicken & duck destiny
Protein 32%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 165%
BFF play chicken & beef best buds
Protein 33%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 171%
 
Thank you all :cat:

@Sandi&Maxine&Whispy(GA) Minnie was also already diabetic when I started her on the budesonide, so it didn’t cause the diabetes but it upped her dose considerably. She was getting pretty much twice as much insulin once she was on budesonide, but she was hospitalized for not eating, had a feeding tube for 2 weeks, so there was really no otter choice.

Bobo started vomiting and not wanting to eat last month. I had to syringe feed him as it lasted for days. @JL and Chip the pancreatitis fPL1 test was done and came back normal. Minnie had the endoscopy, Bobo hasn’t. He’s just had ultrasounds, but since they were litter mates and judging by the fact he’s showing all the same symptoms as she did, the vet and I are betting on IBD. He’s also on ondansetron and Cerenia now so I’m going to try to decrease the budesonide dose and see what happens. I started giving him 1/2 of a 1mg pill last night as opposed to the full pill.

@Diane Tyler's Mom he won’t eat any Weruva and I’ve tried every other low phosphorus kind out there. He really hates pate and he also won’t eat anything with big chunks. FF grilled is the only type of food he eats so it’s going to be challenging switching him to low carb :(
 
I have a Bobo as well! Most kids have teddy bears, I got a monkey from Holland in 1960. He's in his jammys missing a foot not far from our bed.
That name can only bring you luck o_O
Bobo é um gato muito bonito :rolleyes:
 
Você fala português?
I only know some Dutch phrases like "No mom, dad's not in a coma" and "liver and onions again?" You have to be careful who you say it to but 'Habibi' is a great icebreaker for kids who speak Arabic. To them it means "my little one" or "my love". My neighbor is a great guy but if I said that to his wife I'd lose a few teeth. :blackeye:
She hates cats anyways so who cares.
 
Thank you all :cat:

@Sandi&Maxine&Whispy(GA) Minnie was also already diabetic when I started her on the budesonide, so it didn’t cause the diabetes but it upped her dose considerably. She was getting pretty much twice as much insulin once she was on budesonide, but she was hospitalized for not eating, had a feeding tube for 2 weeks, so there was really no otter choice.

Bobo started vomiting and not wanting to eat last month. I had to syringe feed him as it lasted for days. @JL and Chip the pancreatitis fPL1 test was done and came back normal. Minnie had the endoscopy, Bobo hasn’t. He’s just had ultrasounds, but since they were litter mates and judging by the fact he’s showing all the same symptoms as she did, the vet and I are betting on IBD. He’s also on ondansetron and Cerenia now so I’m going to try to decrease the budesonide dose and see what happens. I started giving him 1/2 of a 1mg pill last night as opposed to the full pill.

@Diane Tyler's Mom he won’t eat any Weruva and I’ve tried every other low phosphorus kind out there. He really hates pate and he also won’t eat anything with big chunks. FF grilled is the only type of food he eats so it’s going to be challenging switching him to low carb :(

How do you dose the Cerenia? I've not had success in getting it into my girl. I was considering grinding it up and putting it into her food as a last ditch effort, but it's such a tiny dose.
 
Are you using the 16mg tablets? I give Bobo 1/2 a tablet by mouth. I wrapped it into a super thin layer of pill pocket, just enough so it slides down how throat when I open his mouth and drop it in
 
Yes, and I was told to give .25 a tablet to start.

I've been lucky in that I've never had to pill her - she's always taken what's offered (in a pill pocket), but not this.

Thank you (for like the 87th time this week :)).

@Ale & Bobo & Minnie (GA) She vomited again - it's lately just a small amount, and she just looks off. I do think it's nausea. I did as you suggested with a pill pocket and a bit of water and while she was super affronted (18 years with this kitty and I've never had to pill her - she's so good), I think I got it in her. Fingers crossed that it helps.
 
Last edited:
How much does she weigh? The dose is based on weight. I was told to give Bobo 1/4 in the beginning as well. It was very hard to cut it up and not have it break it into tiny pieces or even powder so I upped him to 1/2 a pill. He is 15 pounds.

did she vomit food or just liquid? Is she eating okay? If it’s nausea, ask your vet for a prescription for ondansetron. I find it works better for nausea than cerenia

I’m sure you know this, but I tilt their head back then gently but firmly open their mouth with one hand and with the other I drop the pill in. I can try to video later today. I also always give a treat or offer food after to help it go down. I also have a piller that had a compartment for water so when you push it in, it propels the pill followed by a jet of water. It works really well for capsules, but it’s tricky with smaller pills.
 
