Insulin units

Misopolinou Anastasia

Member Since 2024
7/9 Toulis Amps 233 +2 260 human meter
Hello.I am Anastasia how are you?I hope for your help to make my cat get well.I d like to ask some questions.Sometimes I work on shifts and Ican not give my cat insuline injection and I dont know anyone who can help me .That happens usually four to five times a nonth .Does that affects his helth and how?we start insuline treatment before 12 days. How do I know that the units of insulin that my doctor suggested is correctAnd my last Question I have to go for a week and I can not take him with me I have a friend who can take care of him but he can not measure him and not give him injectios .How does that affects his treatment ?Please if anyone can check his spreadsheet and help us .
Thank you
 
Can a vet tech be hired to give insulin while you are away? Can you teach your friend to give insulin shots at least? You risk ketones if high for a week. Are you testing for ketones? Going without for 4-5 days a month is not ideal but you do the best you can.
 
Usually every vet's office has someone who does petsitting on the side. Or they might have an information board where petsitters post their cards. I've got a petsitter who has giving insulin shots before. I've also seen people use youth in the neighbourhood who love animals and thinking of becoming a vet. Or someone in the area who is a nurse? Can you train your friend to give injections?
How do I know that the units of insulin that my doctor suggested is correct
We have a couple dosing methods described in our Sticky Note on Dosing Methods. If you pick one of those methods that works for you, you don't even need the vet to help decide on the dose. We can help you with that. With both of our dosing methods, we test enough to know low the dose is taking the cat, and decide what to do based on that answer.
 
Can a vet tech be hired to give insulin while you are away? Can you teach your friend to give insulin shots at least? You risk ketones if high for a week. Are you testing for ketones? Going without for 4-5 days a month is not ideal but you do the best you can.
Thank you for your ansewst mw to take jim to a clinic and lwft
I will tag some experts for you. @Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee @Bandit's Mom
Thank you
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoM
Usually every vet's office has someone who does petsitting on the side. Or they might have an information board where petsitters post their cards. I've got a petsitter who has giving insulin shots before. I've also seen people use youth in the neighbourhood who love animals and thinking of becoming a vet. Or someone in the area who is a nurse? Can you train your friend to give injections?

We have a couple dosing methods described in our Sticky Note on Dosing Methods. If you pick one of those methods that works for you, you don't even need the vet to help decide on the dose. We can help you with that. With both of our dosing methods, we test enough to know low the dose is taking the cat, and decide what to do based on that answer.
My vet suggested me to take him in a clinic When i called them the said to me the can not keep him.I called another clinic and the said that Toulis would.be very stressed if he stayed in clinic for days Its better to stay home So i found a person who can only take care of him.Only food ,water and cleaning He declines to give him injections or measure blood sugar
 
Usually every vet's office has someone who does petsitting on the side. Or they might have an information board where petsitters post their cards. I've got a petsitter who has giving insulin shots before. I've also seen people use youth in the neighbourhood who love animals and thinking of becoming a vet. Or someone in the area who is a nurse? Can you train your friend to give injections?

We have a couple dosing methods described in our Sticky Note on Dosing Methods. If you pick one of those methods that works for you, you don't even need the vet to help decide on the dose. We can help you with that. With both of our dosing methods, we test enough to know low the dose is taking the cat, and decide what to do based on that answer.
Thank you
 
Keep calling different vet clinics in your area. You don't have to be a client there to hire one of their staff to petsit. Maybe the local humane society has a suggestion? Call them too.
 
Can a vet tech be hired to give insulin while you are away? Can you teach your friend to give insulin shots at least? You risk ketones if high for a week. Are you testing for ketones? Going without for 4-5 days a month is not ideal but you do the best you can.
Hello again How are you.I dlike to ask you a question I fond a girl who can give injections to Toulis ann measurements.I wil be gone for fivwt days .Do you think its better to reduce thw dose?Do you think its better to stop injectios while I am not with him Coukd yoy check his spreadsheet and tell me what to do ?
 
Back
Top