Interpreting SS and dosing adivce needed (Levemir)

Status
Not open for further replies.

KSAkitties

Member
Hello,

I need some help interpreting Major's SS and dosing advice.

I started slowly reducing Major’s insulin from 0.75u to 0.5u for the past week. I held 0.6u for a week then started 0.5u (fat) last night.
In the last few days (except today), Major’s +4 reading dropped to the 40’s (as low as 40 on 21 Oct) at 0.6u of Levemir. Yesterday, his BG dropped sharply from 134 mmol/dL @ AMPS to 46 @+4 then again from 129 mmol/dL @ PMPS to 48 @+4. However, his pre-shot vales seem to be higher than normal. Is this because Major’s BG dropped too fast and too much so we are seeing a bit of rebound on his pre-shot numbers?

I don’t know why his BG dropped so much so fast on Levemir. What does this mean? Dose this sometimes happen to kitties on Levemir? Am I doing the right thing to reduce his insulin to 0.5u now even though his pre-shot BG is actually slightly higher than his pre-shot values in the past?

My current plan is to hold Major’s dose at 0.5u for another week and see how he does. Does this sound right?

Any advice is much appreciated.
 
I think you need to remind yourself that there is that shed in place with Lev.
When you gave .6u at pmps and you got a 40 for the +4, the next morn you gave .6u again and got the 48 for +4.
It's good that you reduced the dose 10/22 at pmps BUT there's still the shed there, so you will not see the effects of your decrease until the following shot..... the shed needs to drain that extra .1 of Lev.
Notice you got a more flat cycle the next morn.

Now, you may find that the decrease was needed just to drain the extra and you may need to go back up, but wait and see how it goes for the next couple cycles. NDW always causes ripples, so you need to give any dose change a cycle or two to settle.... you increase, expect higher numbers as the shed is topped up.... you decrease, expect a delay in the higher numbers as the shed drains.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top