Insulin increase?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Steph&BigKitty

Member Since 2017
Just did my 3rd in home test. 485. It's 2 hour before shot time. I was thinking of increasing just by half of a unit. He's so high, poor thing. We don't see the vet until Monday. What do you guys think?
 
Yes I have to get out my laptop and figure out how to do the spreadsheet.
First BG 423 6 hours after meal and shot.
Second BG 429 1 hour after meal and shot.
Third (today) BG 485 10 hours since meal and shot.
I'm starting to second guess the Vetsulin, that maybe he should be on Lantus. I feel like he is suffering and I'm making all the wrong decisions.
 
Yes I have to get out my laptop and figure out how to do the spreadsheet.
First BG 423 6 hours after meal and shot.
Second BG 429 1 hour after meal and shot.
Third (today) BG 485 10 hours since meal and shot.
I'm starting to second guess the Vetsulin, that maybe he should be on Lantus. I feel like he is suffering and I'm making all the wrong decisions.
You've only been doing this for 9 days so it's a bit too early to know whether the Vetsulin can help your guy. Your best bet is to set up the spreadsheet and start the testing routine we promote here.
 
Yes I have to get out my laptop and figure out how to do the spreadsheet.
First BG 423 6 hours after meal and shot.
Second BG 429 1 hour after meal and shot.
Third (today) BG 485 10 hours since meal and shot.
I'm starting to second guess the Vetsulin, that maybe he should be on Lantus. I feel like he is suffering and I'm making all the wrong decisions.
It takes a lot longer her than a week and a half to regulate a cat no matter what insulin. You need to find the correct dose. It took me two months to find the correct dose. (3 was my "breakthrough dose"). I'm glad you are able to get extra readings this weekend. Get that spreadsheet running when you can.
 
What do you guys think of an increase? I know I haven't done a curve yet. I was trying to let his ears heal due to my inexperience I was having a hard time getting blood. But they are healed pretty good. He's still so high pre-shot. Is his body OK running high all the time? I was thinking of increasing this Sunday when I will be home for a few days. I was going to go up to 2u. Then maybe Monday get a curve done. Or should I do that vice versa?
 
I always do a curve the same day I adjust Smokys dose. Having used vetsulin for a few months for my boy I would suggest giving 1.75 unit dose and then checking BG every 2 hours for 12 hours. I would not increase by half a unit with vetsulin.
Generally, it is safer to increase by .25 units at a time. Yes, the high numbers are not good to have but at the same time too low numbers can cause a hypo which could be fatal. I'm not trying to put you into panic mode. Look at smokys SS, he was stuck in high numbers for a while on vetsulin but started leveling out after about 6 weeks.
 
The other thing you could try since you haven't done a curve yet is to do one at his current dose. You can then see just how low the vetsulin is taking him. Smoky has had high preshot numbers on vetsulin and then dropped 300 points in a few hours. It's very important to be able to test him the same day you change his dose. Otherwise, he cld drop very low and you wouldn't know unless doing a curve.
It's why we say to do a test midway thru a cycle.
 
Last edited:
The other thing you could try since you haven't done a curve yet is to do one at his current dose. You can then see just how low the vetsulin is taking him. Smoky has had high preshot numbers on vetsulin and then dropped 300 points in a few hours. It's very important to be able to test him the same day you change his dose. Otherwise, he cld drop very low and you wouldn't know unless doing a curve.
It's why we say to do a test midway thru a cycle.
I agree with Lisa's advice about doing a curve at your current dose. You don't have enough data to know how it's working so increasing the dose might not be the way to go.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top