StefO
Member Since 2017
Tonight we were supposed to have a friend come over and administer Garth's insulin shot. I checked his BG about 2 hours before his normal shot time (because we would be out and nobody else can check the BG) and he was at 49. I told our friend he didn't need to come by but the text didnt go through and he came by anyway. He couldn't get ahold of us and gave Garth 10U because he thought that's what it normally was. Garth typically gets 3U, so of course, we were all panicked. My husband and I were at his company's Christmas dinner, so our friend stayed with Garth until I could get home about 2.5 hours after the shot was administered. They called the emergency vet and the vet had nothing better to say other than to keep an eye on him. Our friend gave him 3 cans of Fancy Feast with Gravy, which is our high carb back up.
It's been 3 hours since the shot and I just checked his BG, he is at 49 still. He just jumped on the couch, cleaned himself, and is sleeping, which is so weird because I feel like I haven't seen him sleep in months. He is constantly meowing and begging for food. (But he is usually banned to the kitchen.)
I'm gonna keep an eye on him. I'm not sure really what to look for in terms of a hypoglycemic episode but I'm basically just making sure he is breathing and plan to feed him again soon! I'm feeling especially calm and my guy is so strong. But this whole diabetes thing has been trial and error thus far!!
It's been 3 hours since the shot and I just checked his BG, he is at 49 still. He just jumped on the couch, cleaned himself, and is sleeping, which is so weird because I feel like I haven't seen him sleep in months. He is constantly meowing and begging for food. (But he is usually banned to the kitchen.)
I'm gonna keep an eye on him. I'm not sure really what to look for in terms of a hypoglycemic episode but I'm basically just making sure he is breathing and plan to feed him again soon! I'm feeling especially calm and my guy is so strong. But this whole diabetes thing has been trial and error thus far!!
