George’s Mom
Member
Hi! New to posting to this forum. Been getting advice from other posts for a while now.
George, 17.5 year old otherwise healthy kitty, has been diagnosed as diabetic for about 10 mos now. He was on 4 units 2 x a day but the PZI was only lasting about 6 hours and then his BG was shooting up to >500. We have had him consistently on a Libre sensor for about 2 months. His PZI nadir was not going below 200. So he was bouncing mostly between 300 and 500 and rarely below 200 (maybe twice in 2 mos).
So we have switched to Lantus. Vet recommended 2 units 2x a day. His numbers are much flatter which is good (no big bounces liked it did with PZI). However, we are not getting readings below 350 now. Nadir is 350-400 and rest of the time it’s >400.
Feeding him low carb wet food only - Beyond Trout and Catfish (1%) or Duck (3%). He free feeds and eats often.
I after 6 cycles, I bumped him up to 2.5 units 2x a day. That was yesterday morning and then moved to 2.75 because he’s so high. Kitty doesn’t feel good and is very lethargic. He also has some neuropathy. *I bumped him to 3 tonight.*
I’ve read the guidelines on tight regulation Lantus administration and have been using this. I’m just wondering if I should bump him up more aggressively since he is so high and doesn’t go low at all?
***I just created the spreadsheet and figured out the signature etc. Let me know if I missed something but I think I am following all forum guidelines for info provided now*** Also, my spreadsheet has a tab with curve pictures in it.
Thanks! This message board is amazing btw!
Rachel
link to my original post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/lantus-bg-too-high.265716/
George, 17.5 year old otherwise healthy kitty, has been diagnosed as diabetic for about 10 mos now. He was on 4 units 2 x a day but the PZI was only lasting about 6 hours and then his BG was shooting up to >500. We have had him consistently on a Libre sensor for about 2 months. His PZI nadir was not going below 200. So he was bouncing mostly between 300 and 500 and rarely below 200 (maybe twice in 2 mos).
So we have switched to Lantus. Vet recommended 2 units 2x a day. His numbers are much flatter which is good (no big bounces liked it did with PZI). However, we are not getting readings below 350 now. Nadir is 350-400 and rest of the time it’s >400.
Feeding him low carb wet food only - Beyond Trout and Catfish (1%) or Duck (3%). He free feeds and eats often.
I after 6 cycles, I bumped him up to 2.5 units 2x a day. That was yesterday morning and then moved to 2.75 because he’s so high. Kitty doesn’t feel good and is very lethargic. He also has some neuropathy. *I bumped him to 3 tonight.*
I’ve read the guidelines on tight regulation Lantus administration and have been using this. I’m just wondering if I should bump him up more aggressively since he is so high and doesn’t go low at all?
***I just created the spreadsheet and figured out the signature etc. Let me know if I missed something but I think I am following all forum guidelines for info provided now*** Also, my spreadsheet has a tab with curve pictures in it.
Thanks! This message board is amazing btw!
Rachel
link to my original post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/lantus-bg-too-high.265716/