Intro, and question

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Cardinal, Mar 3, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cardinal

Cardinal New Member

Hi, I just joined and have a 12 year old n/m cat who I believe to be diabetic. (No $ for a Vet) I was a Vet tech for 10 years in another life, so my guess is an "educated" one.
    He is not on insulin, and has recently (as of yesterday) been vomiting what he eats.
    I have him confined in a large dog kennel so I can catch his urine and test it with Ketostix.
    My question is, what is the best electrolyte supplement I can get him, and what is the best that would be available at Petsmart or Walmart?
    I am thinking if he tests positive I might need to get some electrolytes into him asap.
    Thanks in advance for your responses and understanding.

2. Larry and Kitties

Larry and Kitties Well-Known Member

A diabetic cats needs more than electrolytes. I recommend that you take your cat to a vet.

3. LynnLee + Mousie

LynnLee + Mousie Well-Known Member

yeah, if he needs electrolytes than his diabetes is a bit more progressed and treatment with insulin would be necessary. sooner than later as i'm sure you are aware of the complications that can occur.

what makes you think he's diabetic? what symptoms are you seeing?

also, do you know anyone that is diabetic or can you afford to pick up a glucose meter at walmart? their house meter is only $12 (Relion Micro or Confirm) and you can at least get 20 or 25 test strips for it pretty cheap. that would be one way to get an idea as to what the glucose levels are.

now that doesn't necessarily mean he's diabetic, it could mean that there's an infection or something that's raising his levels but you'd have a better idea as to whether you need a vet

4. Hope + (((Baby)))GA

Hope + (((Baby)))GA Well-Known Member