Intro for Mr. Mittens

Status
Not open for further replies.

AshMitts1986

Member Since 2011
Hello,
My name is Ashley. My cat's name is Mittens. I found out a week ago that Mittens is diabetic :-|. Recently, Mittens lost 8 lbs. within a couple of months. He was always a very over weight cat and it was surprising that he suddenly lost so much weight. I also noticed him drinking lots of water. Mittens is 15 and has been with my family and I for all 15 years, minus a few months of course :-P. Anyway, I have hypoglycemia, so I was not completely disturbed by the fact that my cat is diabetic. While it is upsetting, it is a much better outcome than what we thought was wrong with him.

Monday, a mear 5 days ago, we started Mittens on insulin. I check his glucose before every shot. (2 shots a day) His poor little ears are pink from the testing, but I feel better about it than not knowing. So, according to Mittens' initial blood draw by the vet, his glucose was in the 490's. Over the past few days he has been up and down quite a bit. Today at the vet his glucose was in the low 100's (this was after breakfast at 6am before insulin shot around 9am), the vet then tells me to lower his insulin but 1 unit, he was getting 3. I go home and give him 2 units. Tonight I tested his sugar and my meter said that it was in the 600's and flashed a big warning but will not tell me the exact number.

I am very worried about Mr. Mittens. How long will I have to deal with this rollercoaster?

Thanks for taking the time to read my ramblings... Any comments/suggestions/ect. will be much appreciated

Ash and Mittens nailbite_smile
 
First off let me say that Mr. Mittens is a very distinguished name and I'm glad that you were able to discover his diabetes.
Dainty is new to the daily ear pokes as well. I have found that the smaller the needle is (being able to still get blood) and the longer I hold pressure to the ear the less red it is the next day.
As for regulation.. I'm not one to speak on this. Dainty is pretty stubborn about keeping in the mid 300's. Keeping track of your kitties numbers will give you and your vet a ton of information about how Mittens is handling the insulin. If you haven't started writing down the numbers and when you tested I would highly recommend starting. Here's a link someone gave me that helped me set up Dainty's spreadsheet http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=18207
Diet is also part of the prescription. I didn't realize just how much so until I started home testing her.
I have found that any food (even just a couple of treaties) will affect her. I feed her two different types of fancy feast (she gets bored and stops one and I have to switch to the other) Fancy Feast Turkey and Giblets will on average raise her level by 30-40 and dry kibble (even the low carb expensive one) puts us into the 400s.
This is a great site for advice. I've come across many an issue with Dainty and the people on this site have been really helpful.
 
Well from what I understand
I'm quoting SaraJaye, another person on this site who answered my question along the same lines," AMPS is your "A.M. Pre Shot" number, and your PMPS is "P.M. Pre Shot" number. It's the BG (blood glucose) reading that you get just before you shoot insulin. +1 is an hour after either shot, +3 is three hours after the shot, +9 is 9 hours after, etc."
The "U" column stands for how many units of insulin you gave your kitty and the remarks section is for things you noticed (changes in behavior, possible improper insulin administration etc.) Hope that helps.
 
Ont thing that helps with the bruising on ears, is to apply a bit of gentle pressure
to the poked area just after collecting the blood drop.

Sip up the blood to the test strip, then set the meter down to complete it's test cycle.

Wrap a bit of folded tissue or a strip of cosmetic pad around the edge of the ear and hold with thumb and
finger for about 10 seconds with that gentle pressure to stop
the bleeding where you poked.
 
hI AND WELCOME

congratulations on testing already. that is half the battle and an informed peep is one that can treat their cat the best.
what insulin are you using
what food are you feeding
once you get the testing down, there is no reason to have mittens tested at vets. this will usually be a stressed related number.
I would drop insulin down to 1 unit twice a day. I think mittens was started on too high a dose and he could be bouncing.
how far are you from PGH pa?
 
First of all I want to say thanks to everyone that has responded!

I am working on getting Mittens' spread sheet started. Luckily my meter stores all of his results.

Mittens is on prozinc

He gets fed twice a day 6am and 6pm. He was eating purina cat chow complete formula. He has been eating dry food his entire life. A few months ago I introduced Friskees wet cat food. He got his regular 1/2 cup of dry food in the morning and then on some evenings he got 1/3 of a can of wet food and 1/4 cup of dry food. Mittens has two other kitty companions, both over-weight. I did some research and found that dry food is pretty much to blame so we were working on getting some wet food into their diets. Luckily they will eat pretty much whatever I put in front of them. I now have some 9-lives wet food instead of the friskies(it was cheaper). My father feeds the cats on most days and when he feeds them they get dry food. I can not track the effects of the wetfood on Mittens' diet because I am never sure of whether or not he is given wet food.