How much does she weigh? The dose is based on weight. I was told to give Bobo 1/4 in the beginning as well. It was very hard to cut it up and not have it break it into tiny pieces or even powder so I upped him to 1/2 a pill. He is 15 pounds.

did she vomit food or just liquid? Is she eating okay? If it’s nausea, ask your vet for a prescription for ondansetron. I find it works better for nausea than cerenia

I’m sure you know this, but I tilt their head back then gently but firmly open their mouth with one hand and with the other I drop the pill in. I can try to video later today. I also always give a treat or offer food after to help it go down. I also have a piller that had a compartment for water so when you push it in, it propels the pill followed by a jet of water. It works really well for capsules, but it’s tricky with smaller pills.


Thanks Ale. She's 10.5 and probably should be below 9.5. She has thrown up some food, but the steroids have minimized that; the last 4-5 days it's just been a small amount of liquid.

I had work meetings so I just got home, but she definitely looks like she feels much better today.

The vet texted that they've called in the Lantus generic and she'll reach out later to discuss my question about nausea - I bet it's to switch her to ondansetron.
 
UPDATE: I’ve been getting HI now when I test him so planning to get him started tonight on 1/2 unit. I was able to get Lantus from another member based in LA last night and its exp is 5/23 so I’ll have about a month which gives me time to order more from Marks. Going to get syringes at Walmart today and I have to create his spreadsheet to link to my signature.

he doesn’t love it, but has been putting up with the testing and is surprisingly a good bleeder! I haven’t had any issues getting a good size droplet on first attempt. It’s been harder removing his temptation treats but going to get a few more freeze dried options today. Transitioning him slowly to FF pate, which is also proving to be challenging. He’s not like Minnie who would eat anything I put in front of her. He can be hungry and will still refuse the foods he doesn’t like it :(
 
@Diane Tyler's Mom, your post saved me approximately $250. The vet called in "generic Lantus pens", and my Safeway was unaware that Glargine pens were even available now. They had filled it Lantus at a cost of $400.

I was already aware of GoodRx, but I quickly pulled up the forum and found this post. He applied the coupon and while not the exact savings show above, he's got the five pen carton on order for me for $150, to arrive tomorrow. :)
 
Ale have you tried any of these

As for wet food for cat that are diabetic and who have kidney disease you can try these
You can check these out from Weruva BFF like

One of our members put it together
BFF play chicken Checkmate
Protein 31%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 129%
BFF play chicken & turkey topsy turvy
Protein 32%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 129%
BFF play chicken cherish
Protein 31%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 135%
BFF chicken & turkey tiptoe
Protein 31%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 136%
BFF chicken duck & turkey take a chance
Protein 32%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 149%
BFF play chicken & lamb laugh out loud
Protein 31%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 154%
BFF play chicken & duck destiny
Protein 32%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 165%
BFF play chicken & beef best buds
Protein 33%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 171%

I picked up some Weruva WX yesterday which is supposed to be their lowest phosphorus line and of course, he won’t eat that either. I also got Quest raw food. I’m defrosting it in the fridge and will try it on him tonight. :(
 
I picked up some Weruva WX yesterday which is supposed to be their lowest phosphorus line and of course, he won’t eat that either. I also got Quest raw food. I’m defrosting it in the fridge and will try it on him tonight. :(
My boys didn't like it either :( Panzer will eat some of the weruva BFF but Spook hates weruva. He mainly eats fancy feast & Panzer eats it sometimes too. I would love to get both of them on weruva but I swear that FF is kitty crack:rolleyes: I hope Bobo does well on the insulin:)
 
Hi Ale. Sorry to see you have another diabetic and hoping he won’t need to stay on budesonide. He’s adorable. When you need to get more insulin go to Costco. I looked recently when someone mentioned it being cheaper there if you get a biosimilar and it’s true.
 
I’m not a Costco member :( but I’ll check it out.

Thank you Elise. You were one of Minnie’s guardian angels here and I hope you’ll be one for Bobo too. Will start posting on the Lantus forum soon but right now his numbers are all over the place still. Hoping it will be better once I can fully transition him to low carb and he’s off the budesonide. I reread the TR protocols and since he’s a bit over 6 kilos, I should have started him on 1.5 units, 1/4 per kilo, not 1 unit so I’m going to try to up him soon.
 
I gave him some of the Quest raw food and he scarfed it down! It’s low carb, not sure how low exactly but going to find out, and 1.3% phosphorus which is not horrible I guess. I got the pork but there’s also chicken and white fish. If he likes all 3, I may be finally able to get him off of FF :D

https://www.stevesrealfood.com/raw-cat-food/frozen-diets/
The carb content is 2.6%. I highly encourage anyone wanting to feed raw food and not wanting to make it at home to try this brand. Great customer service too. They got back to me super quickly!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top