? Insulin protocol help!

Kchid

Member Since 2019
So my vet told me test her glucose have her eat and then give her her insulin. The issue I have is she wants to eat when I wake up. I can’t give her her insulin when I wake up because it’s too early. I won’t be home in 12 hours from the time I got up to give her second dose.
My question is can I wake up check her glucose have her eat and then give her her insulin before I leave? Which would be about 3 hours later. I could even do 2 hours. I guess the way I’m looking at it is if I check her glucose and it’s high and she eats it’s not going to be any lower in 2 or 3 hours when I leave. Am I thinking wrong? Is it possible for it to get lower? Or could I just check her glucose again before I give her her insulin? I know that’s two pokes for her little ears but it’s really hard to manage things the way they are now.
 
This is response to your other post. Katrina, I'm too new to advise on dosage. However, I can tell you they make syringes with 0.5 unit marks which make it easier to measure lower doses when that time comes. Others will also tell you about what other times you should be testing.
 
You want to have 2 hours between last feeding and test/feed/shoot. So can you feed a little bit when you wake up and then when you're ready to leave for the day do the test/feed full meal/shoot?
 
You want to have 2 hours between last feeding and test/feed/shoot. So can you feed a little bit when you wake up and then when you're ready to leave for the day do the test/feed full meal/shoot?
The problem is she’s not a big eater so it’s quite possible she won’t eat again.
Would it not work if I test, feed and then shoot an 1 1/2 later?
 
Would it not work if I test, feed and then shoot an 1 1/2 later?
The problem is that you want to test a short time before you shoot so you know you're not shooting against a low or falling glucose. And if you feed early you're not going to get an accurate reading since you're reading off the food intake rather than the natural curve of the insulin. You can wind up in a situation where the glucose is naturally falling because of the dose but feeding is going to bump it up so when you test it looks like it's rising but the food is going to wear off shortly afterwards and you'll see a big drop which could be really unsafe.

I would try to work out a schedule that looks something like this:
PM +9: wake up, feed as little as possible to sate hunger. Wouldn't be a bad time to get a test here either.
PM +11.75: test, feed full meal
PM +12/AMPS: shoot

Edit: Because yes, you can absolutely get a lower number at AMPS than PM +9 if the insulin dosage is making a breakthrough and bringing the glucose down.
 
The problem is that you want to test a short time before you shoot so you know you're not shooting against a low or falling glucose. And if you feed early you're not going to get an accurate reading since you're reading off the food intake rather than the natural curve of the insulin. You can wind up in a situation where the glucose is naturally falling because of the dose but feeding is going to bump it up so when you test it looks like it's rising but the food is going to wear off shortly afterwards and you'll see a big drop which could be really unsafe.

I would try to work out a schedule that looks something like this:
PM +9: wake up, feed as little as possible to sate hunger. Wouldn't be a bad time to get a test here either.
PM +11.75: test, feed full meal
PM +12/AMPS: shoot

Edit: Because yes, you can absolutely get a lower number at AMPS than PM +9 if the insulin dosage is making a breakthrough and bringing the glucose down.
Justin I really appreciate your help but I’m new and I don’t know all the lingo and abbreviations. Can you dumb it down for me. I’m really sorry.
How long does it take for food to have an effect on her glucose reading. I just understand everything and my vet isn’t very helpful. I’m trying to find a new vet.
 
Ffood is going to have an impact pretty quickly, usually within 15-30 minutes and can last for 2-3 hours.

So, you want to have 12 hours between dosages, and you want to test 10-15 minutes before you dose. So, AMPS is your morning (AM) preshot (PS). PMPS is the night preshot, and then the notation is PM +1 (1 hour after evening dose).
So PM+9 would be 9 hours after the evening dose, which if I understand correctly is when you're waking up. PM +11.75 would be 11 hours and 45 minutes after the evening dose and when you would want to test before the morning shot.
 
So what I want to do is this. If it doesn’t work then it doesn’t.
Test at 6:00 am. If high enough for her insulin go ahead and let her eat.
Then at 7:30 test and give insulin
 
Ffood is going to have an impact pretty quickly, usually within 15-30 minutes and can last for 2-3 hours.

So, you want to have 12 hours between dosages, and you want to test 10-15 minutes before you dose. So, AMPS is your morning (AM) preshot (PS). PMPS is the night preshot, and then the notation is PM +1 (1 hour after evening dose).
So PM+9 would be 9 hours after the evening dose, which if I understand correctly is when you're waking up. PM +11.75 would be 11 hours and 45 minutes after the evening dose and when you would want to test before the morning shot.
Thank you for explaining that. I will just stick to what we are doing. My vet told me maybe change to once a day. She has gave me some bad info. That’s why I feel like I can’t ask her anything.
 