Okay so I am full of questions! I am afraid that the combo of starting insulin and random servings of the wet food is just too much to try to track. Should I stop the wet food and stablize Mittens' sugar and then slowly re-introduce the wet food? That is my biggest question.

I also feel that MIttens was started on a VERY high amount of insulin. I am so glad that I am used to testing my own sugar so that I am not as stressed about testing his! I fully understand the importance of it. I am a little shocked that vets don't push more for it.

dian and wheezer- what is PGH pa?

Thanks again!
Ash and Mr. Mittens
 
I think that you are right to be concerned about how high his insulin dose is. It is probably b/c of the high carb dry food that he is eating.

Rather than cutting out the wet food, the better approach is to cut out all dry food for all your kitties. If they are all used to getting some wet food occasionally, they should be ok with changing to all wet only. Just be sure that you only use the pates, no gravy as it is much higher carb. However, others have noticed as much as a 100 point drop in bg just by removing dry food. I say this by warning that you will have to watch him very carefully, and likely reduce the insulin when you remove the dry food. Changing his diet will be important in regulating his diabetes.
 
Thanks for the input Just-As-Appy!

Does anyone have any suggestions on best type of wet food. I am reading all labels to make sure they are vegetable/fruit/grain free for my little carnivore. I am so worried about cat food recalls.

Also, I went to the site to get the spreadsheet and when I click on Use this template nothing happens lol.
 
pittsburgh pa
agree, dry food is what needs to be eliminated. read the food links from other posts and buy wet foods <10% carbs. wet food will do wonders for all the cats. loose weight and get a nice soft fluffy shiny coat. this will also help eliminate the possibility of other cats getting diabetes. the dry was/is probably the only thing keeping cat from going hypo. switch to all wet food and drop dose down to .5u or 1u Bid (twice a day) and test to see how insulin and food are working together. ask as many questions as you need. remember, there is never a dumb question
 
depending on budget special kitty large cans super supper, mixed grill some have large cans of turkey and giblets,
fancy feast, the classics
9 lives do not know which ones but those from chart <10% believe this is in 3rd column
friskies, some of the fish, turkey and giblets and a few more that slip my mind
 
I feed the grain free flavors of Fancy Feast: http://www.felinediabetes.com/glutenfree.htm

But Friskies has low carb flavors, too. The ones I know off of the top of my head are Turkey & Giblets, Salmon, and all of the Special Diet Pates. I've found that pretty much anything that does not contain sugar, corn syrup, or any type of grain (rice, wheat, soy and corn) is ok.

I agree that you should ditch the dry food. It's going to be extremely difficult to regulate his blood sugar while he's eating it (kind of like a human diabetic trying to regulate their blood sugar while eating nothing but McDonalds).
 
Gave the cats just wet food this morning around 8am. Just tested his bg at 11:30am and it was 207! Yay did not give insulin... Unsure due to already low level several hours after eating.

Thanks for all the advice! I'm thinking we might be able to get him off the insulin if we just change his diet. I wish the vet would have let me change his diet before starting the insulin.
 
Date Time Food BG
4/16/2011 8:44 PM .5 cup dry 367
4/17/2011 7:02 PM .5 cup dry 467
4/18/2011 9:00 AM .5 cup dry vet 3 U
7:43 PM .5 cup dry 406 3 U
10:34 PM 355
4/19/2011 10:43 AM .5 cup dry 358 3 U
6:13 PM .5 cup dry 195
9:41 PM 259 3U
Here are Mittens' numbers for the last week since I can not get the google page to download on my comp. I am concerned about this mornings number. Yes its low, but I am worried it will be too low...IDK I'm so confused. nailbite_smile

4/20/2011 9:25 AM wet/dry 212
10:05 AM 287 2 U
9:54 PM .5 cup dry 582 3 U
4/21/2011 10:00 AM .5 cup dry 3U?
10:17 PM .5 cup dry 540 3U
4/22/2011 9:00 AM .5cup dry vet 200? 2U
10:00 PM .5 cup dry HI 600+ 3U
Midnight 480
4/23/2011 8:58 AM wet/dry 319 2U
9:12 PM .5 cup dry 521 2U
11:46 PM 366
4/24/2011 11:06 AM wet 207 0 U
11:09 PM wet 300 1.5U
4/25/2011 7:21 wet 86 0 U
 
+hi ashley. one reason you are getting wonky numbers is because of the dry food. and could be the only reason he is not getting lower numbers on this dose. if you put him on a low carb wet food, I would cut his dose down to 1u maybe even .5u. putting on the low card wet will more than likely give you 100 point drop. at least it has in a lot of cats. that is why we suggest lowering dose when switching to all wet. the dry food is only going to keep mitts in higher numbers
 
Wow, look at that drop already just from eliminating the dry food! I'm not a Prozinc user so I can't give you dosing advice, but it looks like Mr. Mittens is going to need a much lower dose of insulin. You'll probably need to start him over on a beginner's dose--.5u or 1u. The more tests you can get in, the better you'll be able to tell how much you need.
 
