my Casey bear
Active Member
I should be getting Casey’s insulin by mail tomorrow, Tues, and want to start giving her shots that night. Since I would be working full days on Wed and Thurs, I was thinking I would start her on a reduced dose. (Start low, go slow…)
The vet had dx (Lantus) 1u bid based on Casey’s weight and home test BG #’s ranging from 246 – 286. Through what I had learned, I thought I would start low…maybe .5u bid; but her BG #’s seem to be creeping up (see Casey’s Chart). ( :roll: Ok, I may be over reacting, but this was my first home test BG over 300)
So What do you think…should I still start at a reduced amount or the full 1u? (I am asking now so I won’t be frantic about it tomorrow evening.) Oh, another question, I haven't gone to the vets for a injection demo yet and in a dilemma re: what to do... (I have watched the videos on youtube, and messaged re: how to give the injections) Should I allow her to get stressed by bringing her to the vet right before her injection, or risk that I might not do it correctly? (I think I already know the answer to this one based on how the question came out, but I am sooo nervious... nailbite_smile )
Roberta
and Casey
The vet had dx (Lantus) 1u bid based on Casey’s weight and home test BG #’s ranging from 246 – 286. Through what I had learned, I thought I would start low…maybe .5u bid; but her BG #’s seem to be creeping up (see Casey’s Chart). ( :roll: Ok, I may be over reacting, but this was my first home test BG over 300)
So What do you think…should I still start at a reduced amount or the full 1u? (I am asking now so I won’t be frantic about it tomorrow evening.) Oh, another question, I haven't gone to the vets for a injection demo yet and in a dilemma re: what to do... (I have watched the videos on youtube, and messaged re: how to give the injections) Should I allow her to get stressed by bringing her to the vet right before her injection, or risk that I might not do it correctly? (I think I already know the answer to this one based on how the question came out, but I am sooo nervious... nailbite_smile )
Roberta
and Casey