I see what your saying now. When I wake up it’s only been about 9 hours since last shoot. Her numbers are all over the place. I think her dose is too high. Sometimes it’s too low to give so I was thinking switch to the schedule I was asking about when she hasn’t had insulin the night before. I guess it’s hard to explain myself in writing. Thank you for patience and help. I’m really not an idiot lol.
 
Don't sweat it, it's a lot of info and can be pretty confusing in the beginning.

Definitely want to do Lantus twice a day, 12 hours apart. Have you taken a look at getting a spreadsheet setup? Should be instructions in the sticky welcome post. That'll help us provide more guidance. Hard to say if the dose is too high without seeing what the numbers are.
 
Yes I’m definitely going to do that. I just have to get access to a computer. I can’t do it at work and don’t think I can do it on my phone. All I have is a fire tablet.
 
Also, Katrina, I should have said welcome to the Lantus support forum! :) I see you have multiple posts today. We try to only create one thread per cat per day so that we can all keep track of the many conversations happening.

When you post, you want to format the title like this:
" 9/3 Zoe AMPS ## - (Questions or other brief notes) "​
If you look at other posts in the Lantus/Lev group you will find some examples. You can put all your questions in that one thread. Don't worry, people will definitely read your posts and respond to your questions. We all want to help.

And don't feel like an idiot, no question is a dumb question around here. We all have to learn very quickly in the beginning and it's a challenge we understand.

As for the feeding schedule, we might be able to help better if you can give us a sense of what your schedule is—when you are out and when you sleep? How early in the evening are you able to give her shot?

I am a newbie myself, but I think an issue with feeding so far before shot time is that kitty is not going to have food on board when the insulin actually gets to work, which tends to be about 2 hours after shot time (we call this onset). If you are feeding, then shooting two hours later, and Zoe is not eating after that first meal, onset will happen around 4 hours after any food and this could cause numbers to drop.

Are you trying to get Zoe to eat 2 set meals per day? My vet told me to feed only 2 meals a day, then I found out here on the board that most people successfully feed small meals throughout the day. This is what works for Figaro—he has never liked to eat a big meal all at once. A lot of us have timed feeders for when we are out of the house (I also use mine while I get some shut-eye!)/
 
Thank you Liz for the heads up on how to post. I see what your saying on why 2 hours later wouldn’t work.
I get up at 5:00am I can push her eating to about 5:30. I don’t test her until after she eats usually because if she gets mad then she won’t eat. So then that puts her at 5:45 getting her insulin. I usually leave the house at 7:30 am.
I don’t get home until 5:00 pm which is fine but sometimes I run late then I’m late giving her insulin.
Sunday’s are a big problem because I go to church in the evening and don’t get home until about 7:15 pm. I leave the house about 4:15 pm. I don’t go to church every Sunday evening but when I do I run into the problem of what to do. ??
Also I was doing 2 meals a day but have been giving her small meals in between.
 
Hi Katrina!

As Liz said: Welcome to the Lantus Basaglar and Levemir forum. I am going to provide the link to your other post as well as a quote of it so you can get some answers to that post as well:

Katrinas Previous Post

Zoe is on her third week of her diagnoses and she was started at two units twice a day. I’ve been home testing and her numbers have been all over the place. Sometimes it’s too low for me to give it. Sometimes I’ve done one unit. I was advised on here that it should really have consistency so I’m thinking about moving her down to one unit twice a day but of course still testing her. My question is it was suggested that I even start lower. I’m injecting her with a syringe I don’t see on the syringe how I could possibly go lower than one unit and be able to accurately measure it.
Maybe I’m misunderstanding. At this point I’m so overwhelmed and feel so lost that I don’t know what I’m doing. I’m so incredibly stressed out I feel like I’m about to lose it. I will openly except any information. I know I need to upload her numbers onto the spreadsheet I just don’t have access to a computer at this time

Without having Zoe's test data it will be hard for members to provide advice, Like Liz, I also use the google sheets app on my phone to keep track of Mowgli's numbers... this might be a better option for you if you don't have regular access to a computer. Do you have your results written down somewhere? Until you can create a spreadsheet, you could take a picture of the written down results and post it with your phone, that will give members an idea of how Zoe's numbers have been :)

In the meantime, there are a few things from around the board which could help you, especially if you're willing to adopt one of the boards dosing protocols. If you wanted to follow one of the protocols you would have to follow Start Low Go Slow ( SLGS) as it sounds like you're feeding dry food. The other dosing method is Tight Regulation (TR) you can find a description of both dosing methods HERE .