I agree! I contacted the vet this morning and she basically said the obvious, do not give him insulin when his sugar is already so low. She also said something about maybe only giving him 1 shot a day instead of 2. I am just happy he is low and will definitally continue with the wet food no matter the cost.

4/25/2011 7:21 wet 86 0 U
7:20 PM wet 233
8:36 PM 286 .5 U
Thats todays results. I am really hoping he doesnt get too low tonight. I will probably check one more time before bed.
 
Cats have fast metabolisms, so one shot a day doesn't work (my old vet told me to only shoot once a day, and it was completely useless). It's better to give two doses a day, even if they're lower.
 
86 is a beautiful number and shows a lot of promise!

Just had to come and wish your Mr Mittens good luck. My new little adopted boy's name is Mr Mittens :)
 
I agree one shot does seem odd but if it works with his numbers then... well I guess we will just have to wait and see.

Thanks Melanie and Smokey! Congrats on the adoption! I Love kitties lol
 
I'm afraid your vet is incorrect on this - the insulin has a 12-hour "life" - more or less. Which means you could potentially get good numbers for 12 hours a day, but the other 12 hours will be a roller coaster ride. I'm sorry to say that your cat's insulin levels will not get regulated unless you stay on the twice-a-day schedule.
 
Thank you Sara, I fully agree. Hopefully I will have a day off soon so that I can take his bg every hour. That would give me a lot of insight as to what his bg is doing all day. I know what its like to having my sugar bouncing all over the place and it is awful!

Ash
 
Insulin is needed twice a day for cats.
I think you would like to get your cat regulated and maybe even off insulin, yes? You may be successful if you feed only the wet low carb food and stick with the insulin twice a day.
There are many animals with diabetes that is handled with food alone. Diet controlled is possible but it will never by feeding dry food and only one shot a day of insulin.

Stick with the lower dose of insulin, and remove the dry food.
 
Just wanted to post an update for Mr. Mittens! He has been insulin free for over a week and is still turning out bg lvls around 140!
He has been switched to a complete diet of wet cat food. I prefer to feed friskies or 9-lives though they are fairly expensive (50 cents) a can. Has anyone tried the Kroger brand of wet food, Pet Pride? It is cheaper, but I am wondering if its worth switching because of the ingredients?

Again, Mr. Mittens and I appreciate EVERYONE's advice and hope that we continue to see low bg lvls.

:mrgreen:
 
I am so glad Mr. Mittens is feeling better. We consider a cat OTJ when they run from 40 -110 with most of the time in double digits. If you want help with mini dosing, we have lots of people on the PZI forum who are giving those mini doses. You might check out some of their spreadsheets: viewforum.php?f=24
 
oops... lol Well after discussing mittens results with the vet the other day we both felt that he would be better off the insulin so he wont become hypo. Luckily I can home test and not have to take him to the vet. :-)
 
It is tricky and a little scary to dose low numbers, but without that, you run the risk of him in higher numbers again. Here is some PZI info on mini dosing:

Micro Dosing headed to remission

When your cat is consistently in numbers too low to shoot at shot time and in numbers in the 100 range and below during the cycle, you can consider micro dosing. This process should be guided on the forum by experienced members and will require more frequent testing.

You may be shooting at times other than the 12/12 schedule, when the blood glucose levels rise enough to require a small dose of insulin. You will need to pick a number somewhere near the 150 range at which you will plan to shoot, being sure that the number is indeed rising. The dose at these low numbers will vary with each cat and its patterns, so advice should be solicited. But you may be considering doses below .25 and even considering a “drop” of insulin. At this point, U100 needles and the conversion chart will be necessary.

It is important during this period to offer small frequent meals. You may want to experiment with the lowest carb foods to help bring down the numbers, staying away from seafood more than once or twice a week.
 
You can definitely try lowering the carb level of the food also. If you are feeding 8-10%, try for 5-7% Sometimes that is all it takes.

Before giving any insulin, I would suggest getting some numbers during the day (or night) so you have a range. It makes a big difference in whether you are patient and wait out a higher number or give a drop of insulin to have an idea of what numbers he goes between.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top