Lisa & Nacho
Member Since 2016
Changed Nacho's diet over the last two weeks and he had a follow up vet visit last night at a new vet who I like MUCH better... took a lot of time to speak with me about feline diabetes.
His BG level went from 524 to tested today at 418! Still not low but I was happy that he had an over 100 point drop with being stressed at the vet as well, which I guess causes their levels to rise naturally already.
This vet recommended home treatment of insulin and routine checks at the vet/possibly a curve for 12 hours if needed instead of my previous vet that recommended an almost 600-900 stay for 3-5 days to do a curve.
He talked about a few types of insulin - can anyone give me recommendations/advice on these below:
Novolin N (from walmart - he said most affordable)
Vetsulin (they have this at the vet)
Lantus (he mentioned is good but very expensive)
He mentioned starting on the Novolin-N because I did mention that cost is an issue but I do want to care for my boy.
Where do I find more information about the type to choose?
Does it also depend on what the cat takes to? I guess the vet will start him on a lower dose since I will do it at home after they teach me how.
Any suggestions or areas on this forum I can read more about each? Thank you!!
His BG level went from 524 to tested today at 418! Still not low but I was happy that he had an over 100 point drop with being stressed at the vet as well, which I guess causes their levels to rise naturally already.
This vet recommended home treatment of insulin and routine checks at the vet/possibly a curve for 12 hours if needed instead of my previous vet that recommended an almost 600-900 stay for 3-5 days to do a curve.
He talked about a few types of insulin - can anyone give me recommendations/advice on these below:
Novolin N (from walmart - he said most affordable)
Vetsulin (they have this at the vet)
Lantus (he mentioned is good but very expensive)
He mentioned starting on the Novolin-N because I did mention that cost is an issue but I do want to care for my boy.
Where do I find more information about the type to choose?
Does it also depend on what the cat takes to? I guess the vet will start him on a lower dose since I will do it at home after they teach me how.
Any suggestions or areas on this forum I can read more about each? Thank you!!