Linda and Tasha
Member Since 2010
My 11 1/2 year old, always thin cat was just diagnosed with diabetes.(she is around 7lbs- highest weight maybe 7 1/2 lbs.) Let me preface what I say by telling you I have brought up a diabetic child so I know a lot about the disease in people not cats of course.
She was started on Lantus 1/2 unit once a day to begin. I was told to wait a week to test her bg but I did a few tests 4-5 days in here and there and her numbers ranged from the 300s in the morning to the upper 100s in the afternoon (6 hours after shot) back to the upper 200s -low 300s at night. My first guess was she probably needed another shot and the Lantus was lasting around 12 hours and peeking at 6. I had been giving her shots in her hind legs. I switched to the scruff of the neck 2 days ago and after a bg of around 251 the morning at shot time, her bg went to 107 two hours later. I was a bit concerned because it seemed too fast and I had never tested her before at 2 hours after her shot. I could not test again because I had to leave (I left extra fry DM food) and tested her at 12 AM in the morning and got 315. The next day I again gave her her shot in the scruff of her neck. Two hours later she was 118. I checked her two hours after that and she was 57 and I treated her with Karo syrup waited to her bg went up to 120 fifteen mins. later and gave her some food to help prevent a rebound effect. The rest of the day she was in the mid 300s which is not surprising after having a low.
I am wondering if one, the placement of the shot in the scruff made it quicker acting and I should just give her 1/2 a unit in her leg (I have never tested at 2 hours after the shot when doing this so I don't know if it would make a difference), two if this is the wrong type of insulin for her, three if I should skip today's shot and just giver her DM food and test her, or actually attempt to give her 1/4 of a unit of insulin. I tried calling my vet yesterday but she was off and the vet I spoke to said 1/2 unit of insulin would have no effect on a cat and I should just stop giving her insulin and something else was wrong with her. (I didn't buy that in the least. My daughter was diagnosed at 3 and was on 1/2 unit a day and she sure weiged more then 7 lbs!) I am also wondering if the Honeymoon affect was going on and she was making some of her own insulin along with what I gave her. (The vet did not know what honeymooning with diabetes was.) Can anyone who might have a similar situation offer up some advise as to how to proceed today. Thank you in advance for reading this and offering your advice.
* Edit: trying .25 this morning. http://spreadsheets.google.com/pub?key= ... utput=html
~~Edited by moderator to remove 911.
She was started on Lantus 1/2 unit once a day to begin. I was told to wait a week to test her bg but I did a few tests 4-5 days in here and there and her numbers ranged from the 300s in the morning to the upper 100s in the afternoon (6 hours after shot) back to the upper 200s -low 300s at night. My first guess was she probably needed another shot and the Lantus was lasting around 12 hours and peeking at 6. I had been giving her shots in her hind legs. I switched to the scruff of the neck 2 days ago and after a bg of around 251 the morning at shot time, her bg went to 107 two hours later. I was a bit concerned because it seemed too fast and I had never tested her before at 2 hours after her shot. I could not test again because I had to leave (I left extra fry DM food) and tested her at 12 AM in the morning and got 315. The next day I again gave her her shot in the scruff of her neck. Two hours later she was 118. I checked her two hours after that and she was 57 and I treated her with Karo syrup waited to her bg went up to 120 fifteen mins. later and gave her some food to help prevent a rebound effect. The rest of the day she was in the mid 300s which is not surprising after having a low.
I am wondering if one, the placement of the shot in the scruff made it quicker acting and I should just give her 1/2 a unit in her leg (I have never tested at 2 hours after the shot when doing this so I don't know if it would make a difference), two if this is the wrong type of insulin for her, three if I should skip today's shot and just giver her DM food and test her, or actually attempt to give her 1/4 of a unit of insulin. I tried calling my vet yesterday but she was off and the vet I spoke to said 1/2 unit of insulin would have no effect on a cat and I should just stop giving her insulin and something else was wrong with her. (I didn't buy that in the least. My daughter was diagnosed at 3 and was on 1/2 unit a day and she sure weiged more then 7 lbs!) I am also wondering if the Honeymoon affect was going on and she was making some of her own insulin along with what I gave her. (The vet did not know what honeymooning with diabetes was.) Can anyone who might have a similar situation offer up some advise as to how to proceed today. Thank you in advance for reading this and offering your advice.
* Edit: trying .25 this morning. http://spreadsheets.google.com/pub?key= ... utput=html
~~Edited by moderator to remove 911.