I am going to give you some advice based on the SLGS protocol in case you decide you would like to follow it:

Dose changes in SLGS happen once a week: In SLGS you hold the same dose for a full week UNLESS Zoe goes below 90mg/dL on her blood test, at which point she would qualify for an automatic reduction of 0.25u. At the end of the week you do a blood glucose curve, which is a 12 hour test schedule testing every 2 hours. You decide whether or not to change the dose based on the lowest point (aka nadir) in the curve as below:
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
For dose changes we actually change dose by 0.25u at a time: (this applies to both SLGS and TR.). This would mean that if you wanted to try a reduction for Zoe that your next dose would be 1.75u. To change dose by 0.25u you would need to get needles that are 100u with half unit markings as Suzanne had mentioned above. You still have to eyeball between the half unit and full unit to get a quarter unit, but it is much better than trying to eyeball a quarter unit on a needle with full unit markings. For you, this would mean you want the syringe plunger halfway between the 2u and 1.5u line. You can buy the relion brand 100u with half unit markers needles for an affordable price at walmart, if you're in Canada the only option I am aware of is the BD ultra fine 100u needles with half unit markers.

If you don't have needles with half unit markers, and you do think that Zoe definitely needs a decrease, I personally might try 1.5u 2 times a day (BID = 2x/day). It is always better safe than sorry in these instances so I think it would be ok to decrease by a half unit at this time... this would mean you would eyeball the plunger to be halfway between the 1u and 2u line... it's awkward at first but you can do it!

I get up at 5:00am I can push her eating to about 5:30. I don’t test her until after she eats usually because if she gets mad then she won’t eat. So then that puts her at 5:45 getting her insulin. I usually leave the house at 7:30 am.
I don’t get home until 5:00 pm which is fine but sometimes I run late then I’m late giving her insulin.
Sunday’s are a big problem because I go to church in the evening and don’t get home until about 7:15 pm. I leave the house about 4:15 pm. I don’t go to church every Sunday evening but when I do I run into the problem of what to do. ??
Also I was doing 2 meals a day but have been giving her small meals in between.

Your schedule is challenging but not impossible. As Justin mentioned it is very important to stay on a 12 hour shooting schedule with Lantus, that is because if you shoot earlier than 12 hours later than the previous shot then it acts as if the new shot is a dose increase, likewise if you shoot late it acts like the new shot is a decrease in dose. This is where it gets a little complicated: you have a half hour window on either side of your dosing schedule that you can play with without actually changing your dose schedule for example: if you shot at 5am and 5pm you could actually shoot anywhere from 4:30 to 5:30 once per day, if you needed to shoot early or late twice a day you could do it within +/- 15mins so anywhere from 4:45 to 5:15 twice a day. I think with some fancy footwork you could come up with a schedule that would work. If I were in your situation I might do something like this:

Sunday: 7:00am - 7:30pm
Monday: 7:00am - 7:00pm
Tuesday: 7:00am - 7:00pm
Wednesday: 7:00am - 7:00pm
Thursday: 7:00am - 7:00pm
Friday: 7:00am - 7:00pm
Saturday: 7:00am - 7:00pm

With this schedule you could give Zoe a little snack at 5am (maybe 1-2tbsp) since it is 2 hours before test-feed-shoot time, and just make sure that she finishes it by 5;15 or so, take the bowl away until 7am, then test at 7am ... if the BG is a safe level feed and then shoot. For Lantus you don't have to worry as much about when they eat, it is a long acting insulin and in most cats it doesn't take effect until 2 hours after the shot (known as +2), the most important thing (more important than immediate eating) is that Zoe's BG level is high enough to shoot. You can see the SLGS sticky I linked above for more guidance on that.

I have to stress it is important for you to take a BG before you shoot and that you don't want food to be in their system before you get their BG as the food can mask what their baseline BG levels are at and risk a hypo event. Please make sure you read the sticky about how to prevent and treat HYPOs HERE

I know you are overwhelmed right now and there is so much information but trust me you will eventually learn... we have ALL been in the same shoes as you are right now so never, never feel afraid to ask questions! There is a ton of awesome people here who will help and support you as you learn this sugar dance!
 
