Nora & John & Tommy
Member Since 2010
Hi,
Tommy Walker is a 20 lb Maine Coon, diagnosed 9/19/10, and started on 4u Lantus BID.
Dose was increased by the vet to current levels with minimal BG testing.
Proper diet and monitoring were finally implemented 11/3/10, and we began trying to follow protocols.
11/9/10 through 11/11/10 we tried the Hogdkins approach with Prozinc, but this turned out to be bizarrely unpredictable.
His Lantus chart is here: https://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key=t4yRy7w52dmdRchqeRcCaHQ&authkey=CK3I6tcN#gid=0.
We have noticed that a) his dose is relatively high, b) the dose had been increased somewhat quickly and blindly, c) on Prozinc a 2u dose sent BG to the 30's, d) his BG curves seem to run from 24-36 hours, and have no correlation with an insulin curve, and e) the recent increase to 6u seems to have flattened the curve. We were wondering if this looked like a rebound situation? Impatient owners?
Any insights appreciated!
Tommy Walker is a 20 lb Maine Coon, diagnosed 9/19/10, and started on 4u Lantus BID.
Dose was increased by the vet to current levels with minimal BG testing.
Proper diet and monitoring were finally implemented 11/3/10, and we began trying to follow protocols.
11/9/10 through 11/11/10 we tried the Hogdkins approach with Prozinc, but this turned out to be bizarrely unpredictable.
His Lantus chart is here: https://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key=t4yRy7w52dmdRchqeRcCaHQ&authkey=CK3I6tcN#gid=0.
We have noticed that a) his dose is relatively high, b) the dose had been increased somewhat quickly and blindly, c) on Prozinc a 2u dose sent BG to the 30's, d) his BG curves seem to run from 24-36 hours, and have no correlation with an insulin curve, and e) the recent increase to 6u seems to have flattened the curve. We were wondering if this looked like a rebound situation? Impatient owners?
Any insights appreciated!