Insulin starts tomorrow, BG is creeping up...Reduce or not?

Status
Not open for further replies.

my Casey bear

Active Member
I should be getting Casey’s insulin by mail tomorrow, Tues, and want to start giving her shots that night. Since I would be working full days on Wed and Thurs, I was thinking I would start her on a reduced dose. (Start low, go slow…)

The vet had dx (Lantus) 1u bid based on Casey’s weight and home test BG #’s ranging from 246 – 286. Through what I had learned, I thought I would start low…maybe .5u bid; but her BG #’s seem to be creeping up (see Casey’s Chart). ( :roll: Ok, I may be over reacting, but this was my first home test BG over 300)

So What do you think…should I still start at a reduced amount or the full 1u? (I am asking now so I won’t be frantic about it tomorrow evening.) Oh, another question, I haven't gone to the vets for a injection demo yet and in a dilemma re: what to do... (I have watched the videos on youtube, and messaged re: how to give the injections) Should I allow her to get stressed by bringing her to the vet right before her injection, or risk that I might not do it correctly? (I think I already know the answer to this one based on how the question came out, but I am sooo nervious... nailbite_smile )

Roberta
and Casey
 
Re: Insulin starts tomorrow, BG is creeping up...Reduce or n

Roberta, I'll tell ya what. Start low...is not always so low if you know what I mean. You may not see much action for a day or 2. Lantus builds up in the body.
It is much harder to reduce than to raise your dose.
Plus,,,you want at all costs to avoid overdose.
sooooo, what do you think?
Lori
 
Re: Insulin starts tomorrow, BG is creeping up...Reduce or n

Thanks Lori.....guess I am getting nervious...and anxious.
 
Re: Insulin starts tomorrow, BG is creeping up...Reduce or n

yes i know....but think how exciting it can be too.
 
Re: Insulin starts tomorrow, BG is creeping up...Reduce or n

your doing something to really help casey now.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top