Last edited:
I replied to the first post from today about the title and a few other things. I can understand her frustration with no responses, hence the second post.

No one had responded to her for over half the day... :(

This is from the first post today:
  1. Katrina has another post that we are commenting on HERE Please provide insight and Guidance on that post :)

    @@Jill & Alex (GA) is there a more formal way to link posts?

    Mowgli's Spreadsheet
    Today at 1:13 PMReport
    #2LikeReply


  2. Sue and Luci
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    Awww...Katrina! I'm sorry to hear you're overwhelmed!

    There are lots of people and help here that we're going to share with you.

    First thing, I'd like for you to change your title to something like this:

    9/3 Kchid AMPS (whatever that number was before her first shot this morning). After that write: Newbie - needs help getting started.

    You can edit your title by selecting that from the pulldown menu on the right hand side - just under the title. That'll get some eyes on your condo today.

    You'll want to add your SpreadSheet so that we can see what Kchids numbers are looking like - if you need help for that, please ask - there are experts on here who can help you get it set up and working so we can all click on the link from your signature - you'll have to add the url for it there..

    Royal Canin? Is that a wet food? It's possible - since most RC is high in carbs that isn't the best choice for Kchid - we prefer Fancy Feast pate's and some other wet foods - the pate's are low in carbs.

    Have you had a chance to read any of the stickies at the top of this forum - next to the yellow tabs? The one about "The Basics - http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/the-basics-new-to-the-group-start-here.18139/ is a great place to start.

    Lots of information in those stickies! Please continue to post and ask questions in this thread - just one thread aka condo allowed per day.

    Let's get you some answers!

    Luci's SS Luci 11 y/o Female TR Dx 11/3/17. OneDrop, Advocate Pet meters. Lantus 1/6/18-7/11/19,Levemir 7/12/19. Ketones on UA at vet 1/19 FF wet.BG < 50 x 3 (3 days) or 40 x 1 = decrease by .25.
    https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...m6PPfEUz9YmzMGMxkmcBk6uRR0/edit#gid=113878384
    Today at 1:14 PMEditDeleteReport
    #3Reply
    AmandaE likes this.

  3. Sue and Luci
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017

    I don’t see on the syringe how I could possibly go lower than one unit and be able to accurately measure it.
    What kind of syringes do you have? You need to have U-100 syringes with half unit marks. I get mine from Walmart - Relion 31 gauge, 15/64" - there's more info on syringes here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...info-proper-handling-drawing-fine-dosing.151/
 
What time do you leave the house and what time are you back home again?

In general, you don't want to feed Zoe within 2 hours prior to her shot. If you do, the pre-shot number is likely to be influenced by whatever you fed your cat.

Like you, I worked full time while managing Gabby's diabetes. I was lucky in that I did not have a long commute and I had some degree of control over my schedule. I ended up shooting at 5:00. As much as I'm not a morning person, this also gave me 2.5 hrs to keep an eye on Gabby's numbers. She was prone to making rather dramatic dives into low numbers early in the cycle. I was able to get a few tests in before I left for work and if I needed to leave food out or especially if I needed to leave high carb food out, this scheduled allowed me to do so and also to give my PM shot at a time that allowed me to get some sleep.
 
Hello and welcome. I have a different idea of what might work. First, why is Zoe so hungry first thing in the morning? Are you feeding her just before you go to bed? If not, maybe it’s just too long between meals so she is starving by morning. You can get automated pet feeders that will give her a snack or meal in the middle of the night. I used the Petsafe 5 model, you can program it to feed when you want, then turn to an empty container two hours before shot time. And that same feeder can help keep her safe with food if you are working during the day.
 
Hmmm maybe considering what Wendy and Sienne said, a schedule that could work better might be something like this:

Sunday: 4:45am - 4:15pm
Monday: 4:45am - 5:15pm
Tuesday: 5:30am - 5:30pm
Wednesday: 5:30am - 5:30pm
Thursday: 5:30am - 5:30pm
Friday: 5:30am - 5:30pm
Saturday: 5:00am - 4:45pm

With this schedule you would have a half an hour of room most evenings to be later with the shot. Of course, only you will know what schedule will work for you, I'm just trying to give you an idea of what might work for your busy schedule. As you get used to the 12 hour schedule You will figure out how to best fit it to your life.

I think Wendy is right, a timed feeder would really help if you find Zoe is ravenous in the mornings.
 
Back
Top