Insulin resistance - help, advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

KeikosHuman

Member Since 2014
My 11 yo Maine Coon was diagnosed with diabetes June 1. Since then, we've worked on regulating him without success. His numbers are in the 300 and 400s. He's on glargine. He started on 1 unit twice a day, went up to 6 units twice a day. The vet recommended teeth cleaning to see if an infection was causing the resistance. After that, he began again on 1 unit. We're now on 2 units again and his BS is still in the 400s or 300s. The vet wants another curve to see if he has somogyi. Then increase the dose by .5 units instead of the 1 unit increases he's had. He's never had a number below 305 so I don't see how somogyi could be in play here. His numbers were "better" on 1 unit being mostly in the 300s. I switched him to wet cat food only in June and now I give cooked human chicken with wet cat food.

I am upset and cried today as it has been expensive and time consuming and worst of all not working. Keiko sits and sleeps by the food bowl quite a bit as though he can't get enough nutrition.

I'm not sure the vet knows what to do next. I am about to insist on going back to 1 unit and trying ProZinc instead of glargine but I am not a vet and feel completely out of my comfort zone. I feel like we're dong the same thing again and it has not worked. Any one with any advice I would love to hear.
 
Can you post the BG curves and other BG values noting the BG, the dose, the times since the injection and where the BG was taken. The latter is important since going to the vet can artificially raise BG by 100 or more.
 
Yes I can get the numbers. I do the testing at home except June 17 below. I stand corrected, his lowest number was 219 August 5. Sorry its so long. I appreciate any help/advice. Thank you.
1 time test:
June 3 2014 - 354, 1 unit

Curve June 8 2014 1 unit
8:40am - 350
insulin 8:55 am
10:25am - 348
1:15pm - 362
2:30pm - 363
4:30pm - 434
6:38pm - 414

Curve June 17 2014 2 units (he taken car of by my fiance when I had to go out of town)
8:58am - 543
insulin 9:16am
11:18am - 566
1:15pm - 405
3:30pm - 449
5:18pm - 441
7:30pm - 449

Curve 24 June 2014 (back home) 3 units
7:55am - 407
insulin 8:08am
9:57am - 416
12:10pm - 457
2:05pm - 464
4:08pm - 441
6:16pm - 440

Curve 2 July 2014 - 4 units
7:40am - 431
10:00am - 490
12:05pm - 482
2pm - 462
3:58pm - 451
5:42pm - 492

Curve 22 July 2014 - 5 units
7:43am - 467
insulin 7:45am
10am - 449
11:55am - 408
2pm - 404
3:58pm - 389
5:55pm 472
insulin 6:04pm

Curve 5 August 2014 6 units
7:30am - 219
10am -483
11:45am 465
1:55pm - 473
3:58pm - 421
5:50pm - 434
insulin 5:56pm

Post dental
twice daily checks, 1 unit (for some reason the vet did not ask for a curve on 1 unit)
13 August
8:32am - 530
5:04pm - 305
15 August
8:55am - 439
4:50pm - 310
17 August
8am - 530
4:32 - 370
11pm - 386
18 Aug
8:20am - 363
4:30pm 381
19 August
12:20pm - 421
4:45pm - 407

20 August 2014 twice daily checks on 2 units
7:50am 407
5:05pm - 346
21 August
8:35am - 420
5:05pm - 419
22 August
8:09am - 377
5:05pm 418
23 August
8:20am - 390
6:10pm 401
24 August
7:30am - 480
5:26pm - 472
25 August
7:30am - 462
4:30pm - 354
26 August
7:45am 529
11:45am 464
4:30pm 415
27 August
8:16am - 415
5:15pm - 349
28 August
7:25am - 512
4:37pm - 397
 
When are the twice daily tests in relation to shot time?
The convention we use here is to specify BS and does by:
- AMPS morning before shot BG and then give number of units of insulin
- +Y XX BG where XX is the BG value and Y is the time of the test after the shot.

Is there anything that could explain the low 219?
 
The twice daily measures were done before each insulin shot.
I don't understand the abbreviations, like AMPS. Is Y the number of hours/minutes before/after the shot?
Thanks very much.
 
AM = morning
PM = evening
PS = pre-shot
BS = blood sugar
BG = blood glucose

Sometimes, what you do depends on how long it has been since the insulin and we're in many different time zones, so we refer to numbers based on that.
+ number = if you test 5 hours after a shot, it is +5; if you test 7 hours after a shot, it is a +7, etc.
 
Without knowing what is happening between shots I can't tell how ell 2 units is really doing.
You are ready received info on the abreviations

KeikosHuman said:
The twice daily measures were done before each insulin shot.
I don't understand the abbreviations, like AMPS. Is Y the number of hours/minutes before/after the shot?
Thanks very much.
 
OK. I'm actually doing a new curve today for 2 units. I'll redo this in the format you need as soon as I can. I'm not sure what do you mean by what is happening between shots (feeding?, etc.?)
It may take me until later today or tomorrow afternoon.
I appreciate your help with this. Thank you so much.
 
By between shots I mean the BGs at various times. Also, if you are feeding between shots. It is fine to do that but you just have to be consistent every day.
 
Here are the 2 curves.
Latest curve on 2 units:
30 Aug 2014
AMPS 455 BG
insulin 2 units and
+.25 - food
+2 - 420 BG
+4 - 328 BG
+6 - 381 BG
+8 - 383 BG
+10 - 520 BG ( gave him a small amount of yogurt at +9.5. Maybe this caused the high number (?) I feel like an idiot. He has lost weight and its hard not to give him a small bit of cooked chicken (no flavoring), because he is hungry all the time. This time I gave yogurt. I guess I blew it(?)
+10.33 - 2 units & food

This was the curve on 1 unit:
6 June 2014
AMPS 350 BG
1 unit of insulin
+.25 - food
+2 - 348 BG
+4.5 - 362 BG
+6 - 363 BG
+8 - 434 BG
+10 - 414 BG
1 unit insulin
food (don't have exact time.

Thank you Larry!
and thank you FDMB
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top